Search for "Paris" or "Colosseum"
Book online or call: (888) 651-9785

Full-Day Catalina Island Snorkeling Tour from Punta Cana

Punta Cana, Caribbean

From $80.00

Select Date and Travelers

Reserve Now & Pay Later
Secure your spot while staying flexible
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 9 hours (approx.)
  • Hotel pickup offered
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English
  • Good for avoiding crowds

Overview

Cruise along the coast of the Dominican Republic to Catalina Island aboard the 'Paradise'. During this full-day tour led by PADI-certified divers, relax on Catalina Island's beaches and explore 'the Wall', the area's famous snorkeling site. Go ashore to enjoy an authentic Dominican lunch prepared beachside. Round-trip transportation from Punta Cana and Bavaro hotels is provided.
  • Cruise along the coast of the Dominican Republic to Catalina Island aboard 'Paradise'
  • Enjoy expert guidance PADI-certified diver guides
  • Relax, enjoy the beaches and explore 'the Wall', the island's famous snorkeling site
  • Go ashore to enjoy an authentic Dominican lunch prepared beachside

What's Included

  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
  • Moto Catamaran ride
  • Access to beach on Catalina Island
  • National Park fee to Catalina Island
  • Guide
  • Use of snorkeling equipment
  • BBQ lunch
  • Unlimited drinks (alcoholic drinks served on beach and return boat trip | non-alcoholic drinks served through the day)
  • Beach lounger
  • Gratuities
  • Souvenir photos (available to purchase)
  • Specialty beers (available to purchase)
  • Snacks (available to purchase)

Departure & Return

Departure Point

Possible departure locations
View departure locations

Departure Time

9:30 AM

Please Note

We pick up from all Hotels, villas and condors. please state the name of the hotel your staying in.

What To Expect

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Not recommended for pregnant travelers
  • Pickup time will be confirmed after booking, However all clients are advised to call prior to there excursion to confirm pick up
  • Please note that there are no refunds for cancellations of less than 24 hours notice, or if you do not show up at the pickup point at the specified time
  • Passengers with disabilities can be accommodated; please contact local tour operator to make all necessary arrangements
  • It is recommended that you bring a bathing suit, sunblock, sunglasses, comfortable shoes, and cash for any additional purchases
  • Minimum drinking age is 18 years
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Transportation is wheelchair accessible
  • Not recommended for travelers with back problems
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 50 travelers
Operated by Passion Paradise Adventures

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

about cancellations

Frequently Asked Questions

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.

Q:What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Full-Day Catalina Island Snorkeling Tour from Punta Cana?

A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:
  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Face masks provided for travelers
  • Temperature checks for travelers upon arrival

Q:What is the policy on sanitization during Full-Day Catalina Island Snorkeling Tour from Punta Cana?

A:The policies on sanitization are:
  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized

Q:What is the social distancing policy during Full-Day Catalina Island Snorkeling Tour from Punta Cana?

A:The policy on social distancing is:
  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience

Q:What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Full-Day Catalina Island Snorkeling Tour from Punta Cana?

A:The policies on staff health & safety are:
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands

