Search for "Paris" or "Colosseum"
Book online or call: (888) 651-9785

Magnificent Volcano Guided Hike Tour from Reykjavik

Badge of ExcellenceReykjavik, Iceland

From $99.90

Lowest Price Guarantee

Select Date and Travelers

Reserve Now & Pay Later
Secure your spot while staying flexible
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 6 hours (approx.)
  • Pickup from select hotels
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English

Overview

If you’ve ever wanted to witness Iceland’s newest volcano and its lava fields up close, then a visit to Iceland’s Fagradalsfjall eruption is a must. Join a small group and head to the lava field for a guided hike past fresh magma, feeling the heat coming off of the newly formed rock.
  • Experience the raw and rugged terrain of Iceland
  • Stay connected on the journey with onboard Wi-Fi
  • A small group means more attention from your guide

What's Included

  • Transfer to/from Reykjavik
  • Free WiFi on the Bus
  • Headlights (if needed)
  • Lunch

Meeting And Pickup

Pickup points

Select a pickup point
Type to search

Start time

09:00 AM

Pickup details

Pick up starts at 9am. Please allow us 30 mins to complete all pick ups! We have multiple pick ups, and cannot be in more than one place at the same time. If we have not reached you by 30 minutes past then call the number provided, not before. Please select a hotel or bus stop close to your accommodation from the drop-down list. Most inner-city hotels are unavailable due to local law. If your hotel is not listed choose a bus stop. There are various bus stops around the city. When choosing pick up from the drop-down menu look under "ports". Pick ups at individual addresses like airbnb's at random locations are not possible. You must also choose a specific pick up point close to your accommodation.

What To Expect

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Not recommended for travelers with back problems
  • Not recommended for pregnant travelers
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Not recommended for travelers who are not in good physical condition
  • Not for people with health conditions such as bad knees
  • Not for people with poor stamina or lung issues
  • Travelers should have a strong physical fitness level
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 19 travelers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

about cancellations.

