Recent Searches
Book online or call: (888) 651-9785(888) 651-9785

To limit the spread of the coronavirus, attractions may be closed or have partial closures. Please consult government travel advisories before booking. The WHO is closely monitoring the coronavirus and more information can be found here.

Northern Lights Small-Group Minibus Tour from Reykjavik

Reykjavík, Iceland
Book online or call: (888) 651-9785(888) 651-9785

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults
Loading available options...

icon3 hours  (Approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English


Brave the winter chill in search of the Northern Lights on this guided Aurora Borealis tour from Reykjavik. After pickup from your Reykjavik lodging, head out away from city lights in a comfortable minivan until reaching a secluded spot in the Icelandic countryside. Watch the natural light show, and then return to your Reykjavik hotel.
  • Northern Lights tour from Reykjavik
  • Head far from the city lights in a comfortable minivan
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off included
  • Expert guidance to spot the lights
The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
What is the pick up location?
We only offer pickup from central districts. Let us know where you are staying in the 'Special Requirements' box in the Traveler Details section during checkout. Or you can let us know after booking by visiting 'Manage my Booking' and emailing us there.
Jul 2019


172 Reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star
Reviews by Viator travelers
, Mar 2020
Overall the service was great, changed the pick up point for the bus with no fuss. The coach driver was very attentive and knowledgeable about the experience.
Great time
, Mar 2020
Our guide was one of the nicest people I have encountered on these trips . Very helpful making sure we all new what settings were needed for both smart phones as well as cameras. Had so much fun that night
No lights
, Feb 2020
Guide was friendly and very helpful with advice on taking photos of the lights. He tried his best to find them but wasn’t successful. Comfortable warm mini bus. He did manage to get a photo with his camera and put it on Facebook for us all
poor show
, Feb 2020
disorganised pick up, couldn't get us to a optimum viewing location, basically paid over £120 to sit in a van for two hours
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
Dear Glyn Thank you for your time and sharing your experience with us, we apologize for any inconvenience. Our pick up and all other tour operators in Reykjavik are the same, we pick up directly from some hotels and the hotels they are in downtown they have to go to tour bus stops near there hotels due to restricted area set by Reykjavik city, you was on bus stop 6 we picked you up on time and we informed you with all the instructions on email send to you before the tour start, we don’t understand why you said disorganized pickup? Due to the snow on the roads sometime we cannot enter all the area’s we visit due to safety we have to stay on parkings beside the rods, because we don’t want to be stocked in the middle of nowhere with a bus full of passengers waiting for another bus to come to save us, we prefer to stay safe and the Guide explained that, we appreciate your understanding. The Northern Lights are a nature phenomenon and we don’t have any control of it and need a lot of patience, you didn’t have to seat on the bus for all the time you could stay outside but sorry we hear you was complaining that is too cold outside there. We hope you still enjoyed your vacation in Iceland. Best Regards,
Shy Mother Nature
, Feb 2020
Mother Nature was a bit shy I’m afraid. Our guide couldn’t have been more kind. He worked quite hard to find a spotting as we moved to 5 different locations. Finally, at the 4th stop as well as the 5th we were able to see a slight showing! Bucket list....CHECK!
Great guide
, Feb 2020
The tour was great. Our guide was very knowable. He tried to help our tour get their cameras ready before we saw the lights. The one thing I wish I knew was to look into photo apps before going on the tour. Most phones cannot take photos of the lights without a special app. We didn’t pay for phone service so we couldn’t download the app on the sport. The lights are only seen through a photo so I felt like we missed out on part of the experience by not being able to take photos. Our guide did take photos that we could purchase. He took a few beautiful ones of us. We purchased one and wish we had purchased more.
Someone turn the lights on
, Feb 2020
We were supposed to be back at 11.00, and arrived back at 1.30am. However, the guide was determined for us to see something. I’m sorry to say... and it saddens me that what you see on these pictures is not what we saw with a naked eye which was disappointing. Don’t be fooled into thinking this what you will expect to see.
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
Hi Laviniaj, Thank you for taking time to express your experience here, we are sorry, but the tour start at 9:00 pm and is 3 hours minimum, so you should be back to Reykjavik at midnight and not 11:00 pm and we also describe that, sometimes it can be even longer due to the late appearance of the lights, sorry that you have missed that information. we again sorry that the light didn't reach your expectation, we explain to our clients that the Northern lights is a mother nature phenomenon and is not in our control, it’s not the same what you see on the photos and what you see with your necked eyes, even the photos are real and not photoshopped is just because they have long exposure and our eyes see the reality, we explain this during the tour. We encourage our guests to read little bit about the Aurora borealis before they book there trip or at least before the trip begins. We still hope that you like our service and you had a good time in Iceland.
Northern Lights were beautiful!
, Feb 2020
My partner and i went on this tour and it was amazing! Our guide was very passionate about the northern lights and very knowledgable. We saw the lights and got some good pictures. Thank you again!
Searching for northern lights
, Feb 2020
Fantastic tour and determined guide! We arrived in Iceland first night tour was cancelled due to cloud cover it got cancelled and moved every day until our last night it was a go ahead!! We searched for 3 hours until our guide knew where to go and sure enough he found them for us! Definitely recommend this tour
A great experience!
, Feb 2020
Our guide, Pawel, was excellent. Super attentive and friendly. We got to see great northern lights. Even after leaving to go back to the city, we stopped spontaneously as the lights became a lot stronger. We would highly recommend this tour!

Reserve Now & Pay Later
Secure your must-do activities without being locked in
Product code: 48100P4

Explore Similar Things to Do