Search for "Paris" or "Colosseum"
Book online or call: (888) 651-9785

Madrid City Tour Hop-On Hop-Off

Madrid, Spain

From $26.57

Select Date and Travelers

Reserve Now & Pay Later
Secure your spot while staying flexible
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 1 hour to 1 hour 20 minutes (approx.)
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


A hop-on hop-off Madrid sightseeing tour by open-top double-decker bus is the perfect introduction to this incredible city. Select a 1- or 2-day ticket that lets you board and disembark at any of the stops along two interconnecting routes, so you can explore city sights at your own pace. Hear onboard audio commentary and check out Madrid’s many plazas, museums, and theaters with the provided map and guidebook.
  • Create your own itinerary and travel around the city on an open-top, double-decker bus
  • Follow two different routes and hop on and off at any of the stops
  • Choose a 1-day or 2-day ticket and listen to the informative audio commentary on board
  • Receive valuable discount vouchers and a tour stops guidebook

Why Travelers Choose This Tour

Sightsee on your own schedule with this Madrid hop-on-hop-off tour, which includes a map and guidebook, too.

What's Included

  • 1- or 2-day hop-on hop-off bus tour (depending on option selected)
  • Tour map/guidebook
  • Air-conditioned double-decker open top motor-coaches.
  • Multilingual digital audio system
  • Gratuities
  • Food and drinks

Departure & Return

Departure Point

  • You may start this tour at any of the stops listed.

Departure Time

  • See itinerary

Return Details

  • You may disembark at any of the available stops.

What To Expect

Take a seat on an open-top double-decker bus for a 1- or 2-consecutive days sightseeing tour of Madrid that lets you create your own itinerary. This hop-on hop-off Madrid bus tour offers multiple stops along two routes that interconnect around the city — your ticket is valid on both. 

Remain on the bus for each loop while you listen to onboard commentary via an audio headset, or hop on and off at any stop to explore city sights on your own (admission fees are not included).

Follow Route 1 (Blue Route) to view the Belle Epoque buildings of historical Madrid. Disembark to explore the Royal Palace, Almudena Cathedral, and the Prado Museum, or admire the Gran Vía, Madrid’s main thoroughfare.

Switch to Route 2 (Green Route) to focus on 19th- and 20th-century Madrid. Travel past skyscrapers and the legendary Bernabéu stadium—home to Real Madrid FC—along the Paseo de la Castellana. Perhaps stroll through the elegant bourgeois enclave of Salamanca, or visit the city’s many museums with a focus on archaeology, sculpture, natural science and more.

View the Itinerary for a list of hop-on hop-off stops:
Route nº 2 (Green color)

15 Stops

1 Point of Interest

Duration: 1 hour

Operating Schedule: Bus frequency: every 30-40 minutes High season (March-October): 9am-10pm Low season (November-February): 10am-6pm

Neptune Fountain

Cibeles - Casa De América

Plaza de Colón

Museo Arte Público

Museo Ciencias Naturales

Nuevos Ministerios

Santiago Bernabéu

Consejo Superior de Investigaciones Científicas sede central

Lázaro Galdiano Museum


Museo Arqueológico

Puerta De Alcalá

Puerta del Sol

Plaza de las Cortes

Neptune Fountain

Points of interest passed by on this route

Fuente de Neptuno

Route nº 1 (Blue color)

14 Stops

1 Point of Interest

Duration: 1 hour 20 minutes

Operating Schedule: Bus frequency: every 30-40 minutes High season (March-October): 9am-10pm Low season (November-February): 10am-6pm

Museo Del Prado - Jardín Botánico

Puerta De Alcalá


Plaza de Colón

Cibeles - Casa De América

Calle Gran Vía

Plaza de España

Templo De Debod

Teatro Real

Palacio Real

Puerta de Toledo

Museo Nacional Centro de Arte Reina Sofía

Real Jardín Botánico

Museo Nacional del Prado

Points of interest passed by on this route

Plaza Mayor

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Buses are adapted for passengers with reduced mobility. The features include an automatic access ramp, reserved space for wheelchairs with safety clamps and fastenings, and an extended ramp and kneeling system to the right of the bus
  • Hop-on hop-off tickets are not available for infants aged from 0 to 6 years old, as passes are free of charge
  • Please note: the regular Madrid City Tour service may be affected due to ongoing events in the city, adverse traffic conditions or force majeure reasons out of our control.
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Transportation is wheelchair accessible
  • Most travelers can participate

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

about cancellations

Frequently Asked Questions

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.

