Recent Searches
Clear
icon_solid_phone
Book online or call: (888) 651-9785(888) 651-9785

To limit the spread of the coronavirus, attractions may be closed or have partial closures. Please consult government travel advisories before booking. The WHO is closely monitoring the coronavirus and more information can be found here.

Reserve Now & Pay Later

Full-Day Catalina Island Scuba Diving Tour from La Romana

star-3.5
|
Punta Cana, Caribbean
icon_solid_phone
Book online or call: (888) 651-9785(888) 651-9785

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults
Reserve Now & Pay Later
Secure your spot while staying flexible
Free Cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance
Loading available options...


icon9 hours  (Approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 3 more

Overview

Catalina Island is one of the most popular spots for scuba diving in the Dominican Republic and this full-day tour from La Romana is ideal for certified divers. Set sail aboard a catamaran, enjoy two thrilling scuba dives at ‘The Wall’ and ‘The Aquarium’; then swim and snorkel on one of the island’s private beaches and tuck into a delicious BBQ lunch. Hotel pickup and drop-off is included.
  • Full-day Catalina Island scuba diving experience from La Romana
  • Cruise around Catalina Island on a catamaran
  • Enjoy two thrilling scuba dives led by a PADI-certified instructor
  • Visit two popular dive sites – The Wall and The Aquarium
  • Tuck into a delicious BBQ lunch and enjoy unlimited drinks
  • Swim, snorkel, and sunbathe at a private beach
  • Tour suitable for participants with dive certification only
  • Great-value tour includes hotel pickup, lunch, and all activities
Your scuba diving adventure begins with morning pickup from your La Romana hotel. Accompanied by a team of PADI-certified dive masters, set sail aboard a fully equipped catamaran, enjoying spectacular views across the Caribbean.

The first stop of the day is ‘The Wall’, a popular dive site off the east coast of Catalina Island, with depths from ranging from 5 meters (16 feet) to 40+ meters (131+ feet). After listening to the safety briefing and getting suited up in your dive gear (all equipment is provided), enjoy just under an hour to explore the underwater wonders. Glide past dramatic vase sponges and colorful sea fan coral, and look out for exotic marine life including octopus, porcupine fish, moray eel, scorpion fish, southern stingray, blue parrotfish, lionfish, and sea horse.

Continue to the second dive site, 'The Aquarium', where you’ll have just under an hour to explore, with depths from 8 meters (26 feet) to 12+ meters (39+ feet). As you probably guessed from the name, the ‘Aquarium’ is renowned for its abundance of tropical fish and marine life, and you might spot tube worm, spiny lobster, sand star, frogfish, trumpet fish, barracuda, mackerel, and tiger moray eel.

After working up an appetite, head to a private beach on Catalina Island, where you’ll be served a delicious BBQ lunch, including fresh lobster (VIP package only), pork and chicken, accompanied by pasta salads and fresh tropical fruits.

Spend the rest of the afternoon swimming and sunbathing on the beach, where you can make the most of the open bar or go snorkeling (equipment provided) around the coast.

As you set out on the return cruise, get in the party mood with on-board music, entertainment, and refreshments. Arrive back in La Romana, where a driver will be waiting to take you back to your hotel.
Itinerary
Stop At:  
Catalina Island
You arrive at the marina, where you will be welcomed aboard for your Catalina Island snorkeling experience. We then set sail towards Catalina Island, where you will enjoy an hour of snorkeling to discover the true beauty of ‘The Wall’. You can expect clear turquoise waters, incredible visibility and an amazing underwater ecosystem. Once finished snorkeling we will set a course heading to the west side of Catalina Island. On arrival you will be taken by ‘Eileen’ (speed boat) to our beach on the island. Then our chef will be busy in the kitchen preparing an incredible Dominican lunch. You can expect to taste fresh lobster caught that morning (only available with our Premier VIP package), pork, chicken, salads, pasta and local fruits all prepared in a hygienic kitchen. We highly recommend you save space for the local fruits. After lunch you get to enjoy some free time to Snorkel or just relax and enjoy the beach. At around 3pm, Our speed boat, ‘Eileen’ will ferry you to our catamaran ‘Paradise’. We will set a course for the marina, where you bus will be waiting to take you back to your hotel.
Duration: 9 hours 
Admission Ticket Included
Stop At:  
Passion Paradise Adventures
You arrive at the marina, where you will be welcomed aboard for your Catalina Island snorkeling experience. We then set sail towards Catalina Island, where you will enjoy an hour of snorkeling to discover the true beauty of ‘The Wall’. You can expect clear turquoise waters, incredible visibility and an amazing underwater ecosystem. Once finished snorkeling we will set a course heading to the west side of Catalina Island. On arrival you will be taken by ‘Eileen’ (speed boat) to our beach on the island. Then our chef will be busy in the kitchen preparing an incredible Dominican lunch. You can expect to taste fresh lobster caught that morning (only available with our Premier VIP package), pork, chicken, salads, pasta and local fruits all prepared in a hygienic kitchen. We highly recommend you save space for the local fruits. After lunch you get to enjoy some free time to Snorkel or just relax and enjoy the beach. At around 3pm, Our speed boat, ‘Eileen’ will ferry you to our catamaran ‘Paradise’. We will set a course for the marina, where you bus will be waiting to take you back to your hotel.
Duration: 9 hours 
Admission Ticket Included