Traveler Photos

See more

Traveler Tips


Summer Tips: as you climb, it gets colder, damper, and windier so bring layers, preferably warm windbreakers or rain jacket/pants.
Tours are based on circumstances and can be moved/changed at anytime.
Reviews
4.5
388 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
0
0
0
0
0
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 388 reviews
No Details Up Front
Rosanne_M, Aug 2022
So, we were excited about this tour, until they sent us a message within the 24-hour cancellation period that the walk would be 14 km. I asked them for more info as we weren't sure we were up to that (we were originally told 8 km) and they never responded. We canceled because we didn't want to hold the group back. Since it was within 24 hours, we did not get a refund. If they had told us 14 km from the start, we would not have selected the journey.
Response from Host, Aug 2022
This tour is plainly listed on Viator as a "hike" with a moderate to challenging level. We believe that gives plenty of clues as to what can be expected. Saying that we have taken plenty of active people in their 70s, and some in their 80s. We have a cancellation policy for a reason, as does the rest of the tourist industry. Your decision not to come was your own, you were aware of the cancellation policy.
Beware! This tour uses a...
Lee_G, Aug 2022
Beware! This tour uses a trail to the backside of the volcano. You can see the smoke but cannot see lava except for the few times it shoots over the cone. This is not the tour to book if you actually want to see lava flow. Many other tour groups go to the front of the volcano where you can see. We could see them from our unfortunate spot in the back. If this had been disclosed, we could have chosen a different tour. Pictures in tour listing are very misleading.
Response from Host, Aug 2022
On the day of this tour path A was officially closed until lunch time for maintenance, forcing us to take path C. We have to abide by the rules. The other groups you saw were tourists who ignored the closure. We always do our best to get close to the volcano on Path A.
Fun hike, worth all the steps up and down
Irene_P, Aug 2022
Went to this hike with my teenagers, husband and sister in law and had an Amazon time. Longish quick hike, stunning views. P
Amazing Views!
Patrick_S, Jul 2022
This was the best tour we did while visiting Iceland. I highly recommend the tour Company Glaciers and waterfalls you will not be disappointed. Our tour guide was Einar a native to Iceland who was very knowledgeable and friendly. The hike was beautiful
Nice Hike and Views
Wesley_F, Jul 2022
This was a very nice hike over the old lava field. Note that there was not open lava like in the current thumbnail. It was still a nice experience, with a good hike up the mountain.
1 traveler found this review helpful
Our guide was fantastic!...
Maryellen_P, Jul 2022
Our guide was fantastic! Very knowledgeable and answered all our questions. Made sure everyone was safe and comfortable
1 traveler found this review helpful
Great hike to see the new volcano
Christina_J, Jul 2022
Great guide for the hike, knowledgeable and enthusiastic, made sure we got the most from the hike, and drove us back the long way to get the best views.
Great experience
Janet_M, Jul 2022
This trip surpassed all expectations. Our guide was so well informed and gave us lots of interesting information. He was safety conscious and helped us all have a fantastic time. I would highly recommend this trip. The trip was made perfect due to our guide.
Icelandic Volcanic Adventures
Josh_A, Jul 2022
Our guide Peter was very attentive and provided a few extra stops before and after the volcano hike. He was always willing to snap a pic and made sure he got all the best angles. The scenery was gorgeous and only added to our honeymoon experience in Iceland. Pictures will never do it justice, but we will definitely come back to visit.
Visiting the volcano
Cora_K, Jul 2022
Seeing all the lava and being able to walk on it. Our guide was very helpful and informative. We enjoyed the hike up to view the volcano although there was a bitterly cold wind and we got rather cold waiting there while people took photos it was better when we kept moving.
Breathtaking Volcanic hike with some incredible stops to top it off!
Craig_C, Jul 2022
A beautiful trip with some incredible sites and certainly places that make you want to come back for more!
Exceeded expectations
David_M, Jul 2022
See the smoldering volcano. James also took us to the beach and the bridge. Special bonus. Thank you
1 traveler found this review helpful
Worth the climb!
Amir_A, Jul 2022
Guide was very friendly and informative. Nice hike although as of July 2022 no glowing lava to be seen just a large sea of black lava. Still very impressive.
Great!
Matt_S, Jul 2022
Great experience. Lava field was very cool and the hike up the mountain was definitely worth the effort. Our tour guide (I unfortunately didn't catch his name but was originally hailed from Hungary) was very friendly and knowledgeable about the area and Iceland itself, with a Great sense of humour. He looked after everyone on the hike up and made a point of chatting to everyone on the tour and offered to take photos of us when needed. Also stopped at a few amazing spots on the way to the volcano which was a bonus. Definitely recommend.
Cool tour, pretty relaxed but engaging
Michael_O, Jun 2022
Great tour. Volcano has stopped erupting (for now) but you still get to see spectacular very young lava flow, which is quite rare! Some other nice points of interest along the way too.
Best day trip
Marissa_B, Jun 2022
This was one of my favorite tours that we did during our week long trip to Iceland. How often can you say you hiked a volcano and got to see molten lava rock in its original form and location? Our guide was friendly and informative.
Once In a Lifetime Experience
Neal_M, Jun 2022
This tour was the highlight of our trip. We walked on a lava field that was still warm to the touch with smoke still rising 50 yards away. Then we climbed to the top of the mountain to see the crater and the miles of lava that spilled from it. Just amazing!
1 traveler found this review helpful
Friendly Iceland 🇮🇸
Jolita_J, May 2022
I’m here , mean at Iceland 🇮🇸 first time. All what I new it - beautiful country! I bookt this trip and I been amazed how much information guides give to tourist while they driving and taking to the places you going. Lots of history lots of news going on at a moment, good music bit of jokes. Class!! Well as everyone I expect to see lava n volcano active but it now asleep so it mean I have now another excuse to come here again . Thank you for nice day 🙏🏻
No what I expected
maria_d, May 2022
A very good tour. Tom, our tour guide was great and there’s nothing wrong with the tour is just I was not what I expected. Based on the photos looks like you are going to see the real molten lava coming down the volcano. There’s not lava flowing at all. This is the only one reason I booked this tour. If you have a rental car like my case was save the hefty 80 dollars price tag and do it yourself. After driving the whole entire island going even off raid trust me I could if do it myself. If only staying in Reyjavik without a rental if you want still do it. Is a lot of walking but worth the view !
Steam and lava😀
KarstenRdkjr_A, May 2022
To get so close to iceland Nature With a very knoving guide, very Good if you want to know About iceland Nature and geologi, vulcano and much more.
...

Questions?

Product code: 290357P8