Search for "Paris" or "Colosseum"
Book online or call: (888) 651-9785

Privileged Entrance Vatican Tour with Sistine Chapel

Badge of ExcellenceRoma, Italy
Likely to Sell Out

From $112.44

Select Date and Travelers

Reserve Now & Pay Later
Secure your spot while staying flexible
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 3 hours 30 minutes (approx.)
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English

Overview

Begin your exploration of the Vatican Museums before the general public on this tour. With your small group and tour guide, head straight for the Sistine Chapel to marvel at its art and architecture as one of its first daily visitors. Continue to St. Peter's Basilica, listening to informative commentary on the history of the church and Vatican City as you walk. Entrance fees, guaranteed skip-the-line entry, and use of individual headsets are included.
  • Entrance to the Vatican Museums before general admission
  • Tour the Sistine Chapel and St. Peter's Basilica with a guide
  • Small group means personalized attention
  • Headsets to hear your guide clearly

Why Travelers Choose This Tour

This exclusive tour allows you to see St. Peter’s chapel during mass.

What's Included

  • Early access to the Vatican Museums
  • Professional English-speaking guide
  • Headsets for groups of 6 or more
  • Maximum group size of 14
  • Gratuities
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
  • St. Peter's Basilica until Further Notice Due to Covid Restrictions

Departure & Return

Departure Point

  • Viale Vaticano, 100, Viale Vaticano, 100, 00192 Roma RM, Italy

    Between Hotel Alimandi and Caffé Vaticano, at the top of the big staircase (Viale Vaticano, 100). A representative will be there holding a sign reading “The Roman Guy.” We highly recommend that you arrive 10 - 15 minutes before the scheduled meeting time of your tour to ensure a prompt start.   •  Subway/Metro - Take the Metro line A (the red line) and get off at either the “Cipro” or “Ottaviano” stop. The meeting point is on Viale Vaticano which is a 10-minute walk from each of the metro stops.  •  Walking - From St. Peter’s Square, take via di Porta Angelica and follow the Vatican walls (on your left-hand side) closely until you reach Piazza del Risorgimento. Turn left and continue following the Vatican walls until you reach Viale Vaticano. Turn left onto Viale Vaticano and cross over to the other side of the street. Walk up the street and you’ll find our meeting point about 100 feet away. BEWARE! This is at least a 15-minute walk.  •  Taxi - It is very important that you tell the driver “Caffè Vaticano” or Musei Vaticani. Our meeting point is a few feet away. Make sure you check for us on the other side of the street just in case your driver drops you off opposite the caffè.  •  Use your smartphone! - Type the words ‘Caffè Vaticano’ into your phone’s navigation system and the directions will bring you just a few feet away from the top of the staircase! Dates: Daily except Sunday ad Wednesday Return point: The tour will end at St. Peter's Basilica (except on Wednesdays).

Return Details

  • Saint Peter's Square, Piazza San Pietro, Città del Vaticano, Vatican City

    The tour will end at St. Peter's Basilica (except on Wednesdays when we finish inside the Vatican Museums).

What To Expect

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • A specific dress code is required to enter places of worship and selected museums. No shorts or sleeveless tops allowed. Knees and shoulders MUST be covered for both men and women. You may risk refused entry if you fail to comply with these dress requirements.
  • A fair amount of walking is involved, and there will be stairs between different levels. If you have any doubts about your mobility, we strongly recommend considering a private tour.
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • Please contact The Tour Guy to book a wheelchair accessible tour
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 14 travelers
Operated by The Roman Guy

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

about cancellations

Frequently Asked Questions

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.

Q:What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Privileged Entrance Vatican Tour with Sistine Chapel?

A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:
  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Face masks provided for travelers

Q:What is the policy on sanitization during Privileged Entrance Vatican Tour with Sistine Chapel?

A:The policy on sanitization is:
  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff

Q:What is the social distancing policy during Privileged Entrance Vatican Tour with Sistine Chapel?

