Recent Searches
Clear
icon_solid_phone
Book online or call: (888) 651-9785(888) 651-9785
chat-bubbles

Are you interested in?

Marseille Cruise Port (Terminal Croisières Marseille)
Marseille Cruise Port (Terminal Croisières Marseille) Tours
31 Tours & Activities
Ports of Call Tours
86 Tours & Activities
Tours, Sightseeing & Cruises
184 Tours & Activities
Why you are seeing these recommendations
Reserve Now & Pay Later

Marseille Shore Excursion: City Sightseeing Tour of Marseille

star-4.571 Reviews
|
Marseille, France
icon_solid_phone
Book online or call: (888) 651-9785(888) 651-9785
chat-bubbles
Marseille Shore Excursion: City Sightseeing Tour of Marseille

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 traveler2 travelers3 travelers4 travelers5 travelers6 travelers7 travelers8 travelers9 travelers10 travelers11 travelers12 travelers13 travelers14 travelers15 travelers
Reserve Now & Pay Later
Secure your spot while staying flexible
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon4 hours  (approx.)
Pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Operators have paid Viator more to have their experiences featured here

Overview

Spend the morning exploring Marseilles’ historical neighborhoods on a small-group tour with a guide. Perfect for visitors looking to maximize their time in the city, the tour covers many of the city’s main sights in half a day. Peruse shops and restaurants in the along the water in the old port, and take in panoramic views along the Cape Croisette.
  • Explore the Palais Longchamp and learn about its historical significance
  • Tour the Old Port and hear about its transformation from your guide
  • Climb the to the basilica of Notre Dame de la Garde for ocean views
  • Convenient round-trip transportation from the Marseilles Port Terminal
Why you are seeing these recommendations
Saved to wishlist!
Driver/guide
Fuel surcharge
Port pickup and drop-off
Transport by air-conditioned minivan
Food and drinks
Lunch
Gratuities
Tips
This operator has two meet-up options available. You can either meet at the departure point below or select a location for pick-up.
Port de Marseille Fos - Porte 3C - Lignes internationales , Porte 3C Port de Marseille Fos, 13015 Marseille, France

Meeting Instructions Upon debarkation, please exit the cruise terminal. You will follow the green line on the ground directing you towards the exit. It is approximately a 10 to 15 minute walk from the cruise ship. Your tour representative will be by the Seaman’s Club holding a sign with "Domitia Tours" written on it. We ask all guests to please plan to be at the designated departure location at least 15 minutes before the departure time listed above.

Marseille Cruise Terminal
This activity will end right where it started.Meeting Instructions Upon debarkation, please exit the cruise terminal. You will follow the green line on the ground directing you towards the exit. It is approximately a 10 to 15 minute walk from the cruise ship. Your tour representative will be by the Seaman’s Club holding a sign with "Domitia Tours" written on it. We ask all guests to please plan to be at the designated departure location at least 15 minutes before the departure time listed above.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • At time of booking, Cruise ship passengers must provide the following information at time of booking: ship name, docking time, disembarkation time and re-boarding time
  • A minimum of 2 people per booking is required
  • Collapsible wheelchairs with removable wheels can be accommodated providing the passenger is accompanied by someone who can assist them board and disembark
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 8 travelers
  • OPERATED BY DOMITIA TOURS
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Marseille Shore Excursion: City Sightseeing Tour of Marseille?
A:The policy on face masks and attendee health is:

  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Marseille Shore Excursion: City Sightseeing Tour of Marseille.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Marseille Shore Excursion: City Sightseeing Tour of Marseille?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Marseille Shore Excursion: City Sightseeing Tour of Marseille.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Marseille Shore Excursion: City Sightseeing Tour of Marseille?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Marseille Shore Excursion: City Sightseeing Tour of Marseille.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Marseille Shore Excursion: City Sightseeing Tour of Marseille?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Marseille Shore Excursion: City Sightseeing Tour of Marseille.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "The only suggestion: please update the timing, ticket dictated 9am, but the tour actually started at 10:30am." See review