Q:What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Madrid City Tour Hop-On Hop-Off?

A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:
  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas

Q:What is the policy on sanitization during Madrid City Tour Hop-On Hop-Off?

A:The policies on sanitization are:
  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized

Q:What is the social distancing policy during Madrid City Tour Hop-On Hop-Off?

A:The policies on social distancing are:
  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
  • Contactless payments for gratuities and add-ons

Q:What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Madrid City Tour Hop-On Hop-Off?

A:The policies on staff health & safety are:
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms

Traveler Photos

See more

Traveler Tips

Do not expect to get a lot of information out of this tour but it is a fine way to get around and see the city quickly.
It is overcrowded and need to take turns for buses.
It is overcrowded and need to take turns for buses.
This is a very popular attraction and there are lengthy queues at most stops meaning you might need to wait for 2 or 3 buses to go by before there is room.
2,098 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers
Showing 1-10 of 2,098 reviews
Good way to see the city
peterclinton_b, Jun 2022
We had a hard time finding the exact location of the bus stop but once we found it (after asking around) we enjoyed the route. The bus was sometimes painfully slow between sites when there was no traffic. Overall though it was a great way to see a bunch of the sites of Madrid on a 24 hour layover.
We have tickets with...
Erick_G, Jun 2022
We have tickets with anticipation online. When we start the tour the scan our phone with the QR and seems that everything was ok. The next stop we were ask about our print ticket which we didn’t have so the girls us that if we lost it we say no we never have a print ticket . According to her she was sure that the first operator supposed gave us a print ticket which it wasn’t true but she insist that we should had to have one and because we haven’t we need to step out . Next day we print the tickets with the QR that we received on line and we try again . The same girl operator was in this bus and we show our print ticket proudly but she said that was not the ticket from the bus machine that the operator must print and give us and insisted that we lost it 😡 at this point we were very upset and stop in del Prado museum booth to clarify the situation but again they assume that we lost it. So we lost $58 Euros. Recomedation make that the operator give you the ticket and keep it safe.
It was difficult to...
Megan_V, Jun 2022
It was difficult to locate the stops to hop on. Online resources were neither user friendly nor accurate. Stops are not clearly marked and changed from one ride to the next.
Need better headphones
Debby_F, Jun 2022
Headphones didn’t work have the time. Poor communication . Hated wearing a mask in open air in extreme heat
See Madrid at a glance
SAM_L, Jun 2022
The places the tour covered is adequate. However the air conditioning in the buses can be better, especially during the hot summer months in Madrid.
The city was to congested...
Sharon_S, Jun 2022
The city was to congested with nothing to really see other than traffic. Very little explanation of what you're seeing. Stop locating is difficult and long lines to get on bus. We had to wait for the 4th bus to pass before one came that had room for us. The only stop we were able to visit was the Palace which was a 20 min walk from the stop. It was a wasted day.
Great way to orient yourself in a new city.
JohnMichael_G, Jun 2022
Great way to become familiar with the city…we do this often when we travel. Experienced some issues with consistent frequency of buses (sometimes 3 buses in 20 minutes and others more like 30 minutes) and the map not matching the daily route but nothing too severe to figure out. Staff was friendly, the audio was informative and everything was clean.
I was a 9:30 pm two bus stop bedore the end, and the bus never came. Please do something.
Be aware of the longs lines at the bus stop. In some bus stop you have to wait a least for 3 o 4 buses.
Very busy And lucky to get a seat
Jacqueline_M, Jun 2022
Buses drove past us as they were full. Had to wait for ages to get on a bus we finally gave up and walked to most attractions
Donna_D, Jun 2022
Started our tour on Tuesday afternoon. Buses were crowded, not well organized and operating staff not friendly. Sights not well synchronized with audio.
Big time Sucks!
ANTHONY_C, May 2022
We sat at their bus stop for over one hour, trying to get on the green line. Bus never came and we walked it back to our hotel. Do not purchase this, no reliability
