Search for "Paris" or "Colosseum"
Book online or call: (888) 651-9785

San Miguel de Allende Tour from Mexico City

Badge of ExcellenceCiudad de México, Mexico
Likely to Sell Out

From $84.00

Price varies by group size

Lowest Price Guarantee

Select Date and Travelers

Reserve Now & Pay Later
Secure your spot while staying flexible
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 11 hours (approx.)
  • Hotel pickup offered
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


If you’re short on time but want to see what’s beyond Mexico City, this day trip to lovely San Miguel de Allende has you covered. A guide will get you acquainted with the baroque architecture of this colonial city during a tour, including the handicrafts market. Then you’re free to stroll the cobblestone streets on your own in the afternoon.
  • Day trip to San Miguel de Allende, round-trip from Mexico City
  • Visit one of Mexico’s main colonial cities, a 3- to 4-hour drive away
  • Explore the colorful streets and historical architecture with a guide
  • Have free time to stroll to cafes, shops, and plazas on your own

What's Included

  • Round Transportation
  • Bilingual guide
  • Drinks and Food

Meeting And Pickup

You can head directly to your preferred meeting point, or request pickup.

Meeting points

Select a meeting point
Type to search

Pickup points

Select a pickup point
Type to search

Start time

07:00 AM

End point

This activity ends back at the meeting point.

Pickup details

Hotel pick up is only available on the private option

What To Expect

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Free time to explore the city at your own pace
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 15 travelers
Operated by Amigo Tours Mexico

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

about cancellations.

Frequently Asked Questions

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.

Q:What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during San Miguel de Allende Tour from Mexico City?

A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:
  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas

Q:What is the policy on sanitization during San Miguel de Allende Tour from Mexico City?

A:The policies on sanitization are:
  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized

Q:What is the social distancing policy during San Miguel de Allende Tour from Mexico City?

A:The policy on social distancing is:
  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience

Q:What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during San Miguel de Allende Tour from Mexico City?

A:The policies on staff health & safety are:
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff

Traveler Photos

See more

Traveler Tips

This is at least a 13 hour day trip from Mexico City and worth it if one is not planning to visit a typical Mexican town like Oaxaca, Guanajuato etc.
Even the drive is a few hours I still think it’s worth it to visit.
If you're looking for a break from CDMX to brush the surface of a beautiful place, this is the trip to take!
102 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 102 reviews
San Miguel is a nice place to see
Maria_W, Apr 2022
It was a great tour just really limited time to Look around. Alicia was good in the beginning speaking in Spanish and English and if I am not mistaken it was just my husband and I who Speak English. So we noticed that at some point towards the end of the trip, Like she would not translate in English anymore, like where we would be dropped off. But it was a great place to see but not a day trip next time. Alicia was a good tour guide though.
Response from Host, May 2022
Dear Amig@ Thank you for letting us know your comments. We are sorry that this experience was not to your complete satisfaction, we take your comments into account to continue improving. Thank you very much Dulce, Amigo Tours
Not Staying in a Typical Mexican Town - Then a Very Good Day Trip
AniruddhaD97, Dec 2019
This is at least a 13 hour day trip from Mexico City and worth it if one is not planning to visit a typical Mexican town like Oaxaca, Guanajuato etc. San Miguel is a super place and the tour has a great mix of a one hour guided tour plus about three hours of self free time for you to explore the place. Our guide was bilingual (English and Spanish) and was very helpful.
Response from Host, Jan 2020
Hello! Thank you so much for your comments, we're glad to know you had a wonderful time with us in San Miguel de Allende. We work every day to provide the best service to all our clients because we love what we do. We hope you to come back soon. Best Regards, Amigo Group
Long drive, but worth it.
Jose_C, Sep 2022
Long drive, but we’ll worth it. We were able to spend enough time in the town and see the beautiful buildings.
Worth it!
Andrea_A, Feb 2022
If you are short on time and still want to see San Miguel de Allende coming from CDMX, then this tour is for you! The driver made me feel safe and comfortable during the entire ride. Leonardo was such a good guide. He was knowledgeable and was patient in answering my questions. You also get some time to explore on your own so you can find something good to eat, walk around more or relax at the Jardín Allende. Definitely recommend!
Response from Host, Mar 2022
Dear Amig@ Thank you very much for recommending us, we love to know that we have fulfilled our mission of taking you to live the best experiences. Dulce, Amigo Tours
Visit to Gto. San Miguel Allende.
Hilda_G, Aug 2022
The tour was awesome for my family and me. We went to several places all with knowledgeable speech, kindness and teachable moments. My guides were Marco and Sergio and they were explaining along all the tour, and responded to all our questions! They help us to make this experience unforgettable!!
Response from Host, Aug 2022
Dear Amig@ Hilda_G, Thank you very much, for contact us ans sharing your ecperience with us. We are glad that the tour was to your liking. We hope you back soon. Best wishes!!! Michelle, Amigo Tours
The ride was Not a very good experience at all
Eduardo_B, May 2022
San Miguel Allende was great but the transportation to and forth was not. I sat in the rear most seat of the 11 passenger van which right over the rear axle it was riding on the back of a deuce and half in the field, terrible made me sick. Second complaint was after a few passenger asked for a WC stop it another half hour to stop. Third complaint was the AC didn’t work, we finally just opened the windows. I told the driver and the tour guide they should never put anyone in the rear most seat.
Response from Host, May 2022
Dear Amig@ Thank you for your comments, we have shared this experience with our operations manager so that we can improve it. [...] Dulce, Amigo Tours
Buen día en San Miguel de Allende
Diego_V, Sep 2022
Hermosa ciudad, vale la pena conocerla si estás en la Ciudad de México, la guía dio buena información. Hace falta tal vez un poquito más de recomendaciones del lugar y también de coordinación a la hora de la salida.
Response from Host, Sep 2022
Querido Diego, muchas gracias por tu comentario,tomaremos en cuenta tu opinio ya que es muy importante para nosotros, esperamos verte nuevamente y nos alegra mucho saber que disfrutaste de esta aventura con nosotros! Ivana, Amigo Tours
Terribly Uncomfortable Tour Bus
Sudhakar_M, Sep 2022
The most memorable part of the trip that left an indelible impression on me was uncomfortable the seats were for a drive that lasted over 4 hours each way from and to CDMX. Given the duration of the trip it would have behooved Viator to arrange buses that had comfortable space between seats
Response from Host, Sep 2022
Dear Amig@; we deeply regret to know that the transportation was not good for you, we will consider your feedback to improve our services. Mariana, Amigo tours
San Miguel de Allende day trip From Mexico City with optional Small Group
Tatyana_A, Aug 2020
We had a terrible experience. We paid for the tour $180 for two people. It was terrible since we have been waiting for a tour bus to pick us up at Hostal Amigo from 6:40 up to 7:26. The bus never came. We are going to call our credit card and dispute the charge. Please never book with this company since we lost one day in Mexico City since we didn't get the expected tour.
Response from Host, Sep 2020
Hello. We are really sorry to hear what happened, we extend a apology and we hope to have you back and let us know give you a good experience. Regards Amigo Tours Mexico City
Good trip, but...
Buddy, Jul 2022
The trip was good in regards to sharing three aspects of San Miguel Allende (park, church, and market). You were given 3 hours to eat and explore on your own which was great because there is so much to see in SMA. I did not understand why the tour bus did not stop at the overlook on the way into SMA to get overview pictures, and do not understand why we did not stop at the overlook after the tour director guaranteed twice we would stop on the way back to MEX.
Response from Host, Jul 2022
Dear Buddy, we are incredibly happy to hear you enjoyed this experience! On the other hand we want to let you know that we are working on the logistic part of the tour, thanks a lot for your feedback. Mariana, Amigo tours
Unsatisfactory, not recommended .