Reviews by Viator travelers.  We perform checks on reviews

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
71 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 71 reviews
star-5
Excellent experience
Ricardo_R
, Sep 2022
We arrived at the port on an MSC cruise. It was our second time in Marseille, but the first time we took an excursion to Aix-en-Provence. This time, despite people advising us that Marseille wasn't worth visiting we decided to explore. And guess what? It was AWESOME. Not only is Marseille a beautiful city, but we had the best tour guide EVER in Djilani. The guy was hilarious and friendly and most importantly...LOVES his city. Plus driving around in a super comfortable Mercedes van didn't hurt. We never felt rushed or in danger of missing our ship. Excellent work, Domitia Tours!!
HelpfulHelpful
star-2
Walk A Mile to the big bus.
Jose_C
, Sep 2022
This tour was NOT A SMALL GROUPS TOUR. THE bus was a big tour bus. The walk to the meet point was not as described. Yes we met Mr. Paco at meet like it say which was 1/2 mile 15 minutes. Then he instructed us to walk another 1/2 mile to meet the big tour bus. It arrived on time an Mr Paco joined us on the bus. From there on it was as described with 3-4 stops including Notre Dame. Would’ve given it a higher star but Dominca tours was not honest. Take the tour with the ship for the same $ on a BIG BUS and save yourself a mile walk. They pick you up right at the terminal. P. S be prepared to walk a mile back went the tour is finished.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2022
Dear Sir I do thank you for your feed back and I understand your insatisfaction but I can confirm that this tour fit well our descriptif and we are not such as you describe as not honest. The problem of all this that the cruise terminal is a private and owned by cruise company and on that day the port security they did not allow us to collect our guest at the seaman’s club as usually as described in our tour as meeting point wish not even 5 minutes from the ship for security exercises for this reason you did have such a walk and is half miles to be more precise. For the bus we did operate it in bigger bus because our smaller bus got a technical problem and we can’t permit to play with the security of our guest. I hope I did answer your question and we will take your remarks seriously trie the futur .
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Fun in Marseille
Toni_R
, Oct 2022
Joe was a great tour guide! Very knowledgeable and helped us get around the city well . Very comfortable van, nice parks, nice scenic route
HelpfulHelpful
star-1
This tour is very rushed....
Michelle_M
, Sep 2022
This tour is very rushed. The tour guide was knowledgeable, but we were not given enough time at any of the stops.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2022
The tour is about 4 hours and there a lot of thing to say and to see .this tour is a sample of the city Marseille and the given time is balanced and calculated based on the tour time.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Enjoyed the day in Marseille
Cedric_B
, Jun 2022
Joe gave a beautiful tour of his city. He highlighted all the most photogenic and historic areas of Marseille. Really appreciated his candor and attitude. He was a very jolly fellow that made us all feel very comfortable. I highly recommend his tour if you are short on time and would like to spend time in the most important parts of Marseille.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Thank you very much
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Fabulous half day tour
Rachael_E
, Jun 2022
Fantastic half day tour. Guide was very knowledgeable and friendly saw all the sights and thoroughly enjoyed it
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Thank you very much
HelpfulHelpful
star-1
Did not show up
Elizabeth_P
, Sep 2022
Nothing to show photos because the tour operator did not show up to the pick up location. Please Refund
icon Response from Host , Sep 2022
Dear Guest , I do thank you for your feed back as you got in touch with us by phone And explain for you that you are late and propose you a later departure but you did not accept our proposal and like the tour guid did start the tour and he can’t wait for you for ever because other people are joining the same tour.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Wonderful day in Marseille
Michelle_P
, Jul 2022
This tour was great. The fountain looks exactly as pictured. The basilica and cathedral were beautiful. The views of the city from the top of the hill outside Basilica of Our Lady of the Guard was amazing. Little fisherman area with the shops and restaurants was really nice. The guide was great, so knowledgeable and kind. I think her name was Diana (may be wrong).
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Correct her name is Diana thank you very much
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Must see places in Marseille
Mark_B
, Jun 2022
Marseille is beautiful and charming. Might be a different french experience but totally worth the day tour! Silvio was a great guide and driver! Nice to hear his local experiences living in the city. We visited a lot of places that we couldn't have been able to see if we just took a taxi. Perfect if you are on a cruise shore excursion and have limited time to explore.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Thank you very much
