Search for "Paris" or "Colosseum"
Book online or call: (888) 651-9785

Monolingual Guided Tour National Museum of Anthropology

Ciudad de México, Mexico
Likely to Sell Out

From $23.00

Price varies by group size

Select Date and Travelers

Reserve Now & Pay Later
Secure your spot while staying flexible
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 2 hours 30 minutes (approx.)
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English

Overview

Discover one of the world’s most impressive collections of artifacts from pre-Columbian Maya civilizations through Spanish colonization at the National Museum of Anthropology in Mexico City. An informative guide provides historical and archaeological context to the exhibits, including the Aztec Calendar, reconstructions of Maya tombs and giant Olmec heads. After this half-day tour, you’ll come away with insight into the influence of Mesoamerican cultures on Mexico today.
  • Half-day tour of the Museum of Anthropology and History in Mexico City
  • See archaeological artifacts on display, such as an Aztec calendar
  • Explore cultural exhibits with an expert museum guide
  • Learn about Mesoamerican societies and their historical contributions

What's Included

  • Professional guide
  • Entrance to National Museum of Anthropology
  • Food and drinks
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off

Departure & Return

Departure Point

  • Museo Nacional de Antropología, Av. Paseo de la Reforma s/n, Polanco, Bosque de Chapultepec I Secc, Miguel Hidalgo, 11560 Ciudad de México, CDMX, Mexico

    Please meet your guide at least 10 minutes before departure time at the Flagpole in front of the Main entrance of the Anthropology Museum 09:50 a.m.

Departure Time

9:50 AM

Return Details

This activity will end right where it started.

What To Expect

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Most travelers can participate
  • Due to Covid19, it is not allowed to enter with food, drinks or backpacks. Only a handbag is allowed
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 14 travelers
Operated by Amigo Tours Mexico

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

about cancellations

Frequently Asked Questions

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.

Q:What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Monolingual Guided Tour National Museum of Anthropology?

A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:
  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas

Q:What is the policy on sanitization during Monolingual Guided Tour National Museum of Anthropology?

A:The policies on sanitization are:
  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized

Q:What is the social distancing policy during Monolingual Guided Tour National Museum of Anthropology?

A:The policy on social distancing is:
  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience

Q:What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Monolingual Guided Tour National Museum of Anthropology?

A:The policies on staff health & safety are:
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff

Traveler Photos

See more

Traveler Tips


Highly recommend, and hopefully you have Manuel as your guide, as it will significantly add to your understanding and appreciation of the people, culture and history represented in this wonderful place.
Reviews
4.0
166 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
0
0
0
0
0
Reviews by Viator travelers
Showing 1-10 of 166 reviews
Excellent experience
Regina_B, May 2022
Antonio was an outstanding docent!! He was knowledgeable and interesting. I would recommend this tour.
Trouble understanding!
Phillip_D, May 2022
The guide was very nice and knowledgeable but he should be a guide for tours in Spanish. My husband only speaks English and he had trouble understanding the guide.
A history lesson in one day
Nori_L, Apr 2022
Antonio was so knowledgeable and gave us a great overview of Mexican anthropological history. We enjoyed our time with him very much.
Response from Host, May 2022
Dear Amig@ Many thanks for your great comment. We hope we can receive you soon again. Dulce, Amigo Tours
Our tour was cancelled...
Charles_P, Apr 2022
Our tour was cancelled and so far our money has not been refunded. I emailed after I was advised of the cancellation of the tour but got no reply.
Response from Host, May 2022
Dear Amig@ We are very sorry for this situation you experienced. We have passed your case to the corresponding area for attention. Dulce, Amigo Tours
Didn't happen
Andrew_U, Apr 2022
30 minutes before our "private" tour we were informed that the guide was not available and offered to change to group tour. When we arrived there were 30 people and a gentleman whose English was poor. We asked to cancel and he said no problem. Since that moment all our messages to Amigo were not answered. Put in a request for refund with Viator and were told they will deal with it in 10 days. Terrible experience
Response from Host, Apr 2022
Dear Amig@ We are very sorry for your experience and we confirm that the refund has been authorized in our system. Dulce, Amigo Tours
Would not use this service again
Judy_B, Mar 2022
Very heavy Spanish accent and she spoke very quickly. Seemed rushed and the explanations were not sufficient
Response from Host, Apr 2022
Dear Amig@ We appreciate your opinion, and we have taken note of your comments, we will continue working to improve. Dulce, Amigo Tours
Super unorganized also viator gave us a group tour and charged us for a private and won’t respond to credit back.
Kat_N, Mar 2022
Get private tours and make sure you communicate well with viator. We tried to get our money back for the tour but no luck ! Some if their tours have been great
Response from Host, Apr 2022
Dear Amig@ We are very sorry for your experience. We will inform you by mail that the request for partial reimbursement must be requested by you to the agency, as this is the agency's process. Dulce, Amigo Tours
Enlightening and Informative
lorijourden, Mar 2022
I understand why this museum is rated so high! I wanted to understand what I was seeing and hear the history as I indulged in ancient artifacts and art that I’ve never seen before. Our tour guide did not diss appoint. They promptly met us at the entrance and proceeded to methodical share the highlights of the museum. It would take days to view the entire exhibit. Our children 9 and 7 were along and they did well. They were also intrigued by the display of history. Highly recommended and I would it again on my next visit. There’s so much to learn.
Response from Host, Apr 2022
Dear Amig@ Thank you very much for sending us your comments. It has been a great pleasure to be able to serve you and to have borne fruit our efforts reflected in your satisfaction. Dulce, Amigo Tours
Felt like time and money wasted
Mariana_M, Mar 2022
We arrived promptly at our set time of 9:50 to meet the tour guide. The guide let us know we were waiting on more people and to wait in the museum - we ended up waiting until 10:30 or so for the others. When we finally walked into the exhibition area, the tour guide let us know it was a MIXED language group and would talk first in Spanish and then English, even though we had booked and English only tour. We were separated while he gave the introduction to the Spanish group, and by the time it was our turn to be introduced to the museum it had been over an hour and a half since our initial arrival time. With the tour being 4 hours, and having to split the time of the tour into two different languages, this was a terrible experience for all involved, including the tour guide. He did his best, but we eventually split from the group as we were not covering enough of such a huge museum. Overall a VERY frustrating and disappointing experience. I recommend not having split language groups as it decreases time spent learning about the museum, increases frustration, and overall leaves a terrible experience.
Response from Host, Apr 2022
Dear Amig@ thank you for letting us know about your experience, we will work to continue offering incredible experiences. Dulce, Amigo Tours
Trash Tour
Ileana_M, Mar 2022
This tour was so bad!! First, we got started almost 30 minutes after the meeting time. I know there was a 10 min wait time but it went over and then we didn't even know what we were waiting for. THEN our tour guide finally went to go buy our tickets and we started the tour right before 10:20A. Once we get to the first section she tells us we're only going to see 3 rooms. On top of that, it ends up being a bilingual tour!!! I knew I had specifically booked this tour to be English only because friends I was traveling with only spoke English. So now, our tour time is DOUBLED and some people in the group don't understand what she's saying half the time. Because I know Spanish I was able to translate what she couldn't convey in English but I know the tour info was SO MUCH better in Spanish and that made me sad because if I didn't understand I would've missed out on extra info. Then, we wanted to break away because we had a reservation to get to and she said she could not give us our tickets (that came with the tour?) so we couldn't come back later. All around super lame experience. DO NOT recommend, book with Airbnb Experiences instead.
Response from Host, Apr 2022
Dear Amig@ We are sorry to hear that this experience was not to your liking. Dulce, Amigo Tours
1 traveler found this review helpful

Questions?

Product code: 5885ANTHRO