Search for "Paris" or "Colosseum"
Book online or call: (888) 651-9785

Famous Road to Hana Waterfalls & Lunch by Mercedes Van

Lahaina, United States

From $249.99

Select Date and Travelers

Reserve Now & Pay Later
Secure your spot while staying flexible
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 9 to 10 hours (approx.)
  • Hotel pickup offered
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English
  • Good for avoiding crowds


The Hana Highway weaves along the northeast coast of Maui, and it’s well known on the island for the postcard-perfect waterfalls that punctuate it. Spend your day exploring these dramatic natural highlights and swimming in their pools on this fully-chauffeured tour. Instead of hiring your own expensive rental car and trying to drive this winding and unfamiliar road yourself, navigate the winding scenic roads of the Hana Highway with your guide at the wheel.
  • Learn about the mythology and stories of the area from your guide
  • Don’t go hungry on the road: drinks and snacks, including fresh fruit, on offer
  • Transport includes early morning pick-up from your Maui accommodation

What's Included

  • Lunch
  • Snacks
  • Unlimited non-alcoholic beverages
  • Driver/guide
  • Live commentary on board
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off (if option selected)
  • Breakfast
  • No pickups available in Napili, Honokowai and Kapalua
  • No special diet available (raw, vegan, food allergies). You must bring your own food.
  • No pickups in Kihei, Wailea. You must meet us at the Maalaea Park and ride
  • Driver's Gratuity (15-20% of Ticket price recommended)

Departure & Return

Departure Point

Possible departure locations
View departure locations

Departure Time

6:00 AM

Please Note

Pick-up & drop-off on west side at major resorts, or at the Kahului or Maalaea Park and ride


Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • The back side of this road is temporarily closed due to road damage. We return the same way back.
  • Pick-up & drop-off at major resorts in Lahaina and Kaanapali or pick-up at the Maalaea or Kahului Park n'ride
  • Light breakfast, Lunch, snacks, nonalcoholic beverages
  • Pastries. Freshly made sandwiches from a local deli. Fresh locally grown pineapple. Snacks (granola bars, chips). Bottled water & Hawaiian juice
  • Travel aboard our luxury Mercedes S-Class sedan or luxury Mercedes Van
  • Bring swimsuit & towel for swimming at Hana waterfalls or famous Black Sand Beach (optional & weather permitting)
  • We DON'T offer any food alternatives. If you are on a special diet (raw, vegan, or have food allergies), you must bring your own food.
  • Preorder your sandwich - ham or turkey or veggie
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 14 travelers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

about cancellations

Frequently Asked Questions

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.

Q:What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Famous Road to Hana Waterfalls & Lunch by Mercedes Van?

A:The policy on face masks and attendee health is:
  • Temperature checks for travelers upon arrival

Q:What is the policy on sanitization during Famous Road to Hana Waterfalls & Lunch by Mercedes Van?

A:The policies on sanitization are:
  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized

Q:What is the social distancing policy during Famous Road to Hana Waterfalls & Lunch by Mercedes Van?

A:The policy on social distancing is:
  • Contactless payments for gratuities and add-ons

Q:What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Famous Road to Hana Waterfalls & Lunch by Mercedes Van?

A:The policies on staff health & safety are:
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff

