Search for "Paris" or "Colosseum"
Book online or call: (888) 651-9785

Punta Cana Off-Road Dune Buggy Adventure and Amazing Water Cave

Badge of ExcellenceHigüey, Dominican Republic

From $59.90

Select Date and Travelers

Reserve Now & Pay Later
Secure your spot while staying flexible
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 4 hours (approx.)
  • Pickup from select hotels
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English
  • Good for avoiding crowds

Overview

Explore the highlights of Punta Cana in a thrilling half-day off-road dune buggy adventure. The caravan-style tour is perfect as a family outdoor adventure or introduction to the region for first-time visitors. Led by a guide, you’ll visit an organic farm to taste some Dominican coffee and chocolate, swim in a cenote, and pose at Macao Beach and Farallon to capture those timeless photographs to take home.
  • Enjoy a half-day Punta Cana off-road dune buggy adventure
  • Morning or afternoon departures, plus private or shared buggy options
  • Small-group tour ensures personalized attention
  • Professional guide to both assist and share insights about the area

What's Included

  • Round trip transportation
  • Chocolate and coffee tasting
  • Professional Photographer
  • Towels
  • Sunscreen, sunglasses, bandanas and other personal accessories
  • Professional pictures (available for purchase)
  • Gratuities for the crew and drivers

Departure & Return

This operator has two meet-up options available. You can either meet at the departure point below or select a location for pick-up.

Departure Point

  • Bavaro Racing, Tours Point, 23000, Dominican Republic

Pickup Details

Possible departure locations
View departure locations

Return Details

This activity will end right where it started.

Please Note

- If your hotel is not listed or you are staying at an Airbnb, we can arrange a nearby meeting point for pickup. - We can welcome you directly at the departure ranch if you choose to get there on your own. - Pickup time and details will be advised via email 72-24 hours before the excursion.

What To Expect

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Minimum age to drive is 18 years old
  • Minimum age to attend is 3 years old
  • Must be accompanied by an adult until 17 years of age
  • Customers who appear intoxicated may be refused service
  • Time spent at the beach is approximately 20 minutes
  • Time spent at the water cave is approximately 20 minutes
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Not recommended for travelers with back problems
  • Not recommended for pregnant travelers
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Water or close-toe shoes are required for safety precautions
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 60 travelers
Operated by Tour Package Punta Cana

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

about cancellations

Frequently Asked Questions

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.

Q:What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Punta Cana Off-Road Dune Buggy Adventure and Amazing Water Cave ?

A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:
  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas

Q:What is the policy on sanitization during Punta Cana Off-Road Dune Buggy Adventure and Amazing Water Cave ?

A:The policies on sanitization are:
  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use

Q:What is the social distancing policy during Punta Cana Off-Road Dune Buggy Adventure and Amazing Water Cave ?

A:The policy on social distancing is:
  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience

Q:What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Punta Cana Off-Road Dune Buggy Adventure and Amazing Water Cave ?

A:The policies on staff health & safety are:
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands

Traveler Photos

See more

Traveler Tips


Do not wear tennis shoes as they will get super dirty (crocs or water shoes are best
There was lots of driving through the muddy trails, be prepared to get dirty.
We had to purchase goggles (those of us who didn’t have glasses) and a mask (to put over our faces and protect us from all the dust).
Reviews
4.5
595 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
0
0
0
0
0
Reviews by Viator travelers
Showing 1-10 of 595 reviews
Dune buggies were all old...
Crystal_T, May 2022
Dune buggies were all old & broken. My brakes barely worked. The tour guide Charlie I rushed us every stop we made & was very rude about it. The other employees were very nice & it’s a shame the excursion could not have been better
Dirty Fun!
Shanique_L, May 2022
This was our first time. I had the time of my life. I didn't know I was going to be covered in mud head to toe. And that's alright. No bandana or scarf could prevent us from getting so muddy. It was a blast! Highly recommended.
Great experience! So much...
Earl_C, May 2022
Great experience! So much fun and the people were great 😊 would book another excursion through this group
I am 67 and my friend is...
LouAnne_D, May 2022
I am 67 and my friend is 64...... never too old to have a blast. guides were awesome! This is a must have excursion.
Muddy adventure
Louis_W, May 2022
Great time, the buggy experience was awesome. It was definitely fun , but you definitely want to wear clothes you don’t mind getting dirty because you get extremely muddy. Be prepared for mud in your face and everywhere else.
Nice Buggy ride and beach
Zoltn_P, May 2022
We had a great time. The Buggy tour was a super experience and the Macao beach was fantastic. The tour was in a bit hurry and the coffee and cocoa experience is basicly a shop where you get a product presentation in 5 min. The cave was too crowded. The tour guys were nice and organized well. Overall recommend them!
Excellent day
Craig_B, May 2022
Great experience with Luis as our guide, the buggy we had broke but we were quickly swapped onto a ATV to continue the tour . The water cave was brilliant as was the whole day and the photographers got some great pictures
Ride at your own risk
Denise_D, May 2022
The buggy tour was questionable starting the night before the tour. The tour company Rex Tours waited till midnight the night before our 10am pick up to send an email asking us to confirm we were going the next morning. Thank god I forgot to silence my phone or I would not haven’t gotten the notification of the email that I needed to respond to. When Rex Tours picked us up that morning, the truck they were commuting multiple passengers in had noticeable holes in the floor and rusted out completely all over. Rocks were flicking up from the road the whole commute over to the tour spot. When we arrived the one tour operator rep laughed and said that this time slot overbooked and we had to wait for the morning time slot to return because we did not have enough buggies. 40 minutes went by with no direction or apology. Finally Charlie our tour guide came and gave a “safety briefing” bragged how he almost drowned trying to save someone in the caves a previous time and that unless you know how to swim, don’t go in the caves because no one is here to save you as it’s over 25ft deep. He then went on to say if you drive too slow that will leave you behind. We go outside and they tell us to pick a buggy and sure enough these machines look straight out of the 70’s with rusted out parts and seat belts that don’t even fasten securely. We got into our buggy and had to figure out the instruments ourselves and had to strap ourselves in. No direction on how to use the machines and sure enough two ppl drove into the group infront of them as they did not know how to use the machine. We tried accelerating in ours and our machine was only doing one speed and our breaks kept jamming. This went on for the first half of the tour and what worse is local kids kept jumping out infront of our buggies trying to sell mangos and we were worried we were gonna hit them with faulty brakes. When we stopped for the coffee making shop we asked the reps to fix our buggy. We went to remove our stuff from the buggy and noticed our bag melted from the wiring. So bring very minimal items as there is no where to store your stuff. They did maintenance on the buggy and the brakes were better but the accelerator was still one speed. We got to the cenote caves and it was beautiful but we only got ten minutes there because again we were 40 minutes behind due to the tour operators inability to keep track of bookings. We then went to our last stop which was the beach. My seatbelt kept falling apart the whole ride to it. I finally gave up and left it off. When we arrived to the beach we had to park really far away. Which on the pictures it shows people taking pictures on the beach with the buggy. Not the case, you walk about ten minutes to get to this beach and you have just enough time to take a picture and wash off the mud to turn around and head back. Keep in mind the whole time your there, locals bombard you to buy souvenirs and food. Lastly, on my way back to the starting point, our buggy broke down and we had to sit and wait for the team to come get us. They swapped out buggies and sure enough the new buggies breaks weren’t working. Overall aside from getting heat stroke, covered in mud, my bag burnt and ruined, and just scared for my safety it was an alright tour. 10/10 would NOT recommend.
Response from Host, May 2022
Dear Customer. As for the call that we have made, it is when we see that the client does not see the messages sent and then we proceed to call. As for the safety belts, in many cases they are very muddy, which sometimes makes it difficult to fasten them, but all the same, we take all these comments into account and we are very grateful that you have expressed yourself in this way. We also regret everything that happened and apologize for the inconvenience caused. and it is that in the last days we have had too much water en route due to the constant torrential rains that have been happening. In these cases, we recommend ATVs more, because they are higher and have less chance of having problems during the tour. Thanks for this review.
GREAT Tour Ever
Roderick_D, May 2022
Lots of muddy water, best chicken on the beach.Charlie and Team took great care of us...The Best 👌🏾
Other options may be better
Shiera_L, Apr 2022
The experience was fun but could have been way better. The dune buggies they had all kept breaking, stopping, getting flat tires and it impacted the full experience. I really think most of the buggies should be replaced. The tour guide Charlie was amazing and did a great job at explaining what we were in for. Him and the other guys helped immediately anytime a buggy stopped for whatever reason. I liked that we made multiple stops to learn about the Dominican coffee and chocolate. The cave diving looked like a great experience but it was way too crowded. I didn’t feel comfortable because of all the people in line to go. Over all my group had fun but there’s a lot of things the tour operator can do to improve this excursion. I’d personally look into other options in the future.
1 traveler found this review helpful
...

Questions?

Product code: 19114P12