Recent Searches
Clear
icon_solid_phone
Book online or call: (888) 651-9785(888) 651-9785
chat-bubbles

Are you interested in?

4WD Tours
244 Tours & Activities
Tours, Sightseeing & Cruises
732 Tours & Activities
Ways to Beat the Crowds in Reykjavik
Ways to Beat the Crowds in Reykjavik
8 Tours & Activities
Reserve Now & Pay Later

Northern Lights Midnight Adventure from Reykjavík

|
Badge of Excellence
|
Reykjavik, Iceland
icon_solid_phone
Book online or call: (888) 651-9785(888) 651-9785
chat-bubbles
Northern Lights Midnight Adventure from Reykjavík

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults
Reserve Now & Pay Later
Secure your spot while staying flexible
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon3 to 5 hours  (Approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Overview

The winter months in Reykjavik are the perfect time to spot the Northern Lights. During this midnight adventure, taking place between September 1st and April 15th, journey to the perfect place to see the Aurora Borealis, and learn about this beautiful phenomenon from your guide. Your guide also captures the colorful night sky so you don't have to fuss around with your own camera or a professional photographer.
  • Search for the northern lights from September to April
  • Stay comfortable during your drive in a climate-controlled vehicle
  • Learn about the solar phenomenon from your guide
  • This Reykjavik midnight adventure includes hotel pickup and drop-off
Saved to wishlist!
National Park fees
Driver/guide
Hotel pickup and drop-off
Transport by air-conditioned minivan
Beverages
Coffee and/or Tea

Departure Point

Traveler pickup is offered
We pick-up at all Bus-stops down town Reykjavík as well as all hotels and guesthouses in the Capital area of Reykjavík, Hafnarfjörður, Garðabær, Álftanes, Kópavogur and ZipCode 270 Mosefellsbær.

General pick-up time is between 8:30pm and 9:00pm. At approximately 6pm on the evening of the tour we will email you to confirm your pick-up place and time.

Your pick-up place will depend on the location of your accommodation:

1. If you are staying within the Reykjavik City Restricted Area, we will pick you up at one of the designated bus stops. When you notify us of your accommodation, we will let you know which bus stop is the closest one to you.

2. If you are staying outside of the restricted area, we will pick you up at your accommodation.

In the email we will also give you a more accurate pick-up time (+/- 5 minutes) so that you won’t have to stay out in the cold for too long while waiting for the tour bus.

Departure Time

9:00 PM
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Operates in all weather conditions, please dress appropriately
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 16 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Iceland everywhere tours
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Northern Lights Midnight Adventure from Reykjavík?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Northern Lights Midnight Adventure from Reykjavík.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Northern Lights Midnight Adventure from Reykjavík?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Contactless payments for gratuities and add-ons
See all safety measures taken by Northern Lights Midnight Adventure from Reykjavík.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Northern Lights Midnight Adventure from Reykjavík?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Northern Lights Midnight Adventure from Reykjavík.