It was imposible yo taje...
Liliana_S, May 2022
It was imposible yo taje a bus. All the buses were full. I asked for a refund because I didn’t use it. The denaid the refund in spite of was written Thais I can cancell the tickets.
1 traveler found this review helpful
Terrible signs for bus stops
Ellen_Z, May 2022
The sent cuts where great. The pick up points were not documented well. I spent an hour trying to find where I could first go on the bus.
1 traveler found this review helpful
Not great
Stephanie_B, May 2022
Not nearly as good as in other cities. Bus moves (and stops unexpectedly) while people are still standing in a line to pay - quite a risky thing to do. Bus often skips stops unless someone is standing waiting to get onboard and in some instances goes on totally different roads and skips stops. Audio didn't work for big stretches and when it did was unclear. If you are merely looking for a way to drive from stop 1 all the way around and back to stop 1 then it is fine. If you want something else, buyer beware.
1 traveler found this review helpful
Good way to see the city & identify sites to visit.
MaryM_H, May 2022
Liked the ease of hopping on & off at sites we wanted to visit. The Prado Art Museum was great! It was nice riding on the top of the bus with nice spring temps. Madrid is a beautiful, very clean city.
Try yellow bus instead??
Kathy_U, May 2022
I am sorry to give such a low review. We rode the bus on a Tuesday anticipating less wait times...not! The whole experience left a lot to be desired. The biggest issue was no map or hints on where to pick up the bus. Other cities offer an app to track wait times as well as share nearby recommendations for food and attractions. There is no app for this service. The signage at bus stops are not clear...other cities clearly mark the stop number. Then, when we found the station there were so many people waiting to ride (not enough drivers) and the traffic was terrible. The majority of shared information was elevator music. This experience was so disappointing on so many levels. It actually left a less than positive feeling about Madrid as we wanted to learn and celebrate madrid history and iconic landmarks. Instead, we feel frustrated. Viator, this is so not what we have come to expect from you.
Response from Host, May 2022
Dear Kathy_U, I regret to learn you were not satisfied with Madrid City Tour service, Please note the list of the stops is shown on the activity description, on the section What To Expect. Bear in mind that the audio guides provide short descriptions for the sites viewed from the bus to give the customers a general idea of the city. The music that goes with these explanations strives to make the ride more enjoyable. Even though Madrid City Tour strive for all the clients to fully enjoy the service, there are times when the increase in the demand is difficult to foresee and this may cause affectations on the bus’s frequency and occupancy. Best regards,
Great City
Francisco_A, May 2022
Little confusion about which bus did we need to take first. Overall great experience . Madrid is a great place to visit and enjoy !
1 traveler found this review helpful
Average, though not the best way to see this city
Nikki_R, May 2022
Fairly standard for a hop on, hop off bus tour but I wouldn’t recommend it for Madrid. Consider other ways of getting around and seeing the city - Segway (which we did and was awesome), walking and cabs are very affordable.
Response from Host, May 2022
Dear Nikki_R I am glad you did enjoy your stay in Madrid, even though you were not satisfied with Madrid City Tour service, Best regards,
Great for Newcomers to Madrid
Lulu, May 2022
Great overview of the city. Did have to change seats a couple times because the sound port didn't work but otherwise, great and very much recommended for newer visitors to Madrid.
Terrible service
Shweta_H, May 2022
We lost our paper tickets, no idea why they are needed when we have QR codes We got in to the bus and they didn’t help us and we had to give up on day 1 I want us to get our money back
Response from Host, May 2022
Dear Shweta_H, I sincerely regret you were not able to enjoy our Madrid City Tour for as long as you wish to. The staff on board indicates to all customers that they should keep the tickets printed on board with them at all times during the routes, the one with the QR code is a voucher for one use only, to redeem the tickets. The loss or theft of the tickets does not entitle you to receive a new one. According to your comments, the staff put the correct procedure in place when refusing to take your voucher for the service. Best regards


Product code: 2140MADRIDHOPON