Reviews

3.5
star-3.5
7 Reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star
Reviews by Viator travelers
star-5
Scuba dive at Catalina Island
jenmike95
, Feb 2020
I booked through trip advisor instead of our resort and after visiting with other guests I’m glad I did. We Stayed at the Casa de Campo and a bus from Passion Paradise Adventure arrived on time to pick me up. My drive to the boat was maybe 10 minutes. (Booking from Casa de Campo would have been about an our over to the dive shop, then an hour back to the boat.) The price at my resort was cheaper, but the taxi was not included and would have been another $45. So in the end I spent less and spent less time driving around. We were on a boat with snorkelers too but that was no problem. We had dedicated crew for our dive and for my group the dive instructor was Edwar. Super nice guy and he took very good care of us. Each Dive lasted about 45 minutes and the sea life and plants were very good. Saw my first Eagle Ray up close. The beer on the boat was cold, and included (nothing before the dive of course!!) The lunch at Catalina Island was good and provided lots of opportunity for beach time or shade (nice after all of the boat time in the sun) All in all. I’m very pleased.
star-2
Disorganized and dangerous
Companion689954
, Jan 2020
We had booked a dive trip with Passion Paradise. Although the pick-up location was specified when booking, no one came for pick-up. Plus $ 4 per person for a taxi. If you hadn't gone there yourself, money would probably have been gone. Then the boats were loaded for 1 hour on arrival and you had to wait. There were many boats at the dive sites. We had to dive with very inexperienced divers in a very large group (9 people) with only one instructor. It is irresponsible. The dive was messy and ineffective. The diving area and the island were nice, drinks and food average.
icon Response from Host , Jan 2020
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to review our excursion to Catalina Island, your feedback is valued in helping us to improve the way we run our excursions. Firstly, I like to state that our instructors alway's does a license check before any dive. If Clients are mixed certificate we always have 2 instructors on site. Groups are organized by qualifications, they are never mixed. Secondly, Your pick up location was at the cruise liner, We are not permitted to enter in the port, the regulations at the cruiser is extremely strict. For this reason we informed you of our location and the costing prior to your excursion. We provided a return bus back in the afternoon. Thirdly, All groups come from different location on the island , some 5 minutes away and others 2 hours away. cruiser line is only located 5 minutes we also state that clients need to be there at 9:30 am this day you where there at 9:10 am. We thank you for your feedback and aim to use this to help provide a better service.
star-1
Nice dives but transportation killed the whole experience
Rodolphe D
, Oct 2019
The diving center answered quickly and efficiently to my questions. Dive site is nice but I could have wished that they had organised the dive by levels so I had ended up with new beginners. Well the site was so nice that I did not give much care about it. I ended doing my dive slightly away from the group. Diving site should absolutely do a licence check... The worst was transportation back to the hotel... And it killed the whole experience. Transport picked up drunk tourist and one got sick. It took me 3 hours to drive me back to hotel
icon Response from Host , Nov 2019
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to review our excursion to Catalina Island, your feedback is valued in helping us to improve the way we run our excursions. Firstly, I like to state that our instructors alway's does a license check before any dive. If Clients are mixed certificate we always have 2 instructors on site. Groups are organized by qualifications. Secondly, On return to the hotel the client that was sick was not drunk they had motion sickness and was extremely sick, we apologies that you experienced this , however this was out of our control. Thirdly, Transfer to and from Hotel can be anything up to two and half hours because of the location of the hotel. We are trying to minimize the time spent in the bus by providing a meeting point where there is a change of bus to directly take you back to your hotel, rather than waiting. Many thanks
star-2
Non Responsable diving center
Tomaz C
, Jan 2019
The departure from marina LA ROMANA to ISLA CATALINA was delaied for 30 min without any explaining or diving operator information. It was planty of time to get a lot of info and to make all checks required..The diving masters from the PASSION PARADISE ADVENTURES did not demand the divers to present their diving lycence, so there were some participents introducing thamselves as licenced divers, but admited once in the water, to be on their first dive. It was a real problem to the whole group, when it became obvious that divers are with no dive experisnces at all, and diving with the others open diving licenced divers...The diving masters did not make groups with more or less same level of skils..There were only 2 dive masters for more than 20 divers, which is absolutly not enaygh.. I belive the diving center should act more responsable in providing all the divers good conditions for diving, which means the skilled divers should not have to sacrifice their dive time due to being pushed into the problems under water with the non skilled divers..I expected a lot from the diveing in ISLA CATALINA, but this kind of organization can realy deminish the chance to enjoy diveing in the beautiful underwater world..

Reserve Now & Pay Later
Secure your must-do activities without being locked in
Product code: 18359P6

Explore Similar Things to Do