Search for "Paris" or "Colosseum"
Book online or call: (888) 651-9785

Monreale And Cefalù Half Day Excursion

Palermo, Italy

From $70.92

Select Date and Travelers

Non-refundable
You will not receive a refund if you cancel.
  • 6 hours (approx.)
  • Hotel pickup offered
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English

Overview

Spend time exploring the glorious Duomo of Monreale, Cathedral and Cloister and the Medieval town of Cefalù during this half-day trip from Palermo. Travel to Monreale for a 1-hour Duomo tour. Next, travel to charming Cefalù for a tour that includes the Duomo, Medieval lavatory, Mandralisca Museum and more.
  • Half-daytour from Palermo to Monreale and Cefalù
  • Travelon to charming Cefalù
  • Tour the Medieval village, including the Mandralisca Museum, Medieval lavatory and more

What's Included

  • Driver
  • Port pickup and drop-off
  • Transport by air-conditioned minivan
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off (selected hotels only)
  • Food and drinks
  • Lunch
  • Gratuities
  • Guide
  • Entrances

Departure & Return

This operator has two meet-up options available. You can either meet at the departure point below or select a location for pick-up.

Departure Point

  • Palermo, Palermo, Palermo, Province of Palermo, Sicily

    In Front of the restaurant 59 in piazza verdi 59

Pickup Details

Possible departure locations
View departure locations

Departure Time

08:30 a.m.

Return Details

This activity will end right where it started.

What To Expect

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received within 48 hours of booking, subject to availability
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 40 travelers
Operated by Tour Transfer Sicily

Cancellation Policy

This experience is non-refundable and cannot be changed for any reason. If you cancel or ask for an amendment, the amount you paid will not be refunded.