HelpfulHelpful
star-4
Very good
Michelle_F
, Jun 2022
Driver was passionate, loved sharing the city. Sense of humor, cool sites, photo opportunities. Learned a lot.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Thank you very much
HelpfulHelpful
star-3
The Good and not so Good
SEAN_T
, Aug 2022
The Good: Paco, our guide and Maurice, the driver were great! Paco was friendly and knowledgeable. Maurice was an excellent driver and was able to maneuver the big motor coach with ease. The Bad: We purchased a Small Group tour as the tour info clearly states max of 8 people in an air conditioned mini-van. It ended up being a full motor coach of 30 or so. Paco was 30 minutes late to our pick-up area. Since we had a large group a few were late getting back to bus after stops. We did not stop at the Four des Navettes bakery as tour states I suppose due to the delays. By the time we arrived in Marseille we had only 20 minutes of free time which was disappointing. Had our group been a small group of 8 I'm sure the experience would have been more enjoyable. The tour description needs to be updated as it does not match what we received. Bait & Switch.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Wonderful excursion with...
Tiffany_H
, Sep 2022
Wonderful excursion with time to visit town and multiple sites; excellent value with experienced guide and staff
icon Response from Host , Sep 2022
Thank you very much
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Excellent tour
sdp
, Sep 2022
Excellent small group tour of the highlights of Marseille. Driver was very personable and, as he was from Marseille, knew his was around and the history very well. Would definitely recommend.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Wonderful
Lisa_S
, Jun 2022
Djilani (Joe) was a wonderful tour guide. Very positive, informative and upbeat. He helped to make Marseille one of my favorite places.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Thank you very much
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Marseille in 4-5 hours!
Cynthia_C
, Oct 2022
We had an informative tour of Marseille. Our guide was terrific. We saw all the main points we wanted to see. They met us on time at the port and delivered us back to port without any problems. I recommend you take this tour.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Good tour!
Beatrice_G
, Aug 2022
Wonderful tour! Taken to very beautiful highlights of Marseille. Enjoyed the city views and being immersed in the culture.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
Thank you very much
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Great tour of Marseille!
Amy_R
, Jul 2022
Our tour guide was fabulous! We saw so many great areas of Marseille, and we loved the private tour (no huge group with radios and ear pieces!) He customized our tour based on what we wanted to see, and where we had already been. Highly recommend!
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Thank you very much
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Fun Trip in Marseille with great guide!!
Lily_P
, Jul 2022
Djilani was our guide and he was awesome! We also met a few other couples that were very friendly do made tour great! Loved seeing Notre Dame and Le Palais Longchamp… our driver even went out of his way to include one more unplanned stop at another church. Additionally we stopped at a cute bakery that has a lot of history and we had free time in Marseille too! Our tour guide was funny and the overall vibe was great. We even did a group video at the end for his wife because it was her birthday! Thank you Djilani for making it great for us!
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Thank you very much
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Wonderful shore excursion tour
Steven_J
, Jul 2022
Wonderful shore excursion tour from our MSC cruise stop. Highly recommend as the perfect way to see and learn part of the history of the port.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Thank you very much
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Great tour
Sidona_B
, Jun 2022
I had a great time, tour was informative and the guide was really good at taking pictures. We visited the main places of interest.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Thank you very much
HelpfulHelpful

Reserve Now & Pay Later
Secure your must-do activities without being locked in
Product code: 31494P16

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Marseille Shore Excursion: City Sightseeing Tour of Marseille
Marseille Shore Excursion: City Sightseeing Tour of Marseille

star-4.565

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$75.78

star-4.529

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$104.69

star-513

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$49.84

star-4.564

5 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$69.80

star-4.52

7 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$139.86

star-512

6 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$84.75

star-4.511

6 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$144.58

star-3.55

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$67.69
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations