Search for "Paris" or "Colosseum"
Book online or call: (888) 651-9785

The Original Classic Whale Watching from Reykjavik

Badge of ExcellenceReykjavík, Iceland

From $87.00

Select Date and Travelers

Reserve Now & Pay Later
Secure your spot while staying flexible
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 3 hours (approx.)
  • Offered in: English
  • Good for avoiding crowds


Experience the magic of whale watching on a cruise from Reykjavik. With a knowledgeable guide, cruise the coastal curve of Iceland to marvel at humpback and orca whales in their natural habitat. Scour the sea for sightings of porpoises and dolphins as you listen to fascinating facts surrounding the majestic creatures that inhabit the Icelandic ocean. Heighten your chances of seeing whales on this tour, the success rates of which are 95% in summer and 80% in winter.
  • Whale watching tour from Reykjavik
  • Learn about the fascinating wildlife that inhabits Iceland's ocean from a knowledgeable guide
  • Scour the see for sightings of other creatures like dolphins, porpoises and rare sea birds
  • Choose from multiple departures to best suit your schedule
Operated by:

What's Included

  • Excellent live guide
  • Overalls, raincoats and blankets
  • Admission to Wildlife Exhibition
  • Free WiFi on board
  • Food and drinks
  • Gratuities
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off

Meeting And Pickup

Meeting point

  • Ægisgarður 5
    Ægisgarður 5, 101 Reykjavík, Iceland

    Meet us in the ELDING ticket office located at Ægisgarður 5c by the Old Harbour district in Reykjavík. Once at the pier, simply follow the red colour to find us! Be sure to arrive at least 15 min. before departure to ensure enough time to check in and to board the boat.

End point

This activity ends back at the meeting point.

What To Expect

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • The tour may sometimes depart from other harbours when the conditions in Reykjavík are rough. In this case, the tour may be 1-2 hrs. longer than advertised.
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • No whales or dolphins on your tour? Try again another day for FREE!
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 150 travelers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

about cancellations.

