Search for "Paris" or "Colosseum"
Book online or call: (888) 651-9785

Northern Lights Tour from Reykjavik

Reykjavík, Iceland

From $55.00

Lowest Price Guarantee

Select Date and Travelers

Reserve Now & Pay Later
Secure your spot while staying flexible
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 3 hours (approx.)
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English
  • Good for avoiding crowds


The Northern Lights are one of the world’s most spectacular natural phenomenon, and Iceland is one of few places in the world where it’s possible to view the elusive Aurora borealis. Maximize your chances of witnessing nature’s lightshow on this tour from Reykjavík, and seek out the best viewing spots around the city.
  • Northern Lights viewing tour from Reykjavík
  • A chance to see the spectacular Aurora Borealis
  • Seasonal tour available from September to mid-April
  • Choice of evening departure times available

What's Included

  • Bus Fare
  • Professional Local Guidance
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Food and drinks
  • Gratuities
  • Pickup from hotels

Departure & Return

Departure Point

  • Bus Terminal Reykjavík
    43P8+W64, 101 Reykjavík, Iceland

    BSI Bus Terminal is the meeting point for the tour.

Return Details

This activity will end right where it started.

What To Expect

Begin your evening adventure with pick-up from central Reykjavík and admire the capital’s illuminated landmarks as you head out of the city. As the glittering skyline fades from view, listen as your guide explains the natural phenomenon of the Northern Lights, caused by the interaction of particles from the sun with the upper atmosphere near the North Pole. Learn how the lights are the result of collisions between gaseous particles in the Earth's atmosphere and charged particles released from the sun's atmosphere, and discover the science behind the variations in color and brightness.

Depending on the weather and ‘Aurora forecast’, your guide takes you to the viewing locations where you are most likely to spot the Northern Lights, so make sure you have your camera ready. If you’re lucky, get a chance to admire the mesmerizing light show, before journeying back to Reykjavík, where your tour ends.

Please note: the Northern Lights in Iceland are visible only during the winter months, from September to April, and sightings are not guaranteed. However, if you don‘t see any Northern Lights during the tour, you are welcome to join the tour again, free of charge, on another night. For this reason, we recommend booking your Northern Lights tour for early-on in your trip, in case it needs to be rescheduled.

Reykjavik Excursions (Pass By)

Meeting point for the tour.

Iceland (Pass By)

Locations on this tour vary from day to day depending on weather conditions.

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Travelers with young children are advised to take the 20:00 departure which is available from 15 October through 14 March 2020.
  • This tour depends on weather and sightings are not guaranteed. The tour may be cancelled on the day if the weather is poor
  • Remember to dress warmly
  • No pickups from hotels
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Infant seats available
  • Most travelers can participate
  • Indicated return times can vary.
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 99 travelers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

about cancellations.

Frequently Asked Questions

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.

Q:What is the policy on sanitization during Northern Lights Tour from Reykjavik?

A:The policies on sanitization are:
  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized

Q:What is the social distancing policy during Northern Lights Tour from Reykjavik?

A:The policies on social distancing are:
  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
  • Contactless payments for gratuities and add-ons

Q:What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Northern Lights Tour from Reykjavik?

A:The policies on staff health & safety are:
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms

Traveler Photos

See more

Traveler Tips

The northern lights are a must to anyone travelling to Iceland!
The wait for the magic was long and freezing cold but it was all worthwhile at the end of the day.
Luckily saw some activity second time so was worth it.
476 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 476 reviews
Cecilia_E, Mar 2022
It was a powerful, meaningful, philosophical, scientific, spiritual and unique experience. It is so powerful, that i could not contain my tears , could feel it was -19 C I just felt peace, excitement, reconciliation with the two worlds, and I was able to enjoy it because I was not taking pictures, my husband did, so I got the best of the experience. Gratitude is something that I should tell you, is a moment when you realize how special you are, and how magnificent life is. Shelma
1 traveler found this review helpful
Best night of our life
Shameeka_G, Mar 2022
It was the most amazing experience in my life. The meter was at 2/3 all day but the skies were clear and the weather was good for a majority of the day. As soon as we got off the bus Aurora appeared as a huge rainbow arch in the sky. The last hour of the tour she started dancing and that’s when we got an amazing show of all the colors. Even our tour guide was amazed and fascinated by what we saw. She said it was one of the best northern lights she’s seen because every color was present and Aurora was dancing of course. We took bus #6 and our guide was AMAZING. She really was very friendly, helpful and FUNNY. Please thank all of the staff for us because the night was unforgettable and please give our your guide for bus #6 on 3/4 9pm tour a BIG FAT RAISE!
Host was nice…
Lucia_K, Feb 2022
Host was great (Cecillia?).. the tour was meh. I know you can’t control the lights and it’s not always possible to see them but we drove only 15 minutes out of the city to a car park to try and ‘hunt’ them. This is the only glimpse I got.. they can’t be seen with the naked eye and so you have to have a camera with you that’s capable of night mode. It was freezing, much much colder then I could ever have expected and we saw nothing.. just stared at a black sky for 3 hours.. Bonus, the tour dropped us back near our hotel..
yvonne_d, Jan 2022
Amazing to see the lights. What an unbelievable experience. Professional tour guide who knew a lot about the lights and how we could best photograph them.
1 traveler found this review helpful
Really Enjoyable
Noah_B, Jan 2022
Tour guide was super nice and made it her mission to get to a good spot to see the lights. Got to see as many lights as were available at the time.
1 traveler found this review helpful
Very cold
Sara_P, Dec 2021
We didn’t get to see the northern lights but it was a nice night with some stars. There is obviously no guarantee that you will see them but if you go in December/winter time make sure to dress extra warm. You stand outside on a peninsula for close to two hours. if you get cold you are allowed to go back into the bus but the busses are shut off with no heat on because it needs to be dark to see the lights. So make sure to dress very very warm. You will be cold.
1 traveler found this review helpful
See nothing tour
Amine_B, Nov 2021
Guide on drugs and bad light polluted area to see Northern lights. Wast of money. Do it yourself is better in this case
1 traveler found this review helpful
Aurora sighting
Raul_L, Oct 2021
Love it will do it again. A memorable experience. Our guide is an expert! Everyone is happy and satisfied how it turns out to be.
Great company to choose
Megan_P, Oct 2021
Good that the operator lets you go back as many times as you wish if you don’t get to see the lights well enough but we didn’t get to see them properly even with 2 nights out in the cold. Each time was a different location based on the forecast that predicts where is best.
1 traveler found this review helpful
Great driver and operator
Mark_F, Feb 2020
Unfortunately we didn't get to see the lights however driver was great and the tour operator was too couldn't fault either and would recommend but hopefully see the lights.
2 travelers found this review helpful
No lights for us.
Kim_S, Feb 2020
Sadly, we did not see any activity, the night of our tour. Tour was rescheduled two previous nights, due to rain. The 3rd night, although cloudy, we were taken out. Not much the tour operator can do about nature.
1 traveler found this review helpful
Not worth your money
Kamila_C, Feb 2020
Not a professional way to treat people. It's very commercial and you don't feel good in hunderds of people squeezed into 6 buses. Lady in our bus sounds bored talking about northen lights. We have our trip in rainy day and there was no way for aurora but they didn't return busses and people were getting cold in the rain. Don't waste your money fot this company, they don't care about you but about money.
2 travelers found this review helpful
Northern lights seen
Simon_B, Jan 2020
A week planned trip to see the northern lights, less by a knowledgeable guide. We were told how to look, where to look and how to photograph the lights. We managed to do this and saw the lights. Would recommend this trip.
Response from Host, Jan 2020
Dear Traveler Thank you for the kind words both about our guide and the tour :) we could not be more thrilled that you enjoyed the tour. Best wishes Team Reykjavik Excursions
Not the best tour
Elvira_W, Dec 2019
The guides were great at building excitement on the night driving out to the spot however, we did not see activity on the night. I think to see the lights it would be better to do a smaller more specialised tour perhaps. There were too many people (3 bus loads at the one spot) and when you are there it is pitch black and people were walking all over the moss and damaging the surrounding area. After the tour we were told by locals that you generally have about a 25% chance of seeing the lights on a tour like this.
Northern Lights Tour
Juni_R, Nov 2019
Overall is good, well organize but it would be a plus if all the bus have a toilets since it's about 3 hours trip.
Response from Host, Nov 2019
Dear traveler, Thank you very much for your feedback, it means a lot to us. Kind regards and welcome back! Team Reykjavik Excursions
1 traveler found this review helpful
BarryA1720, Nov 2019
We were very unlucky when it came to seeing the Northern Lights but I will still rate Reykjavik excursions 4 stars regardless as they can't help the weather. We were booked the first night but unfortunately it got cancelled due to extremely bad weather. Reykjavik excursions sorted this and transferred us on to the following nights tour. This night we got out and they tried their best to hunt down a break in the clouds, taking us to various locations for us to try and see the lights unfortunately it just wasn't meant to be and the weather and clouds wouldn't give us a break we were hoping for. The guide was very knowledgeable and helpful and I would still recommend this tour. Unfortunately you can't plan for bad weather so you know it's a 50/50 chance of seeing the lights when you book the tour. My only gripe was I would like to see reykjavik excursions maybe offer a hotel pick up for the tour as you have to make your own way to the BSI Bus Station which in the cold and rain isn't the most pleasant 20-30 minute walk (when you are on a budget with reykjavik prices paying a taxi wasn't really an option haha) but that is only a minor issue.
Response from Host, Nov 2019
We are glad to hear that you were happy with our services. Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and hopefully we will see you on board again in the future! -Team Reykjavik Excursions
No lights seen for us
MichelleK3373, Nov 2019
Tour guide was very friendly & knowledgeable. Bus journey was comfortable. Unfortunately we never seen anything but then it's not a guarantee. It does get very cold out so wrap up warm. Would definitely go again to see if lucky enough next time.
Response from Host, Nov 2019
Thank you for taking the time to share your great experience with us! All the best, Team Reykjavik Excursions
christianhewitt, Nov 2019
I had a message a few hours before to say the tour was cancelled - no response at all and no refund!
Northern lights trip
Storyteller448826, Nov 2019
Managed to see lights which was good but there’s a lot of waiting around in the cold - you must dress warmly. The tour guide was very very chatty and talked the entire way there. We weren’t so lucky as the lights only lasted about 10 minutes but there was a hot drinks and snacks van.
Response from Host, Nov 2019
Dear traveler, Thank you very much for your feedback, it means a lot to us. Kind regards and welcome back! Team Reykjavik Excursions
Cancelled without reason
Kevin_R, Nov 2019
Cancelled on the morning. Within the terms but no word as to why, would have been useful to know so could have booked elsewhere for that night or Sunday if it was not due to the opportunity to see them


Product code: 24308P13