A:The policy on social distancing is:
  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience

Traveler Photos

See more

Traveler Tips


Worth paying to get inside before it is "open" to the public.
Worth it to go early morning before the crowds and heat.
Be forewarned- there are a lot of stairs- a lot.
Reviews
4.5
642 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
0
0
0
0
0
Reviews by Viator travelers
Showing 1-10 of 642 reviews
The guide was fine; in late June the Vatican Museum is super crowded
Mark_A, Jun 2022
As advertised we didn't wait in "the line" but we waited for all our group to arrive and then inside we waited for a Vatican guide, Samantha, and then for a headset which was an essential accessory and worked well. The guide's English was excellent though she sometimes said "seventh century" when I think she meant "seventeenth". She showed us highlights of the massive collection of sculptures, frescoes, paintings, etc, and told us a few key points about them. But the place was so crowded with other tourists and their guides (and hardly any air-conditioning) that the whole experience was part enlightenment and partly a struggle to keep up with the group and keep track.. The guide had to leave us just before the Sistine chapel since she wouldn't be allowed to talk to us in there. The Sistine chapel was great, of course. I should have done some research or brought along some written information to help me appreciate it even more. My take-away is that it's best not to visit the Vatican Museum during high tourist season. I expect this tour would be a great experience in the spring or fall.
Great! Recommended!
Ginger_L, Jun 2022
Awesome experience with very knowledgeable and fun tour guide! Was crowded (June) but tour guide kept us well-informed and distracted. Would definitely recommend this tour.
Faby is the best !
Ryan_R, Jun 2022
Faby was simply the best! We loved how she knew everything, and answered all of her questions! Her tour is what I would highly recommend to anyone coming to the Vatican!
Monica was amazing tour...
Deanna_O, May 2022
Monica was amazing tour guide who has so much wealth of knowledge. The group loved the tour and would highly recommend it.
Early entry is worth it!
Russell_A, May 2022
Thank you to Raffa for a wonderful and informative tour. There’s so much to see, and Raffa made sure we got to the best of the Vatican.
Amazing trip!
Mitchell_M, May 2022
Our guide was extremely knowledgeable and kept the tour moving on time while making it really enjoyable! Sign up now, you won’t be disappointed.
Amazing Vatican tour
Helen_O, Apr 2022
Our guide, Sarah was incredible. She brought everything to life, gave lots of inside knowledge and was so friendly and helpful. We would have missed so much by walking around on our own. Sarah was able to pick out and point out all the highlights. Couldn’t recommend it highly enough.
An inside look at the Vatican
Rachel_K, Apr 2022
Fantastic tour! Our guide was knowledgable and thorough. We saw many of the apartments and smaller galleries and ended the tour in the Sistine Chapel. The entire experience lasted three hours and my 8 and 13 year old kids did not complain. Highly recommend.
Excellent!! Recommended
Gil_D, Apr 2022
Guide was excellent!! She was attentive all Vatican staff where expecting us very organized no lines!!! Even on good Friday.
Excellent
Rachel_K, Apr 2022
Fabulous guide, very knowledgeable and friendly, went above and beyond. Highly recommend. Such a wonderful experience, thank you
Papa Franc brings the Vatican to life
Mark_S, Mar 2022
The tour guide , Papa Franc , was excellent. Obviously very knowledgable but he also made the tour great fun . The art works , sculptures , frescos and the Sistine chapel were stunning
Response from Host, Apr 2022
Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a great review! We strive to always offer the best guides and service and we are delighted to hear that you had an amazing experience with Franco on our Priviledge Entrance Vatican Tour! We hope to welcome you again soon on one of our tours! Thanks The Tour Guy Team
Extremely disappointed
Deanna_M, Mar 2022
It was impressive to see the Vatican, and the Sistine Chapel in person. However, given the tour was titled privileged entrance, we were expecting something that was exclusive in some way. There was nothing privileged about this tour. After we arrived, the guide talked to us for an hour before we’re actually went inside the museum. We wasted an hour sitting in the lobby listening to our guide talk about Michelangelo when we could have been actually seeing the museum. We had expected early access to the Sistine chapel. However, we did not get in until 10;30am, 2.5 hours after our “tour” began. By then the chapel was packed with visitors. The guide was dull. The experience frustrating and extremely disappointing. We all felt it was a waste of time and money. We would have been better off on our own.
Response from Host, Mar 2022
Thanks for your review. We are disappointed to read your feedback, as we always aim to provide our customers with memorable experiences. Our Vatican Privileged is one of our best selling tours and consistently receives positive ratings. We would like to have the chance to discuss this in more detail, to understand what went wrong in this circumstance. We would have liked to contact you but, as we are not able to see your full name on the review, unfortunately we cannot retrieve your details on our records. Our Customer Service team would be happy to hear from you on +1-888-290-5595 to discuss this further. Many thanks, The Tour Guy Team
