Search for "Paris" or "Colosseum"
Book online or call: (888) 651-9785

Hierve el Agua(2hrs), Mitla from Oaxaca

Oaxaca de Juárez, Mexico

From $38.37

Lowest Price Guarantee

Select Date and Travelers

Reserve Now & Pay Later
Secure your spot while staying flexible
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 6 to 12 hours (approx.)
  • Hotel pickup offered
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


    What's Included

    • Travel insurance
    • Air-conditioned vehicle
    • Breakfast
    • Dinner
    • Lunch

    Meeting And Pickup

    You can head directly to the meeting point, or request pickup

    Meeting point

    • Gral. Antonio de León 1
      Gral. Antonio de León 1, Centro, 68000 Oaxaca de Juárez, Oax., Mexico

    Pickup points

    Select a pickup point
    Type to search

    Start time

    08:00 AM

    End point

    This activity ends back at the meeting point.

    Pickup details

    In case of confirming your collection in hotel/airbnb/hostel, confirm your address, room, contact number to the following number +52 9511695242

    What To Expect

    Additional Info

    • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
    • Infants must sit on laps
    • Service animals allowed
    • Most travelers can participate
    • Near public transportation
    • Stroller accessible
    • Wheelchair accessible
    • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 20 travelers

    Cancellation Policy

    You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

    • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
    • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
    • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
    • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

    about cancellations.

    Frequently Asked Questions

    The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.

    Q:What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Hierve el Agua(2hrs), Mitla from Oaxaca?

    A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:
    • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
    • Face masks required for guides in public areas
    • Face masks provided for travelers
    • Temperature checks for travelers upon arrival

    Q:What is the policy on sanitization during Hierve el Agua(2hrs), Mitla from Oaxaca?

    A:The policies on sanitization are:
    • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
    • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
    • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
    • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized

    Q:What is the social distancing policy during Hierve el Agua(2hrs), Mitla from Oaxaca?

    A:The policy on social distancing is:
    • Social distancing enforced throughout experience

    Q:What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Hierve el Agua(2hrs), Mitla from Oaxaca?

    A:The policies on staff health & safety are:
    • Guides required to regularly wash hands
    • Regular temperature checks for staff
    • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms

    Traveler Photos

    See more
    37 reviews
    Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
    Reviews by Viator travelers.
    Showing 1-10 of 37 reviews
    Great day trip
    Kim, Feb 2022
    Great full day. Highlights were Mitla, the weaving, lunch was great and going up to Hierve el Aqua. Nice guides and driver and good group of people.
    Did not get to visit the places I bought the tour for!!
    mryrdc, Jan 2021
    While tour itself was nice enough, it utterly failed because two places I wanted to see were both not visited. Prior to my tour I did an online chat with a rep and asked 3 times if the places I wanted to see would be included and was assured that the places were on schedule - needless to say - that was not the case. Location #1 Hierve El Agua - was closed due to a dispute between two towns and tourism money - the road was closed. Location #2 The Tule Tree - was unavailable because the town didn't want tour buses pouring in due to covid-19 concerns. So the bottom line is a non-refundable ticket and a tour bought that was not what I paid for... Viator needs to communicate more often with their outsourced tour companies !! If they did this they would have known my two desired places were not available.
    Response from Host, Jan 2021
    We appreciate your review , it always helps us and our customers improve in the quality of our service and information , The positive side is to know that our Tour was nice enough For you while we are under many restriction because of COVID-19 , on the other hand... Due to COVID 19 PANDEMIC And the increases of cases, many places and towns are being close suddenly, like Santa Maria El Tule , others like Hierve El Agua , it’s been close since APril 2019 , so we are constanly adjusting to those circumstances. We did replay prior to your booking and mention these places where closed and we provide alternatives for our tour and also cancellation , we even contact everyone of our customers by phone call or text to inform the changes and alternatives , some decide to cancel or to continue with the Tour and avoid Any misunderstandings . We will take this review into account Thanks Lescas Team
    The guide, Angel, was...
    Laura_J, Aug 2022
    The guide, Angel, was great! I especially loved the tour of the weaver’s home and the process. The first 3 stops were quick but there was plenty of time at each to get the experience of each stop.
    Hierve el Agua
    Gilbert_T, Aug 2022
    Definitely one if the best tours I’ve ever been too! So many things in one tour - Hierve el Agua was of course the main highlight (we were given two hours there which was ample time to hile and bathe) with additional rug making and chocolate making demonstrations, a stop at a bakery and a mezcal tasting session!
    great value
    Paisley_G, Mar 2022
    the day was really well-paced, we never felt rushed. the guides (us english speakers had angel, who was a delight) were great. our driver navigated the scary windy mountain roads very well and we trusted him with our lives. it is a long day - we left at 8ish and got back around 6.30/7pm. but it was very good value for money and we got to see so much.
    Great tour. My only...
    Daniel_B, Mar 2022
    Great tour. My only regret was getting sick and missing the Hierve el Agua. The staff was very accommodating and bought me an electrolyte drink and some pepto bismal. When I was still too sick to continue, they drove me back to Oaxaca early and even offered to drive me to a clinic. The parts of the tour I did complete were great.
    1 traveler found this review helpful
    Well planned trip, with...
    Aarti_B, Jul 2022
    Well planned trip, with good English speaking guide. Fun experience, would’ve helped to have covered some of the tolls but no surprises there
    El largo pero vale la pena
    Francisca_I, Apr 2022
    Es un buen tour, se hace un poco largo pero vale la pena. Los lugares son bonitos. Lamentablemente el guía es solo para la experiencia de la mañana, no todo el día.
    the agua part is great,...
    Tyler_T, Dec 2021
    the agua part is great, booked in english mostly was not, said 8 hours but took 11, still good value.
    2 travelers found this review helpful
    DO NOT TAKE THIS TOUR: inaccurate description; unannounced sudden changes
    Jose_H, Aug 2022
    We booked this tour specifically to visit Mitla's archeological site. As the title of the tour states, the two main activities were Hierve el Agua and Mitla. There were also three more visits. Everything went according to plan until, halfway through the tour, the original schedule was modified and the visit to Mitla was replaced by a visit to the Mezcal factory. It was at this moment that we got word about next sites to visit. Mitla was not included in those. During the announcement, there was absolutely no mention of Mitla, as if it was not on schedule. It was only when we contacted the tour operation that they informed us that Mitla's archeological site was closed on Mondays and Tuesdays. However, this was not stated on the description and we were not told at any point during the tour. As a response to our complaint they stated that this change was effective on August 7th and that they modified the description accordingly but Viator did not make them available immediately but rather 24 hours later. I found this to be a very unacceptable way of putting responsibility on someone else. I also verified on Mitla's website and this part of their explanation was not true. The tour operator knew before hand that Mitla was closed. We were offered us a free trip to Mitla. Unfortunately, since we are departing the following day (Tuesday), that won't happen. Another solution, which I found very egregious, was to pick us up right at that moment and bring us back to the city. This was an absurd solution since we were just heading to Hierve el Agua, the second feature of the tour. We commend them for responding to us albeit in a questionable way. We feel that the description should have been accurate, they way it miraculously is now. OUR ADVISE to the tour operator: be honest with your customers. Let them know any changes to the trip when they get on the bus, not halfway through the day. OUR ADVISE TO YOU: DO NOT TAKE this tour on a Monday or Tuesday if you decided to take it despite this review. It will be basically a shopping experience. You will make a better use of your time by exploring the city of Oaxaca.