Traveler Photos

Reviews

5.0
star-5
101 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 101 reviews
star-5
Check out the lights!
Joe
, Oct 2021
We had a really great time and our guide was awesome. Very informative and made sure we got to see as much as we can. Also very helpful adjusting our cameras
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear you had a great time on our tour. May the photos bring back memories for years to come. Kind regards Iceland Everywhere
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Great experience to remember
Renata_R
, Oct 2021
Such a great tour with great tour guide, Rony, Ron? :-) He was very engaged and really cared for us to see Aurora. We were lucky to see dancing Northern Lights and many many stars. Dress warm.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
Thank you for your review. We are delighted you experienced the Northern Lights and enjoyed our tour guide Ronnie (Rúnar) Kind regards Iceland Everywhere
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Siggi was real nice and...
Mercedes_I
, Oct 2021
Siggi was real nice and professional! I would recommended 100%. It was a great experience and very enlightening
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
Thank you for your review and recommendation. We are delighted that you enjoyed our tour and had a great experience with us. Kind regards Iceland Everywhere
HelpfulHelpful
star-4
Siggi is a real northern lights hunter
Isabella_V
, Sep 2021
I am very satisfied with the service provided by Siggi and his company. It's a hard job to stay out in the cold waiting for a natural fenomenal and he really tried hard for the group to see something, also taking pictures and answering questions. My only disappointment is that at this time of the year (September) the lights are just a small white shadow and I believe this should be told ahead, since the photos look much better than in real life, while in cold months you can really see it as in the photos.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
Thank you for your review. The fact is that the Northern Lights are almost always stronger and more colorful on photos than to the naked eye, doesn't matter which month of the Northern Lights season it is. Kind regards Iceland Everywhere
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Highly recomend
Lara_i
, Sep 2021
It was a wonderfull experience. Our guide Ziggi did an amazing job. He explained what it takes to make the northern lights appear. He stoped as soon as he saw a first glimps of lights and changed places. And on our way back to the hotel, when half of the van was asleep, he noticed an activity and stoped the van. He really wanted us to see the aurora. Thank you Ziggi.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
Thank you for your review and recommendation. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our tour and saw the Northern Lights. Kind regads Iceland Everywhere
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Northern Lights Tour
Julie_S
, Sep 2021
I saw the Northern Lights, which was what I wanted. The guide was very passionate about this phenomena, he was determined that we saw them and so took us to several places to ensure we had a great show. I definitely recommend this guide👍
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
Thank you for your review and recommendation. Siggi is very passionate about the Northern Lights, that is true. We are glad you experienced the Northern Lights and we hope the photos will bring back memories for a long time. Kind regards Iceland Everywhere
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
No luck for us but still HIGHLY recommend!
Maria
, Sep 2021
Siggi is an amazing guide! Whether or not you get to see the lights is very weather dependant and if there’s no chance you’ll see them, the tour is cancelled. But if there is a chance, you’ll go out. We experienced both of these scenarios. Went out our first night but could barley see them due to cloud cover, so we were re-booked free of charge for the next night which ended up being cancelled due to weather. We were then re-booked free of charge for a 3rd night but were still unable to see them. Again, this is all weather dependent and the guides really do chase the open skies and solar activity all over to give you the best shot at seeing them. You just need a bit of luck which we didn’t have but when it was apparent on our last try that we couldn’t see them, they took us to a view of the active volcano instead and told us if we ever return to Iceland we can re-book with them for free!
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
Thank you for your review and recommendation. We wish we could control the weather and the clouds and the Northern Lights. But unfortunately we don't. Hopefully the next time you visit will we be able to find them and hopefully the weather will be in our favor. Kind regards Iceland Everywhere
HelpfulHelpful1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
The extra mile..
Hayder_A
, Sep 2021
Original date was cancelled due to poor weather, rebooked for the following day. Ziggi tried his hardest to take us to the best spots, but weather just didn't allow for a major sighting. He did take us to a nice location at the end of the night to see the volcano erupting from a distance. He was very knowledgeable, helpful and a great guide!
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
Thank you for your review. We happy to hear you liked Siggi as a guide and his knowledge. We are sorry that you did not experience the Northern Lights at its full glory. Kind regards Iceland Everywhere
HelpfulHelpful
star-2
Very disappointing
MissKaur
, Sep 2021
We were originally booked to go on Friday 3rd September but it was cancelled due to poor weather conditions and a high chance of not being able to see the lights. We rescheduled the following day and it was once again cancelled. On Sunday it seemed that the weather would be in our favour and so the tour was scheduled to go ahead… Whilst we were on route the driver told us that there was a 3/9 chance of us seeing the lights and that they personally preferred to see them through the clouds. We were also informed that every other tour operator had cancelled their tour due to poor visibility. I felt like the driver was setting us up for disappointment and at that point we knew we were not going to see the lights and were surprised that this particular tour had gone ahead. What commenced was a five hour journey of us being driven to and from various locations and waiting in the car whilst the tour operators ‘speculated’ to see if lights could be seen. (We all knew there was no chance) and most of us were eager to get back home. At the end of the 5 hour journey. The tour guide apologised for the uneventful night and said we could reschedule but not get a refund. We were leaving Iceland the next morning and so were very disappointed and disheartened. We felt that the tour only went ahead so they could make money out of us and not give a refund because it was very obvious we were not going to see the lights, especially as every other operator had cancelled. I feel that every passenger deserved a refund if they weren’t able to reschedule. But sadly this wasn’t given. I don’t recommend.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
We are truly sorry that you are disappointed about our decision to go out hunting for the Northern Lights. It is never given that we do see the Northern Lights because they are a phenomenon that no one can control. We only go out if we do believe we will be able to find them and unfortunately that does not happen all the time because they can be faint to extremely strong. Aurora forecasts can also give us indication of what strength the Northern Lights will be but that also can be different than what the prediction is. On our Northern Lights tours we do drive between various locations to find the best spots and that has given us good results most of the time. If we do go out hunting for the Northern Lights then we do not refund our customers because we really did try. If we were in this business to take money off our customers then we would go out every night, no matter how the weather, cloud and aurora forecast would be and not give our customers the chance to reschedule for another night if no or very little Northern Lights were seen. We are again truly sorry that you didn't experience the Northern Lights and that you feel this way about our service. Kind regards Iceland Everywhere
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Great experience
kelly_k
, Dec 2020
Driver was highly persistent in finding the lights,,warm hot chocolate on board and the offer of a 2nd FREE trip out a day later and we didn't see the lights very well the 1st night,,however we was not dissapointed on 2nd trip!!
icon Response from Host , Dec 2020
Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear you are satisfied with our tour and service Kind regards Staff of Iceland Everywhere Tours.
HelpfulHelpful

Reserve Now & Pay Later
Secure your must-do activities without being locked in
Product code: 107666P1

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Northern Lights Midnight Adventure from Reykjavík
Northern Lights Midnight Adventure from Reykjavík

star-5101

3 to 5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$66.99

star-4.5138

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$87.00

star-3.5413

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$55.00

star-428

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$82.00

star-4.5173

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$95.71

star-4.542

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$165.00

star-4.5108

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$84.19

star-538

3 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$194.63

star-418

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$102.09

Explore Similar Things to Do