Traveler Photos

See more
244 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers
Showing 1-10 of 244 reviews
Seen nothing
Sajini_V, Jun 2022
We did not see any place in this tour and paid more than 700 dollar for three of us . Road to Hana tour which I participated never showed us any of the must see places . 1 No Black Sand Beach 2 No Red Sand Beach 3 No Wailua Falls 4 No 7 Sacred Pools 5 No Paia 6 No Kipahulu 7 No Garden of Eden So We did not see any of the above and just saw some rain forest for 700 + dollars . I will never recommended this tour company
Response from Host, Jul 2022
Aloha Sajini, your review is irrelevant and it shouldn't be even posted here. Mahalo
This is heaven on earth
Ramon_T, Jun 2022
Swimming in Blacksand beach & waterfalls were exhilarating and the Maul coastline are gorgeous and very picturesque.
Response from Host, Jun 2022
Aloha Ramon and mahalo for your input.
Request Quinn if you can he is awesome
Kyle_I, Jun 2022
Quinn is the man. Full of information and his passion shows through for the island and it’s culture. Can’t say enough good about him He definitely made the trip even better.
Response from Host, Jun 2022
Aloha Kyle, mahalo for your feedback. All of our guides are awesome. Happy you had a great time! A hui hou!
Don’t do it!
Pamela_A, Jun 2022
Very disappointing Would not recommend. Felt like we wasted one our days in Maui. Very cramped seating and there was nothing luxury about the tour.
Response from Host, Jun 2022
Aloha Pamela, we are sorry you feel this way. Even though we cannot do anything about it, we still thank you for your input anyway. Keep smiling :-) Alooooha
A wonderful trip to Hana
Rhandi_S, Jun 2022
So enjoyable. Our guide was amazing. He was very funny and informative. Definitely a must do!! Waterfall views were magical.
Response from Host, Jun 2022
Aloha Rhandi, how wonderful to hear that. Mahalo for your input. Please visit again and a hui hou!
Amazing trip to Hana
Paul_K, Jun 2022
The views were amazing and the comfort of the ride was superb Eric the driver was so impressive with his knowledge of the culture and history shared many great stories along the way Also very helpful when we stopped and took excursions
Response from Host, Jun 2022
Aloha Paul and mahalo for your feedback. We are glad you had a great time. A hui hou
Great Service But Not Enough Time to Explore
isha_j, Jun 2022
Our tour guide Ricky was the best! Very accommodating and knowledgeable. His service was great. Three stars because the tour itself felt rushed. Majority of it was in the car and not much time to get out and explore. Understand that it’s the nature of the drive to Hana being so long. For those who are too nervous about driving yourself, I would recommend this option. However, if you are open to driving this road, then I highly recommend taking your time, spending more time at waterfalls and black sand beach so you can actually swim. Consider getting a place to stay the night along one of the stops to allow for this. Then continue on your way through as one day isn’t enough.
Response from Host, Jun 2022
Hi Isha, as you already know, Road to Hana is 10+ hours long adventure. Out of the 10 hours, you spent 1 full hour at the black sand beach and another 45 minutes swimming at waterfalls. You also had other shorter stops along the way and saw many different sites. Your tour started at 6am and you got back around 4-4:30pm. That is one long day. Can you actually imagine spending more time at the sites? First of all, you would not see as many, second of all, you would return at night. Your 3 star review is irrelevant as you are not being realistic.
Wonderful trip! Quinn and...
Tammy_R, Jun 2022
Wonderful trip! Quinn and Caia were great!! So knowledgeable in all things Hawaiin! I will recommend this to all my friends.
Response from Host, Jun 2022
Aloha Tammy, it was a pleasure having you. Mahalo!
Awesome way to learn a lot about Maui!
Jason_L, Jun 2022
I took this tour of Road to Hana with my brother and my 14-year old son. Our guide, Quinn, was really great: gave us a LOT of information and answered all of our questions. He was very accommodating and flexible in tailoring the tour info to any topics the guests wanted to focus on. It’s an all day event: we were picked up at 6a and we got back to our care I think closer to 3-4p. part of me would have wished that it was a few hours shorter, but then again I appreciate the thoroughness of the tour and information. I would strongly recommend this to any friends and family coming to Maui!
Response from Host, Jun 2022
Aloha Jason, it is great to hear that. Mahalo for your input. Have a great summer and a hui hou.
Not worth the higher price tag!
Lindsey_M, Jun 2022
It was more expensive than other options but the food and beverages provided were grocery store level sandwiches for lunch and poppyseed bread for breakfast. Considering the pickup is before breakfast is served at the hotel, I expected more. There were 4 stops and only two were long enough to really enjoy the location. We bypassed Hana to go to a “friends” business beyond. Would have preferred to stop at the food trucks in Hana and actually look around. Don’t be fooled by the Mercedes’ van, it’s just like all the others.