Very good tour. The guide...
john_h, Mar 2022
Very good tour. The guide Raffa was very knowledgeable and had lots of interesting facts to share. She brought the story of The Vatican City and its history to life.
Response from Host, Mar 2022
Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a great review! We strive to always offer the best guides and service and we are delighted to hear that you had an amazing experience with Raffa on our Privileged Vatican and Sistine Chapel tour! We hope to welcome you again soon on one of our tours! Thanks The Tour Guy Team
Rubbish
Elizabeth_R, Feb 2022
The guide wasn’t at the meeting point and when re repeatedly called the given number no one picked up. The next day we still not have had a call.
Response from Host, Feb 2022
Hi Elizabeth, I am very sorry to hear that you didn't have a positive experience with us. We have investigated the matter and your guide was at the designated Meeting Point for the tour for nearly one hour after the meeting time indicated on your voucher. As you were the only clients booked on this particular tour, she waited longer than usual. We had other tours scheduled at the same time with other guides and all clients showed up, so the people at the Meeting Point interacted with the guide who was due to lead your tour and confirmed she was there. It is therefore particularly disappointing to hear that you weren't able to find each other and we would like to hear from you to discuss this in more detail. My colleagues in Customer Service will contact you today to discuss the matter further and to clarify the issue. Many thanks, The Roman Guy Team
Very knowledgeable tour guide
John_F, Oct 2021
Our tour guide, Raffa, was extremely knowledgeable and made our tour a terrific experience. She was considerate of all the members of our group, even if one or two needed special assistance. We feel very fortunate to have been able to appreciate all that we saw at the Vatican.
Response from Host, Nov 2021
Dear John, Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a great review! We strive to always offer the best guides and service and we are delighted to hear that you had an amazing experience with Raffa! We hope to welcome you again soon on one of our tours! Thanks The Roman Guy Team
Even My Husband Enjoyed this Tour:)
Lisa_H, Oct 2021
We were in Rome for a very short stay so , of course, the Vatican City was at the top of my list to see while we were there. We were a bit worried about the meeting spot but it was very easy to find and there were people from the tour group waiting for us. Our small group had the good fortune to get Sara as our guide. Sara is a Vatican-certified guide and spoke flawless English. Not only does she has an amazing knowledge of the Vatican Museum, Sistine Chapel and St. Peter's Basilica but she has personality plus which made our tour even more enjoyable. My husband is not the biggest history buff around and even he enjoyed this tour:) Exceptional Value for the cost.
Response from Host, Nov 2021
Dear Lisa, Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a great review! We strive to always offer the best guides and service and we are delighted to hear that you and your husband had an amazing experience with Sara on our Privileged Entrance Vatican Tour! We hope to welcome you again soon on one of our tours! Thanks The Tour Guy Team
Privileged Entrance Vatican Tour with Sistine Chapel - Wonderful!
Cheryl_B, Sep 2021
Our tour guide was Cristiana Ventura and she was amazing! Such a wealth of knowledge and perspective with her art and archaeology background. Among our favorites on the tour were the carriage pavilion, the gallery of maps, and of course the Sistine Chapel. Seeing the masters' works - Michelangelo, Raphael, Leonardo da Vinci, and even a van Gogh and a Picasso or two - in person after seeing them only in books was magical. Truly a privilege to visit, see, and learn about this historic place. When visiting, keep in mind that there are hundreds of stairs to negotiate and a lot of walking on marble floors. Comfortable footwear and clothing is a must!
Easy meeting and good tour
Kelly_P, Sep 2021
Tour guide was very knowledgeable and took us to see all the highlights of the Vatican and St. Peter’s basilica. Meeting point was easy to find.
1 traveler found this review helpful
Great extensive tour
Yogini_K, Aug 2021
Very well informed and extensive view of the Vatican . There is a lot of ground to cover and it would take weeks to cover the whole area in detail but the tour gives you a lot of info. Raf is a well prepared guide
1 traveler found this review helpful
Fantastic Tour!
Lori_B, Jul 2021
Fantastic tour with a very knowledgable guide! Definitely recommend to anyone visiting Rome. The early entrance avoided the major crowds.
Response from Host, Aug 2021
Hi Lori! Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review and for your commendation! We're glad you had a great experience and got to skip the major crowds. We hope to see you again soon!
...

Questions?

Product code: 24338P1