Marianella_C, Sep 2022
Did not like this Experience the bus or guide was not cordial to give a call of departure or aware of others joiners place, guide did not explain anything thru out the places we were traveling since it’s a 4 hour drive! Guide and buss driver did not turn on air conditioner thru out the ride , we asked for air conditioning and they turned it off , we asked for music and they said they didn’t have any music on the ride , they later put music on and turned off when they pleased so they lied about that too, when in the town of allendes , guide Sandy was way too fast and left us behind , guide did not meet tourist needs as we had one handicapped individual; never asked if there were any special needs ! They later abandoned the rest of the group and we had no option but to depart from group as we could not keep up with guide , as well as others ! I do not Recommend , there was a lot of walking where they said the buss could not travel and they could perfectly fine drive thru: when time of pick up , bus driver and guide did not know where to meet exactly , made all of the group walk to a place to meet instead of place of pick up. Unsatisfactory!
Response from Host, Sep 2022
Dear Marianella; thank for taking the time to share with us your opinion. We are very sorry to read that this tour was not a 5 stars experience to you. We are working hard to get better each day. Mariana, Amigo tours
I had very bad experience
Adventurer483916, Nov 2019
my family and I we was in a taxi driving to the office were we was supposed meet in mexico city and the taxi get lose so I called the office agency in mexico city and to let then know that i was going to be 5 min.late and because I was running a little late and they never answered the phone my family and I get there 5 min late and they was already gone I GET INTO THE OFFICE I TALK TO THE PERSON IN THE OFFICE HE WAS VERY RUDE HE WASN'T HELPFUL HE DIDN'T DO NOTHING FOR ME I WILL NEVER HIRE THIS AGENCY AGAIN. BECAUSE I LOSE A LOT OF MONEY I HAD TO RENT A DIFFERENT CAR WE A DIFFERENT PEOPLE TO TAKE MY FAMILY TO MY DESTINATION. NEVER HIRE THIS AGENCY AGAIN NEVER NEVER
Response from Host, Nov 2019
Hello, Thank you very much for your comments; we are sorry you didn't have the best experience with us. We offer an apology. We would like to follow up on your case. Regards Amigo Group
Beautiful place. Long...
LEILANIE_S, Aug 2022
Beautiful place. Long drive but, thought was worthy. Our driver and guide were knowledgeable and safe.
Response from Host, Aug 2022
Dear LEILANIE_S, it was a pleasure to be at your service, thank you so much for sharing this adventure with us. Mariana, Amigo tours
Great transport option, but not really a tour
JILL_R, Mar 2022
An easy way to get from Mexico City to San Miguel de Allende. The guide was very nice, but this was much less of a tour and more of transport, brief orientation to the city, and free time. Through Viator I booked an English tour. The guide only spoke Spanish. She asked, in Spanish, if everyone understood Spanish (and luckily I do), but if I had been someone else who had booked an English tour, I would not have known at all what was going on.
Response from Host, Mar 2022
Dear Amig@ Thank you for your comment, and the honesty of your words, the truth is that it is a tour away from the city, perfect for those who want to know more than just Mexico City but have little time. Dulce, Amigo Tours
Cool city
cassidy_l, Feb 2020
Beautiful city! Very colorful. Even the drive is a few hours I still think it’s worth it to visit. The guide was wonderful and the whole group really had fun.
Response from Host, Feb 2020
Hello :) We are happy that you enjoyed this experience since in amigo Group we strive to offer the best to our customers as we love what we do. We hope you return to live a new experience with us soon. Regards, Amigo Group.
Beautiful SMA
Celina_E, Aug 2022
San Miguel de Allende is just beautiful. Do not miss visiting this place any chance you get. It is simply stunning.
Response from Host, Aug 2022
Dear Celina_E, we are delighted to know you had a good experience with us, thank you so much for being part of this tour. Mariana, Amigo tours
John_J, Apr 2022
Great town, great place enjoyed every minute, would recommend this to everyone looking for something different in Mexico
Response from Host, May 2022
Dear Amig@ Thank you for being part of this experience. Thank you for your comments. Dulce, Amigo Tours
Heavy Hearted 1 Star Rating
Diego_S, Aug 2020
With a heavy heart I give one star. I was at the requested pick up location early, and waited 1.5 hours and was never picked up. I attempted to email and call, to no avail. I was emailed 6 hours later saying, “We didn’t run a tour today, call for a full refund”, yet they scheduled me for that day, and didn’t give any notice of a last minute cancellation. I decided to spare no expense and book a private one person tour to San Miguel. I suggest you consider the same.
Response from Host, Aug 2020
Good day We regret the inconvenience caused, we will verify what happened with our staff and we hope that the next time you can take the tour with us and verify that our service has improved. Sincerely Amigo Tours Mexico City
Pick up time was wrong and horrible service
Andrea_G, Dec 2019
Viator information said 7:00am but the tour company was at the hotel at 6:20am so we lost the tour $75 each for 2 persons, we called Amigo Tours and the service was horrible we paid a taxi to try to reach the tour bus but Amigo Tours said they were not going to call the bus and that we lost the tour. We had to pay $30 each to get a mexican public bus to San Miguel de Allende (4.5 hours), at the end of the day we finally reach the tour group in San Miguel the Allende just to get back to Mexico City. I had used viator before but this was really bad and I want my money back. Andrea Gonzalez
Response from Host, Dec 2019
Good afternoon. Please verify the voucher information. The pick up time is 06:20 am at the first meeting point and 06:50 am for the second meeting point. Regards.
Nice Time in a Great City
Malkiat_G, Aug 2018
San Miguel de Allende is a wonderful city to visit! This tour was timed and paced perfectly. We left Mexico City early in a clean and comfortable car and we were dropped off in the town's main square after being shown the main few buildings. We were then given free time (about three hours) to explore on our own. If you're looking for a break from CDMX to brush the surface of a beautiful place, this is the trip to take!
1 traveler found this review helpful


Product code: 5885P302