Response from Host, Jun 2022
Aloha Lindsey, thank you for your feedback. We advertise pastries for breakfast and sandwiches for lunch. All the stops we make are listed including the time spent at each site. You knew exactly what to expect when you were signing up for this tour.
Awesome views!
Josh_H, Jun 2022
Eric was an amazing host and truly made the experience a 10/10. his knowledge and thorough overview of relevant facts and histories really wowed us. thanks for the great time!
Response from Host, Jun 2022
Aloha Josh, and mahalo for your feedback. We are happy you had a great time! A hui hou
Great day trip
Julie_C, Jun 2022
Great tour overall. It was just a little cramped for 4 adults in the back seat of a van for 10mg rd. Wish we had more room. Quinn our guide was Awesome!! and shared lots of great facts.
Response from Host, Jun 2022
Aloha Julie, mahalo for your feedback. We love to hear from our guests. We are happy you had a great tour.
A see and most do for those to fall in love with Maui.
Luis_N, Jun 2022
The sites that Rich and Tom (thumbs up guides) took us at were amazing! Drive not as bad even with 640 curves. Great to have a great and safe driver to give perspective on every nook and cranny of the entire trip.
Response from Host, Jun 2022
Aloha Luis, thanks so much for joining us and your feedback. We are happy you had a great time. A hui hou
Eric was great!
Leigh_F, Jun 2022
Eric was an amazing tour guide! He was a fountain of information on nature, history, and rich and famous people in Hawaii. The day was a bit rainy so a little disappointing, but Eric made the trip worthwhile!!
Response from Host, Jun 2022
Aloha Leigh, that is great to hear that you had an amazing tour! Hana lays in tropical rain forest. It rains there a lot, that is why it's so beautifully lush and green. It's sad you gave Eric 4 stars only even though he did his job at 100% just because it rained :-(
Quinn, our tour guide
Sadie_C, Jun 2022
Our guide was so nice and knowledgeable. He wanted all of us to be comfortable including ensuring we had snacks and the temperature in the van was to our liking. We were taken to some amazing beautiful places. The van was very comfortable, we could see out of it, and our group bonded. We had an amazing time at one of the waterfalls. If we could go again we would ask for Quinn!
Response from Host, Jun 2022
Aloha Sadie, mahalo nui for your feedback. We are happy you had a great time. Enjoy your stay here and A hui Hou!
Do not go!
Danie_K, Jun 2022
I would not do this excursion! I am staying in Lahaina. I had a confirmation that they were to pick me up at my resort/condo in Lahaina. They did not show up. I spent 2 days arguing with another company stardust telling me I wasnt going to get a refund for the almost $1300 trip they did not show up for and telling me it was my fault. Also almost all of these trips claim to be private but they are not. Beware before booking you are booking with a third party and not directly with who you are doing the tours with and the people doing the tours are rude and obnoxious.....truthfully I have lost nothing on this island and will never visit here your money and go Aruba or anywhere in the Caribbean its more beautiful and the people are much nicer!
Response from Host, Jun 2022
Aloha Danie, you were staying passed Napili-Honokowai and we don't pickup there. It is also clearly listed on our tour description under "not included". Not only that. We called you and spoke to you the day before your tour and confirmed your pickup spot at the Cannery mall and you agreed. We also emailed you with the confirmation pickup and you even replied to our email. On the day of your tour you didn't show up and when our driver called you to find out where you were, you pretended like you had no idea where to be. We also offered to reschedule the tour to another day but you rejected.
Quinn is Great!
Kristi_W, Jun 2022
Quinn was an amazing tour guide! Very knowledgeable about Hawaiian history and just made the ride more fun. He also was very courteous in asking and making sure if anyone needed anything and enjoying themselves.
Trip was very good. Eric,...
Michael_M, May 2022
Trip was very good. Eric, the driver and tour guide, was great. I would recommend the trip to learn more of the history of the islands.
Response from Host, May 2022
Aloha Michael, it was wonderful to hear from you. It was a pleasure to have you. A hui hou
The trip that brought meaning(worth) to my vacation
Ruth_K, May 2022
The sand beaches, winding and narrow road that was full of nature. The calming effect of the local people
Response from Host, May 2022
Aloha Ruth, mahalo for joining us. It was a pleasure having on both tours, the Segway tour and the Road to Hana tour. You rocked!
Awesome road-trip!!
Viju_V, May 2022
Excellent road-trip to Hana! Our guide was extremely knowledgeable, friendly and very courteous. Felt like we were in a documentary!! Loved every bit of it!!
Response from Host, May 2022
Aloha Viju, so great to hear that you had a great time. It was a pleasure having you. A hui hou.


Product code: 103992P5