Traveler Photos

See more

Traveler Tips


the trip to the Island was long but worth it.
Reviews
4.0
145 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
0
0
0
0
0
Reviews by Viator travelers
Showing 1-10 of 145 reviews
A lot of misinformation in the add.
Anastasia_K, Jun 2022
Advertised tour from Punta Cana with departure time from La Romana. We would not book the tour if we knew we would have to leave hotel by 7:20am (2+hr yearlier than advertised departure time). We had 3 year old in a group and one of the adults had to stay behind and waste the ticket. Contacted them for refund, will not work with us. Also VIP add on is a complete scam. We got the same horrible transportation (2.5-3 hr. each way, when it should have taken only 1.5hr if logistics were better like with some other companies), same food as everyone, and loungers on the beach. We got everything as everybody else but paid $30 more per ticket! I am protesting all extra charges and 1 ticket with Viator. That beign said the trip in itself was a lot of fun. Just wish they would advertise tour properly. Would not repeat it because of the horrible transportation logistics.
Isla Catalina
JosRene_C, May 2022
We have a real good time, the snorkeling part was long, giving time to enjoy the fish. The island was good not the best. The food was not too organized but the the flavor was good. Those piña colada excellent especially with Rum.
Snorkeling at Isla Catalina
Howard_B, May 2022
Wife and I love snorkeling. This snorkeling experience was good and I recommend the reef beside Isla Catalina as a good spot. Hotel pickup on time, but somewhat chaotic. First driver took us to another vehicle. That driver took us to a third vehicle which transported us to marina with no problems. Recommend you confirm pickup time with Tour operator day before. FYI. No alcohol on trip to Catalina before snorkeling. Which was fine for us. Boat anchored over reef for one hour. Re: beach. Food good and timely. Alcohol limited to rum and soda before food served. Beer offerred once food serve.
1 traveler found this review helpful
Awesome experiance with...
LouAnne_D, May 2022
Awesome experiance with awesome guides. If you get Oscar and Ruddy, you in the best hands. Thumbs up !
Worst trip in the world
Marius_V, May 2022
Dont buy it! Its cheat you at every corner, terrible trip, at island you spend only 2 hours and not allowed walk everywhere, guides not explain rules just trying get your money
1 traveler found this review helpful
I’m giving this a 2 star...
Lacey_S, Apr 2022
I’m giving this a 2 star rating because the actual island was beautiful and relaxing. However, what was supposed to be an approximate 9 hour day turned into a 12 hour day. the transportation to and from the hotel took 3 hours each way (so 6 hours out of the day) because they make multiple stops. We pulled into a random KFC parking lot where they had people switch buses without any explanation aside from asking what excursion they were going on. We also paid for the VIP package, none of which was provided.
1 traveler found this review helpful
Okay - can be better !
Sumit_K, Mar 2022
This trip started from our hotel in Punta kana. Like all the other trips the people who are picking folks from the all-inclusive resorts and the people who are actually driving you to the excursion are different. On the way to the attraction they will stop at a souvenir shop in that souvenir shop is the most expensive shop in the world. (Everything is 10X) - I would recommend to bring everything from the hotel rather than buying anything from this shop. The driver was great. The trip started with a boat ride to the snorkeling spot. Please be aware that this is not a guided snorkelling trip, instead the operators will give you equipment (which may not be sanitised) and will tell you to jump in the water. If this is you first Time snorkelling, you are on your own. There is Assume that everybody already knows how to snorkel. Overall it was an okay experience. The reef and fish were a few. I guess I am comparing it with the snorkelling trip we did in Porto Rico which was 10 times better than this. Then we reached the Catalina Island and that island is amazing the beach is Rocky so please carry the water shoes. The beach at our hotel was better than this beach. The food was great. And it was an okay day spent.
Waiting around and disorganised and group to big
Patrick_N, Feb 2022
The trip was very disorganised. We swapped from one coach that picked us up from our hotel into another one, which we had to wait 45 mins at a gas station for. Then drove 20 mins out of the way to an overpriced souvenir shop. The boat was very cramped. We had to wait a further 30 mins for a smaller boat to take us onto the island. Out of a 9 hour trip we only got two spend 2 hours on the island. There was also a lady smoking next to the gas canisters and the staff didn’t seem to bother. I would not recommend this tour. We were on another tour and there organisation wasn’t much better.
1 traveler found this review helpful
An amazing day - don't miss out!
Julia_P, Feb 2022
A super day - excellent value for money, amazing to see the coral reef beds and sooooo many brightly coloured fish - definately an outing not to be missed.
1 traveler found this review helpful
Fun and relax
Joseph_D, Jan 2022
I enjoy snorkeling and spending half a day in the beach. The ocean was crystal clear. But the beach has rocks on it.
1 traveler found this review helpful
Very dissatified
A_T, Nov 2021
The staff on the boat and island were excellent, management support was less than UN acceptable. Our paper work listed the departure time as 9:30, we received a call at 8:30 telling us we had 5 min to meet the bus or it would leave without us. Did not start the day well. We had one more adventure scheduled with you but cancelled it this morning. Neither of us will use your company in the future.
2 travelers found this review helpful
Great island. Unorganized company.
Ashton_C, Sep 2021
Hoping to sum it all up in one review so that someone can read one and make their decision. For starters, the tour is a little over 11 hours. Not 9 like advertised. I wish we had known this from the start. We were picked up from the lobby at 7 am in a van, then stopped at about 3 or 4 other resorts to pick other families up (which is normal for an excursion). However, we then pull into a random gas station parking lot and they make some of us get out and into a different van, then other people take our place in the first van. No warning. No explanation. Just made us play musical chairs. Then we drive a while and pull into some type of market. The driver gets out, and doesn’t come back for about 15 minutes. Just a van full of people sitting there confused. Then we’re on our way to the boat. By the time we arrive at the boat it’s about 10 am, maybe 945. So it’s been almost 3 hours since we’ve been picked up and we spent all 3 hours in a van.. Then we get onto a boat where other people are already on and sit there another 30-45 minutes waiting for them to pack us in like sardines onto the boat. We take off and head for the island. They stop in the middle of the ocean to let us snorkel but it was dark, murky water. Not the “beautiful coral reefs” that were advertised. I get that it’s hard to always see stuff snorkeling but the other boats a little bit away from us had better luck. We were also rushed. By the time we jumped in they were telling us to get out. The island itself was very nice. Beautiful clear water, lots of fish to see if you snorkeled by the shore. There is a little souvenir hut on the island. They do not haggle you. The only time we felt haggled was the guy trying to sell us lobster lunch or the ladies who were doing massages. You get “open bar” and lunch. The bar was premixed rum and Coke’s or rum and sprite. If you wanted pina colada it cost money. We asked for beers but they told us we couldn’t have any until after 1pm. Also, make sure you eat before or bring snacks because lunch wasn’t served until 130. In my opinion, I would’ve rather paid a little extra to have a bigger boat with a more intimate experience. This felt money hungry. They tried to squeeze as many people as they could onto the boats to the point is was uncomfortable. Also, I wish we knew some Spanish. We know basics and enough to be polite. However, the staff on the boat straight ignored us multiple times when we had questions or were trying to communicate because we only spoke English. We both know we need to learn Spanish and plan to before traveling more. I just wish we weren’t dismissed when we had questions. The tour ended with a boat ride back and the tour guide coming around jingling the tip jar at everyone for money. We tipped but had no interaction with staff at any point due to being dismissed. A beautiful island worth seeing but I’d recommend going with a different company and doing more research
2 travelers found this review helpful
Bus never showed up
David_P, Aug 2021
The bus did not pick us up. We waited 1h total, we had to contacted the tour operator (they did not take the initiative and poorly assisted us), the bus was parked outside the hotel far away while all other buses were coming. The reception allowed the bus to come in but they decided not to pick us up and went away. We lost the trip on our last day of vacations. Advise not to choose this tour operator if you want to do this trip. We got the full refund at least.
slow start & finish, but fun nonetheless!
Kathleen_S, Jul 2021
it was a fun experience once we got moving ... the day started with sitting on the boat waiting for groups for almost an hour. and then, after lunch and enjoying the island, we were given the 10-minute warning, only to wait over 35 minutes for them to start loading the boat to return. it was definitely a cool experience and awesome to snorkel and see the wildlife, just wish there was a little less "waiting around"
1 traveler found this review helpful
CAUTION! Don't expect everything promised!!!
Adam_F, Jul 2021
BEWARE!!! "Unlimited alcoholic drinks on the beach and the boat trip back" is a LIE. What they mean is "Sangria is offered on the beach untill we run out and ZERO drinks on the boat trip back". I have contacted viator multiple times for a partial refund but they refused my request. Also be aware they cram about 50 people on a boat that maybe could hold 35 comfortably. When it came time for snorkeling the very unhelpful/unfriendly staff did not assist myself or my friend in getting the snokeling gear. After around 10 minutes of waiting for help I just grabbed my own. (From what was left) there was not enough snorkels for my friend and I so we only got flippers and goggles. I DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS TOUR TO ANYONE!!!
2 travelers found this review helpful
Scammers!220$ for vip package but never received😭
Anthony-B, May 2021
The worst experience we ever had in Dominican Republic. Me and my bf booked a VIP package for a private lounge with lobster lunch and we payd 220$ for Catalina Island trip(we did this before for Saona island 2 yrs ago and we had a beautiful experience with the same package) Such a rip-off!!!!!! We arrive there after changing 3 bus... and when finnaly arrive in Catalina island our private lounge and lobster was a HUGE LIE!!! Boiled potatoes,plane pasta,little salad ...We show our ticket to the staff for Vip lunch with lobster and private lounge and the employees had no ideea!!They sayd is not possible bcs they only have fish and no private lounge,no 🦞😂😱They cooked us a small fish telling us is a salmon..ha ha!Such a joke😡 Another lie... the fish sucked So in the end 220$ for what? We texted the Viator company to refund us the Vip package money but they never reply!!! Huge scam! Stay away... We Gonna charge our money back by our bank From Usa!! Shame on u Viator!!!!
Response from Host, May 2021
Dear Anthony, Thank you for taking the time to review our excursion to Catalina Island, your feedback is valued in helping us to improve the way we run our excursions. Firstly, I like to state that Saona island and Catalina Island are completely different Islands and offer different types of excisions and facilities. As a company we only operate to Catalina Island. There is no mention of Private Lounge for VIP , In the statement that is advertised in Viators it states, Private table!! Which was given to you on this day. Member of staff asked prior to departure if you would consider Fish or refund due to the Lobster season, clients responded that fish would be ok. Member of staff was informed that they didn't want the decorated table but would like a table private... which was given... Type of fish that was given was a whole salmon each.. the buffet on the beach consisted of, Mixed vegetable, Rice, Beans, Salad, Pasta Salad, Spaghetti, chicken on the bbq, Bread and fruit. We never received any calls or messages to Passion Paradise Adventure.. Many thanks
3 travelers found this review helpful
The Island is nice. The logistics are horrible. Getting to and from the docks largely ruin the experience.
Jeremiah_S, Apr 2021
I am about to share the most honest, straightforward review I can so that you are fully informed in making your decision. I am going to speak in regards to four things which consist of the following: Logistics, the island, lunch/drinks, and activities. First, the logistics were some of the worst I have EVER experienced. My wife and I have done a variety of excursions throughout the Caribbean and the logistics of this was by far the worst. First, we load into a mini van with 9 other people. As you can imagine, this is not comfortable and also somewhat awkward being so up close and personal with complete strangers. As such, with Covid still being an issue, this is certainly not ideal. We then proceed to a gas station where some people are asked to transfer to another van or bus and new people got on with us. From there we drive another hour to the location packed in like sardines. Upon our arrival, we sat on the catamaran for about 40 minutes which was again due to poor planning. Once we finally left, we arrived to the island where the crew was not at all prepared for anything regarding food or drinks. Once the food/drinks finally arrived to the island, they began serving drinks in the not so open bar. These drinks were given in very small plastic cups which were literally about 3-4 drinks per cup. Therefore, you either had to stay at the bar area to keep having the guy refill your tiny cup with a selection of about 6 drinks (again, not so open bar) or you would have to walk back and forth every 5 minutes to get another drink. This was stupid as you can imagine. In regards to the food, I will say that it was surprisingly good. There was chicken, pork chops, spaghetti and other pasta, bread, rice & beans. This was a pretty good lunch all things considered. In regard to the activities, we were told we would be going to an area to snorkel and then to the island for lunch and swimming. The snorkeling was completely skipped and we instead went strait to the island to swim and eat lunch. We chose this largely due the snorkeling activity. My wife spoke with one of the staff, explaining to her that this was not what we had paid for or expected and she arranged for us and another family (who had also spoken up apparently) a secret trip in a small boat to an area away from the rest of the guests to snorkel. Had we not said something, we would not have had an opportunity to do the snorkeling part of the trip. I will give them credit for making it happen; however, the rest of the guests got screwed on this. They did stop on the way back for about 10 minutes in a very choppy area for everyone to snorkel if they wanted. It was not really feasible to do so for a couple of reasons. One, due to the rough water and two, we were already short on time which I imagine was largely due to poor planning/logistics. The island itself was nice yet nothing stood out to us about the island that we could not have experienced at the resort we were staying at already (Live Aqua). In the end, we gave up a relaxing day at the resort for a long/hectic day to and from Catalina Island. They definitely need to work on this as their current methods are a total cluster f**k. Lastly, I will say that our driver to the docks was a great guy. I cannot recall what his name was (Daniel maybe?). He was however a super nice guy and engaged in a lot of conversation with us in Spanish and English. He shared with us his dream of one day owning his own motor home which was really inspiring in regard to his willingness to work hard to achieve this dream. I truly hope this happens for him. He made the trip a little easier. Overall, I will give this experience a very liberal 3 stars. I can't say I would recommend it but I also would not say you should completely avoid it either. If you do choose to do this, go into it with a lot of patience and not super high expectations and you'll probably have a decent time.
3 travelers found this review helpful
1000% go to Catalina Island if you're in the DR!!
Matt_S, Jan 2021
This excursion was great! We got on the boat and cruised over to Catalina Island to snorkel first. The water was a bit rough but there was a lot of beautiful fish and coral to see. I've snorkeled a few places in the Caribbean and this place was right up there with the rest of them! Afterwards, we cruised over to the other side where we docked and hung out for the day. The first thing that peaked my interest was the massages. Let me tell you - ITS WORTH IT! The massage is better than most people here in the States and the cost was reasonable. The massage therapist I had was super sweet and very professional. I'd definitely go back two or ninety times. Beware the salesmen on the beach that'll lure you into their little shop. They tried to charge me $130 for two t-shirts and a cheap picture frame >:( The food on the island was really good - we got the lobster and it was delicious. The rum punch was really good, but it will hit you hard so beware. The water was gorgeous! A beautiful turquoise and crystal clear. The music was good, and the beach chairs were comfy. Hands down, would do this excursion again!
1 traveler found this review helpful
Poor planning
David_O, Oct 2020
I booked a month in advance the day prior of this tour they contacted me to reschedule, for the following day, that day came and the driver was late also stopped at a ATM and took 20 min by the time we got to to boat the boat already left I missed the first 30 min of snorkeling, won’t book again
Response from Host, Oct 2020
Hello Dave, Thank you for taking the time to review our excursion to Catalina Island, your feedback is valued in helping us to improve the way we run our excursions. Firstly, I would like to say that I think there must have been a misunderstanding with the reservations, as we have never left without all clients counted for on our boat. We do have sometimes have clients that would require to stop at the break point to go to the bathroom, however this doesn't effect the time of the Excussion. Many Thanks
1 traveler found this review helpful
Excursions Booked Through Viatar
James_W, Feb 2020
Hello. I want to express my concern with the four excursions that were booked during I stay at Punta Cana. I had to call the 1-829 number for every excursion to find out the location and pick up time which varied from the time provided in the email from Viator. This excursion were good but seemed disorganized mainly in the pick up of customers and the drop off after the excursion. I thought we would receive an email providing details of the pick up locations and times.
2 travelers found this review helpful
...

Questions?

Product code: 18359P1