    A wonderful look into the Oaxacan Valley.
    Joe_M, Jan 2022
    Our English speaking guide Angel was wonderful. In Mitla Angel did a great job describing thr history and charcter of the palace, etc. He's a great guide! The stops were perfect in timing but it was a long day.
    Hierve el Agua 2021
    Emilia_P, Nov 2021
    The view was breathtaking. We had a tour guide from Hierve el Agua who was very friendly and knowledgeable. He made sure we were safe and showed us the best spots to take pictures. Highly recommend place to visit. The only thing I did not appreciate was that our trip included transportation from n back to our hotel. We were picked up from our hotel but dropped off at the social. It was dark and it took us a while to figure out where to grab a taxi back to our hotel. But other than that the day trip was very good
    I Recommend it
    Daniel_F, Apr 2022
    The van was new and clean. The first stop is the tree, which is in a small village near the church. Not much to do there. Then you to a carpet shop, where they give a good explanation of the whole process. Mitla is quite small, but still interesting. I tried “nieve de albahaca “ and it was amazing, because of flavor and of course as a relief for the heat. The lunch doesn’t allow many options of food and it is in a designated restaurant. It was ok I guess. Hierve el agua follows after and adventurous road. Guides are offered but I don’t think they were necessary ( I met some of my van colleagues in the same places I went by myself). Go to the right side first, and swim later The mezcal “tour” is very fast . It helps if you have learnt something already from mezcalerias of Oaxaca
    Great experience but too long with the Mezcal stop.
    Raphael_W, Feb 2022
    huerve e agua was incredible journey, up a dusty mountain road to an Oasis in the sky. Long trip but worth the effort. Could have left off the Mezcal stop as it was all in Spanish with no interpreter. We’ll organized and recommend highly
    Very well organised
    Jesse_M, Jan 2022
    Long but very well done trip including mitla and all the other sites. Better than all the other tours i saw because we did literally everything and on time.
    Tour is ok, but you pay the fees again
    Anonymous, Dec 2021
    Hotel pickup offered, all sites visited, guide is good. Be careful, the guide collected the entrance fees on bus as well. If you book this tour, you pay the fees twice: Mitla entrance fee 75, Hierve de Agua 75 pesos. (Tule tree is 20, not included in price as indicated by booking)
    Response from Host, Dec 2021
    Hello there ! I’m sorry to hear that and the inconveniences that’s this cause , , that’s a mistake of our part , please share your information like date , name and if possible tour driver and tour guide and we will sprovide a refund on Admitions fees WhatsApp +52 9511696242 Miguel
    Definitely go to the destinations but plan your own trip
    Rebecca_P, Sep 2022
    At Tule Tree we met up with a guide who I assumed would tour us the rest of the experience, but we never saw him again after Teotitlan del Valle. Tule Tree is a short visit but definitely worth the stop, and traditional rug making/dying was enlightening. I wasn't sure whether Mitla was going to happen due to COVID restrictions (the title of the experience explicitly mentions it but deep within the text it mentions no Mitla excursions on Mondays and Tuesdays August 2022- we did our experience late September 2022) so that was disappointing but not unexpected. We asked for a guide that spoke English at Hierve el Agua but was maybe talked to in English one or two times. We stayed at the spring for maybe 30 minutes, not 2 hours. We were then bussed to the worst food I've had in Mexico, a lukewarm buffet that was over $200 pesos/person with no other choice. I would definitely recommend packing your own lunch. The most disappointing part was the very end, the mezcal distillery. The details mention tasting over 40 flavors and our first tour guide mentioned tasting over 25 mezcals, but when we got there we were just walked around the small demonstration courtyard and given the smallest samples of 4 mezcals. We were then bussed back to Centro and was asked to walk rest of the way to our hotel. I think the sites were incredible and worth seeing, but considering you still have to provide your own entrance fee and lack of guidance, I would plan your own excursion!
    El mejor viaje
    Francisca_V, Jul 2022
    Super el transporte, el guía y los lugares que visitamos. Muy puntuales para recoger en el hotel y los talleres y lugares que fuimos y comimos excelente
    Find a local or rent a car and check these places out yourself
    Tracy_R, Mar 2020
    Everything was incredibly rushed. For the tule tree don’t bother getting a tour. It’s about 10 minutes outside of the city center in a park not in the wild like one would thing. Lunch option was one buffet and everywhere they gave like a maximum of one hour and at hierva del agua it was hardly enough time to make it up and down. I maybe had 5 minutes to swim. I’m Mitla, I think we had about 20 minutes of free time. Also, if you do decide to buy this tour, hostels and locals offer it at what equals to $7 US instead of the $24-$30 on Viator.


    Product code: 195640P4