Traveler Photos

See more

Traveler Tips

The weather was okay but we wore the heavy clothes offered and it was worth it!
1,036 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 1,036 reviews
Being charged for something not in our hands
AaronH_M, Jan 2023
Flight was cancelled we called tour operated to let them know and they did not want to refund us our money I explained to them that this was out of our control but they did not care at all
Response from Host, Jan 2023
Dear AaronH_M, Please note that your booking was cancelled and refunded shortly after we received your phone call. Feel free to get in touch with Viator directly if you have any questions regarding the status of your refund. All the best, The Elding team
Another trip ticked of our bucket list.
wendybucknall, Jan 2023
We really enjoyed the Whale Watching tour. We managed to see a Whale which has been swimming around the same area for sometime. It surfaced so many times. Further out to sea we got to see some porpoises. We managed to get plenty of pics. However, if you don’t get any, the whale spotter takes pictures and you can send your email to them and he will send you all the pics taken. All free of charge. There is overalls for you to borrow if the weather is too cold. You can buy hot drinks and snacks on the boat. We definitely recommend the trip. Suitable for children too, obviously supervised at all times.
Knowledgeable skipper,...
alistair_b, Jan 2023
Knowledgeable skipper, the enthusiasm of the guide was infectious, the safety guide and instructions for the whale watchers was expertly delivered. Consideration for the humpback whale we saw at close quarters was beautiful and so lovely to see. Enough was enough and the guide didn't want to stress him. A great trip.
A whale of a time and worth it!
Alison_L, Jan 2023
This was such a fun way for all ages to spend the afternoon out at sea while taking in the coastline of Iceland. The guide was super knowledgeable. The crew went out of the way to get the boat (respectfully) close to the whale so we could all see and enjoy the incredible beauty of the mammal!
Well worth it
Nicky_L, Jan 2023
Excellent. Well run & nice trip. Just long enough. Warm areas on boat & nice to have a warm drink (you don’t need cash). Saw a humpback whale for most of the trip and one or two seals. Would have been nice to see other whales too but Flack put on a great show.
Blows away the cobwebs
Sara_G, Jan 2023
Very informative information given out during the trip. Staff were friendly and helpful. We spotted one humpback whale a few times during the trip.
2 travelers found this review helpful
Great Tour! 100% Recommend!
Georgia_C, Jan 2023
We did whale watching on our last day in Iceland and loved every minute of it! The crew were super friendly and gave lots of information about the types of whales we may see. We were super lucky and got to see a humpback whale :) not only once but we see them multiple times! We also see a seal which was a nice added bonus! Would definitely recommend booking this tour!
Response from Host, Jan 2023
Dear Georgia_C, Thank you very much for taking the time to rate and review our services. We are glad you enjoyed the crew and wildlife! All the best, The Elding team
Luck of the draw!!!
Ashwika_P, Jan 2023
This trip is purely on "luck of the draw". Whale was sited but due to number of people on the boat together with being in the middle of a snow storm it is hard to maneuver around the boat to the pointed location from which the whale is visible. Therefore, we weren't able to get even a glimpse! Having said that we were offered vouchers for free for a second trip but we couldn't go for a second time as we had other trips booked.
Response from Host, Jan 2023
Dear Ashwika_P, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with future travellers. Our tours are indeed set in the wild where sightings cannot be manipulated. To compensate for unsuccessful tours, we do offer complimentary tickets so our passengers can join us again another day, free of charge. We do hope to see you again on a future tour! All the best The Elding team
No whales
Hyerin_H, Jan 2023
No whales on that day, unfortunately. Received a voucher, if I visit them again in 2 year, it will be free of charge since there are no whales seen. It was still nice to see mountains covered with snow.
1 traveler found this review helpful
Such a special trip, for...
Emma_H, Jan 2023
Such a special trip, for us all! Well organised and informative! We actually followed a humpback whale! Just amazing!
Humpback whale!
Eithne_O, Dec 2022
Happy that we got to see a humpback whale on our tour! Make sure to take anti sickness tablets, they are offered for free by the company. Wear extra warm clothes.
Very happy with the tour even in December time
Ana_L, Dec 2022
It was a really nice trip. We did it at the end of December when whales are mostly out of Iceland so I was not expecting much. But we managed to see a beautiful humpback 🐋. He was quite curious and stayed around for a while, showing us his head, tail, waving at us and more. The crew was friendly and nice. Make sure you dress appropriately since its really cold (on board you can borrow windproof suit also). If you bring your own cup, drinks are 50% off to save the plastic :) And at the end they can send you pics so you can relax and just enjoy a beautiful view :) Totally recommend
Good tour but over packed boat
Clare_S, Dec 2022
Trip was good although the boat was so over crowded when the whale showed up it was hard to see over all the peoples shoulders.
Bill_J, Dec 2022
Great trip! Saw two whales, porpoises, birds, and some fantastic scenery. Wear warm clothes in winter.
Beautiful sunset views &...
Carlie_M, Dec 2022
Beautiful sunset views & managed to see a couple of whales. The guide was very informative. The boat was busy but everyone managed to sit down if you wanted to
Response from Host, Dec 2022
Dear Carlie_M, Thank you for the generous rating and review. Glad you enjoyed the wildlife in our bay! All the best, The Elding team
Whale watching,
Toni_E, Dec 2022
The lookout was very informative and staff very nice. For me personally, I felt the boat was overcrowded and being short was hard to be able to see.. On saying that, the trip was well worth the money..
Whales, dolphins and the cold
Neil_C, Dec 2022
The whales proved to be elusive but the dolphins as common as pigeons great fun and very playful. Really enjoyed this trip but wrap up warm winter time it’s three hours plus and you chill from the feet up. I recommend this trip very highly… nearly saw a minke whale but it dived I’m still waiting for it to come back up… lol
Staff was nice and...
Giorgio_V, Dec 2022
Staff was nice and friendly, guide was very knowledgeable. Although we didn't get to see any whales, we saw lots of dolphins and harbour porpoises. Amazing experience, recommended! Remember to dress warm
A good way to spend a day in Iceland
Kotryna_S, Dec 2022
Though we haven't seen any whales, we saw a lot of dolphins and just had a great time on the boat, looking at Iceland from a distance. Also learnt some interesting facts about animals of Iceland.
No memories. Trip...
Pat_C, Dec 2022
No memories. Trip cancelled at 2 hours notice. Only free day for us. We understand that safety is a primary concern and weather is unpredictable but desperately disappointed. Would recommend winter tours maybe suspended. Thank you for prompt refund


Product code: 7090P9