Search for "Paris" or "Colosseum"
Book online or call: (888) 651-9785

Tour to Cuenca and the Enchanted City from Madrid

Badge of ExcellenceMadrid, Spain

From $71.95

Lowest Price Guarantee

Select Date and Travelers

Reserve Now & Pay Later
Secure your spot while staying flexible
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 11 hours (approx.)
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: Spanish
  • Good for avoiding crowds


Experience the medieval city that looms high over two river gorges on this full-day, guided tour to UNESCO World Heritage Site, Cuenca. Walk among the narrow, stacked houses that seem to hang on the cliff’s edge in this city surrounded by stunning nature. Enjoy stops at a countryside winery and the Enchanted City where strange geological formations stand in the natural landscape.
  • See the stone formations at the Enchanted City
  • Visit the Ventano del Diablo and Hoz del Huécar
  • Visit a winery in the Cuena region
  • Free time to explore and eat a local lunch

What's Included

  • All taxes, fees and handling charges
  • National Park fees
  • Driver/guide
  • Professional guide
  • Air-conditioned vehicle
  • Gratuities
  • Lunch

Departure & Return

Departure Point

  • Hotel Claridge
    Pl. del Conde de Casal, 6, 28007 Madrid, Spain

    The guide will be waiting in front of the door of the Claridge Hotel

Departure Time

8:30 AM

Return Details

This activity will end right where it started.

What To Expect

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Infant seats available
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Infant meals not included
  • Operates in all weather conditions, please dress appropriately
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 50 travelers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

about cancellations.

Frequently Asked Questions

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.

Q:What is the policy on sanitization during Tour to Cuenca and the Enchanted City from Madrid?

A:The policies on sanitization are:
  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized

Q:What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Tour to Cuenca and the Enchanted City from Madrid?

A:The policies on staff health & safety are:
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff

Traveler Photos

See more

Traveler Tips

I would suggest doing included lunch as nothing much is open at the break due to siesta.
Big day out, but well worth it, with a visit to the Enchanted City with amazing rock formations and a tour through the ancient city of Cuenca a UNESCO world heritage site.
55 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 55 reviews
Pros: the tour was...
vicgerra, May 2022
Pros: the tour was really good. The morning hike in the forrest was at a good walking pace. Adequate time was allotted for lunch and the tour to the Enchanted city was beautiful. Cons: the bus literally did NOT have any Airconditining. We kept complaining that it was so hot especially after a day of walking. This was a deal breaker for us and the reason why we only gave 3 stars. You need to consider this is you have any medical problems.
Response from Host, Jun 2022
Hello, first of all apologize and thank you for coming to the tour and being so nice to us. It was a hot day and certainly the air conditioning was not cool enough in the back of the bus. But this is not something that happens normally, you could see that the bus was very new and so are all the ones we use and that we care about our customers. This will not happen again. Thank you very much again
Great time!
Ralph_S, Apr 2022
Beautiful place! Guides were very knowledgeable and pleasant. Would recommend tour to other travelers.
Great tour, great place. Recommended
Julio_C, Mar 2022
Enchanted City is a must when traveling to Spain. You can see and feel the forces of nature there. It's worth the time to get there. Cuenca is beautiful and cozy. There are great restaurants where you can eat for a very reasonable price. Our tour guides were great. Always ready to answer our questions and make us pass a formidable time.
Great way to explore Cuenca!
Lauri, Nov 2021
Víctor is an enciclopedia of knowledge and a great tour guide! We really enjoyed this tour and highly recommend it.
Thorough Tour of a Beautiful Region
Emily_D, Oct 2021
This tour was >wonderful
Response from Host, Oct 2021
Hi Emily, it's great to hear that from one of our clients !! Every day we learn what our clients like the most. Luckily we are natives of Cuenca and that is why we know everything that Cuenca has to show you. We appreciate your sympathy and your good review. Thank you very much for coming to Cuenca with our agency.
Beautiful places but not...
yefim_s, Sep 2021
Beautiful places but not happy with the tour guide Victor bc he mostly spoke Spanish and very little English (we did ask for English tour. On top of that the bus got a problem and we had to wait for a new bus to get back. Bad experience? B. USA
Response from Host, Sep 2021
Hello there, We are glad that you liked what you saw on the tour. We may apologize, however we disagree with your comments. The tour is bilingual, and Victor gives the same explanations in English as in Spanish. We can guarantee future clients that explanations in English will be correct, as well as in Spanish. Sorry to tell the truth, but you were not attentive at any time during the tour, and you constantly distanced yourself from the group while talking, so we cannot understand your comment. We respect all the criticisms but you have to be faithful to reality. Although it is true that we changed buses, the change was made during the guided walking tour and the new bus was waiting for you when the tour ended. In addition, the new bus had the courtesy of picking you up and taking you to the Convent of San Pablo so that you did not have to walk up the hill. We take this opportunity to thank our driver for his courtesy. Thank you very much for coming.
Cuenca and Enchanted Forest
Alison_P, Apr 2020
Guide was very good. Scenery was amazing, and lunch was delightful. I would definitely recommend. The Enchanted Forest is unbelievable.
Off the beaten path
Ed_C, Mar 2020
Marta was a wonderful guide. It took about 2 hours maybe a little more to arrive at the enchanted city, but thoroughly enjoyed the hike through the park. It was very cool. We opted for the included lunch, and let’s say it was very regional. The local appetizers were not for me, but the main plate of lamb was very good. The tour of Cuenca was very good and the Cathedral was beautiful, wish we had more time to explore. It was a full 12 hour day and great to see another area of Spain.
1 traveler found this review helpful
The enchanted city
Naty, Mar 2020
Even with the rai, it was a wonderful experience. I recommend it to nature lovers. Th touristic lunch exceeded my expectations. Martha was really helpful knowledgeable.
1 traveler found this review helpful
Excellent !
Evans_C, Mar 2020
The guides are very well versed. We feel at home as and comfortable. Excellent presentation. Will highly recommend.
Very informative and thorough knowledge of the subject
Evans_C, Feb 2020
Tour guides were very knowledgeable of the subject, very friendly and very thorough. We felt very comfortable. Will highly recommend this tour.
Response from Host, Mar 2020
Thank you very much! We hope to have you back soon.
Evening view of Cuenca
t33napond, Feb 2020
We really enjoyed our day trip to Cuenca. The Enchanted City is fascinating and we were so lucky to see deer, lizard and a snake sunning itself as well as the super cool rock formations. Cuenca old town is a sight to behold. Built on the side of a cliff the views here are spectacular. Our guide Jorge was knowledgeable, friendly and had excellent English. I would suggest doing included lunch as nothing much is open at the break due to siesta. We found a bakery but you are dropped in the newer part of town for lunch and there’s nothing to do. It’s a long day but well worth it!
Response from Host, Feb 2020
Thank you very much for your review. It's a pleasure for us that you have enjoyed the trip. We hope you come back soon!
Nature and beauty
moirita, Feb 2020
Marta our guide was very good! It was a full day tour but very relaxing and I truly enjoyed it. The nature sites where incredible and Cuenca very quaint.
Response from Host, Feb 2020
Thank you very much. We work hard so that everything works well, but its to easy becouse Cuenca Nature&City tour is amazing. Thanks a lot¡
Cuenca and Enchanted City from Madrid
frank421132, Nov 2019
Wonderful tour. Cuenca is beautiful and the hanging houses are incredible. The Enchanted City’s Rick formations are a must see
A Natural Wonder
marie v, Oct 2019
Fantastic day trip from Madrid taking in the amazing stone formations and old city of cuenca.Great lunch also. Recommend
Response from Host, Feb 2020
We are very happy that you had a good day. Thank you, we work for it.
Great Experience
Jonathan C, Sep 2019
Very interesting Day Tour. Excellent Tour Leaders. Cuenca is a very interesting place to visit. It will combine nature, history and tradition of a small Spanish City.
Response from Host, Nov 2019
I can't explain better ..... ;-) Thank you
hidden gem!
DianaJayne_D, Aug 2019
It's a shame that this place is "forgotten". The trip is worth it. The Enchanted city rock formations may be a little boring for other people or kids but the tour to the old city is truly enchanting. I just wish we had more time inside the city.
Response from Host, Nov 2019
Hi, Diana, Our city is little known but it is really beautiful and full of history. Perhaps I would have been more satisfied if I had taken our excursion: "Day trip to Cuenca and Cathedral from Madrid", on this excursion the Enchanted City is not visited, and remains in the city of Cuenca all day. Thank you for appreciating our city and our tour. Best regards
Cuencando in Cuenca
Joca58, Jul 2019
Cuenca has been on my wish list since I was 8 or 9 years old. I`m very glad I got to experience it decades later. The enchanted city certainly lived up to its "name". We walked and were witness to the many beautiful stones and other artistic items. Walking through it all was quite an experience; our guides (Christian, David and Jorge) were quite good and knowledgeable . The only negative point was the several delays along the way.
Response from Host, Nov 2019
Thank you very much on behalf of our guides. They strive to welcome our visitors. Thanks for coming
Highly Recommended
Tomeroocoo, May 2019
We had a lot of fun on this trip the forest and the city are nothing like I have ever seen before. It was well worth the travel time from Madrid. We were in a small group and our guide Martha was great.
Response from Host, Jun 2019
Thank you very much for valuing our guides, no doubt they are great. Better or worse than others, but Cuenca is an authentic and different city. Cuenca is unique! We are glad you enjoyed the tour
Amazing ancient city of Cuenca, and enchanted city
Nicola L, Apr 2019
Incredible day trip. Big day out, but well worth it, with a visit to the Enchanted City with amazing rock formations and a tour through the ancient city of Cuenca a UNESCO world heritage site. Breathtaking views with deep gorges and views of the magnificent hanging houses and amazing architecture of this colourful city. Tour guide Martha was very informative, patient and fun. 10 out of 10.
Response from Host, Jun 2019
Hello Nicola, We are really excited for your review. It is a prize for us. We are very happy that you enjoyed your day with basking. Thank you very much for coming. We wait for you again. Hugs


Product code: 75724P1