  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

about cancellations

Traveler Photos

See more

Traveler Tips


Worth a trip but would recommend a new van and driver We didn’t tip due to the rushed uncomfortable journey Both places however worth visiting
This tour was not a guided tour - only transport was provided with driver advising when and where to return to the vehicle.
Reviews
4.0
40 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
0
0
0
0
0
Reviews by Viator travelers
Showing 1-10 of 40 reviews
Amazing, perfect, a dream. And a great host/driver, Michael!
Lisa_B, May 2022
This trip was life changing for me and my friend. We came to Sicily without a car and without having been to Sicily before. So we relied either on transport or these services. Thinking this could have been just a meh to-and-from, we signed up...but WOW. Our driver and host, Michael, was amazingly kind, generous, and thoughtful. He drove us to out sites, explained what we needed to know, gave us history, and even bought us a box of delicious snacks. He was funny, polite, and made sure our trip was magical. Such a nice guy, as was his colleague (who transported another van of people). Also, he spoke like 5 languages! Cefalu was simply incredible. We recommend dining on the sea, getting lost in the alleys, and getting to the church before 3 when it closes. Monreale was so special and worth the walk to the rooftop. The vista was spectacular. The day wasn't too long, and the drives are ALWAYS gorgeous along the coast or through plush greenery. A divine experience. I'm a seasoned traveler, so I am picky....but this was special. Thank you, Michael!
Great Value. Great Tour
James_P, Apr 2022
Great value tour. This tour is just transportation to two different towns with free time at each. Having a driver get you around In Palermo is a must since they know how to navigate the narrow roads. There were a total of 6 persons on the tour and they used a nice van. The best advise of the day : the entry to the churches is free. They do have ticket stands; but this is only if you want access to the non-public areas (towers). The first stop was Monreale, where we had about 1.5 hours to visit the cathedral and stroll the town. Great long distance views back to Palermo. The 2nd stop was Cefalu where we had a bit over 2 hours. We were dropped off at the beach boardwalk and we walked thru the town. The Cefalu cathedral was quite a ways “uphill”, but worth the walk. We found a wine+tapas bar right along the water and enjoyed wine and cheese from a cave like nook in the old city wall. We did not feel rushed. Great tour.
Wonderful trip
Stella_I, Oct 2021
We had a very good time with Marco. He is very knowledgable and entertaining guide. It was very nice lay back experience and we had more than enough time to explore old city centres in both cities. Thank you.
A great day.
Eva_P, Sep 2021
Very beautiful..we loved Cefalù…and Michael was fantastic. Very thorough and explained well… The trip was all I imagined and even more. This was also thanks to Michael.
Joshua is the best!!!
Mark_R, Aug 2021
Our driver, Joshua was terrific. In Monreale he has awaiting us a taste of the local bread in virgin olive oil. We had traffic on the way to Cefalu but Joshua took side roads and avoided all the traffic. Great guide and better driver my wife and I feel fortunate to have him. Beautiful Norman church’s. They absolutely rival Ravenna.
Good way to see Monreale and Cefalu
CarrolL43, Nov 2019
Because of the heavy rain on the day of the tour, I was especially happy to be picked up and dropped off at my hotel. Michael, the operator was very courteous, knowledgeable and ON TIME. This is not a guided tour. He basically takes you to the site and tells you where to go and what time to be back. While driving he answered all questions cheerfully and overall had friendly demeanor.
Not a guided tour but worth a visit
327sharynf, Oct 2019
Both Monreale and Cefalu are well worth a visit with the Monreale Cathedral and Cefalu seaside location. This tour was not a guided tour - only transport was provided with driver advising when and where to return to the vehicle. No maps were provided or details of the sights to be visited thus it was a bit of pot luck what you got to see
Great tour
leegall, Oct 2019
We were picked up right on time. Given great information. The Monreale Cathedral is amazing and worth a visit. We were given time in Cefalu to explore and have lunch. Then delivered back to our apartment. Well worth the tour.
Monreale and Cefalu
Exploration825612, Oct 2019
Tried calling number of times to re confirm tour their answering machine was always full even on the day. The did not show up at meeting point or advise me of why called Viator same problem they also could get hold of the operator Not happy with this operator will not use them again. Not reliable company Refund due Will not use this operator
1 traveler found this review helpful
Must see!
pksl0pegirl, Sep 2019
Well worth it. So glad we took this tour. The driver was friendly and informative! We definitely recommend taking this tour. Monreale is amazing! Cefalù is so beautiful!
Enjoyable
915LizaJ, Sep 2019
Collected from hotel in Palermo Two other couples collected Mini bus ride was uncomfortable and seemed to lack suspension Monreale beautiful,had approx 1hr there Another bumpy uncomfortable drive to Cefalù then 2hrs to explore Cefalù. We visited the catherdral Lots of restaurant trying to get your attention. Worth a trip but would recommend a new van and driver We didn’t tip due to the rushed uncomfortable journey Both places however worth visiting
Not worth the money and did not feel safe
Donna_C, Aug 2019
The driver was rude and did not speak English or even try to engage with us. He was not welcoming and the opposite of the friendliness of others in Palermo. He vaped and texted while driving. Did not receive any kind of information or guidance. Would have been a lot cheaper and better to have done the trip on our own.
Response from Host, Aug 2019
Hi Madame , I'm the driver, I don't vape or text when I drive so please , if you didn't like this tour , don't lie .
Great tour outside Palermo
esther_s, May 2019
This was an excellent tour that gave us the opportunity to visit the Cathedral at Monreale and the seaside town of Cefalu. After a brief orientation at Monreale we were given ample time to explore the cathedral and the cloisters on our own. Cefalu is a charming seaside town - we were also oriented and given time on our own to explore and eat lunch. There were many restaurant options many with sea views. It was a 1/2 day in length which gave us remaining time in the day to explore Palermo. We would definitely recommend the tour to others. The tour guide promptly picked us up at our hotel and was an excellent host with lots of information about our tour sites, Palermo and Sicily.
Tour leader was waiting for us in...
Joseph_P, May 2018
Tour leader was waiting for us in the morning. He did his utmost to please all those who joined the tour. Both Monreale and Cefalu are interesting places and worth a visit. Michael, the tour leader is capable at explaining and providing details on the sites.
1 traveler found this review helpful
This tour was great! Mikail(Michael...
Carmen L, Apr 2018
This tour was great! Mikail(Michael) was an excellent driver and enjoyed his tidbits of information along our drive! Mionreale and Cefalù are very amazing places to see! The Cathedral in Monreale was spectacular and lunch by the sea in cefalu was awesome
Monreale is an amazing place. The...
Joyce C, Apr 2018
Monreale is an amazing place. The mosaics in the cathedral are outstanding...so worth the trip up there. Cefalu is a delightful seaside town. Had fun just walking around the lanes and into the little shops. Michael was our driver/guide and I couldn't be happier with his services. He went out of his way to pick me up when traffic caused me to miss the original pickup time. I'm so grateful that he was able to accommodate me. This is what customer service is all about!
Our tour was this past week, Mid...
coluccio, Oct 2017
Our tour was this past week, Mid October 2017, from Palermo with Michael. We had the additional luxury of being a small group in a van rather than a large group in a bus. Michael was very knowledgeable, considerate, and professional. He gave us plenty of information in English, Italian and German! about Monreale and Cefalu and answered all our questions courteously. The amount of time that we had was adequate in both cases to see the highlights of either Monreale or Cefalu....and to stop off to taste the reportedly best arancini in the area. I highly recommend this tour. Although both places are accessible by train from Palermo, it is worth the extra money to be picked up at your hotel, dropped off right where you need to be in Monreale or Cefalu, and to have an expert like MIchael at your disposal throughout the tour.
Our driver was professional and...
Gail_P, Oct 2017
Our driver was professional and friendly. Monreale was amazing, and Cefalu was interesting, but crammed with tourists--it is a vacation/beach town for locals as well--the town was pleasant, but other than walking the streets and eating at a local restaurant, there was really not that much to do in Cefalu.
Michael Thur was our amazing driver...
Lisa G, Sep 2017
Michael Thur was our amazing driver. We were very fortunate that he was also an excellent guide. There were only 9 of us so it was a cozy tour not a coach bus, thank goodness. Michael gave us an excellent overview of all that we were seeing as we drove to Monreale ad explained what we about to see there. It is so beautiful. Michael again engaged us in delightful conversation about everything around us and so much more about Sicily itself on the way to and from Cefalu. He even made restaurant reservations for us or that evening! My husband lost his cell phone in Cefalu and Michael went out of his way to help us find it. He had been giving tours in Spanish the day before and switched over to English effortlessly. Michael was on time, gave us extra time, and returned us to our hotel. How he drove through the traffic of Palermo I'll never understand. And I live in Los Angeles where we think the traffic is bad! I should add the price was terrific. Many thanks.
This tour is not very exciting...
Wimala B, Sep 2017
This tour is not very exciting. Cefalu beach is super crowded, very touristic, nothing special. Monreale is just ok. The tour Leader is the driver, He didn't stay with us the whole time explaining.

Questions?

Product code: 16744P5