Search for "Paris" or "Colosseum"
Book online or call: (888) 651-9785

The Coronado Experience: History, Haunts and Ghostly Tales

Coronado, United States
  • 1 hour 30 minutes (approx.)
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English

Overview

Discover the hidden and haunted history of Coronado Island, from gilded mansions and historic hotels to shipwrecks, secret tunnels, and paranormal sightings. On this insiders' walking tour, visit landmark locations like the former Spreckels mansion, Coronado Beach, and the Hotel del Coronado, home of San Diego's most famous ghost. Plus, get local recommendations on where to shop, dine, and explore from an official Coronado ambassador guide.
  • Learn the rich and fascinating history of San Diego's Coronado Island
  • Stop at haunted locations and quirky spots that many visitors miss
  • One of the only tours that actually takes you inside a historic mansion
  • Get tips on how to make the most of your time on Coronado

What's Included

  • Complimentary Water and Soft Drinks

    Meeting And Pickup

    Meeting point

    • DONUT BEACH Coronado Beach Company
      1339 Orange Ave Suite 1, Coronado, CA 92118, USA

      Coronado Beach Company is located between Miguel's and Brigantine restuarants - in the El Cordova Hotel Plaza.

    Start time

    04:00 PM

    End point

    This activity ends back at the meeting point.

    What To Expect

    Additional Info

    • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
    • Wheelchair accessible
    • Stroller accessible
    • Service animals allowed
    • Near public transportation
    • Transportation is wheelchair accessible
    • Surfaces are wheelchair accessible
    • Most travelers can participate
    • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 20 travelers

    Cancellation Policy

    You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

    • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
    • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
    • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
    • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
    • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
    • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

    about cancellations.

    Frequently Asked Questions

    The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.

    Q:What is the policy on sanitization during The Coronado Experience: History, Haunts and Ghostly Tales?

    A:The policy on sanitization is:
    • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas

    Q:What is the social distancing policy during The Coronado Experience: History, Haunts and Ghostly Tales?

    A:The policy on social distancing is:
    • Contactless payments for gratuities and add-ons

    Q:What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during The Coronado Experience: History, Haunts and Ghostly Tales?

    A:The policy on staff health & safety is:
    • Guides required to regularly wash hands

    Traveler Photos

    Reviews
    4.0
    17 reviews
    Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    Reviews by Viator travelers.
    Showing 1-5 of 17 reviews
    Great Tour
    rhondam019, Sep 2021
    We had a great time- everyone in our group (adults & kids ages 7 & 12) really enjoyed it. I would recommend this tour, it was a combo of some ghost stories of course but also lots of Coronado history which was interesting!
    Response from Host, Nov 2021
    Your entire group was amazing! Thank you so much for sharing this and looking forward to seeing you all again!
    1 traveler found this review helpful
    Very disappointed
    Tamara_D, Aug 2021
    We purchased tickets on line. Email came back with a different name. Then I messaged company to assure all confirmed before driving there and they cancelled saying they didn’t have enough employees to do it.
    Response from Host, Nov 2021
    Dear Tamara, There was glitch in the system and we humbly apologize for this issue. You are so very welcome in our shop anytime for a complimentary your and donuts. All the best, Tony
    Ok coronado
    Stanley_G, Jul 2021
    Tour was disappointing. Most of tour was spending watching a film of the old hotel. Excepted to see old hotel not a film. Scheduled for an hour barely lasted 40 minutes.
    Response from Host, Aug 2021
    Our most sincere apologies for our Tour not living up to your expectations. We will do our best to keep making the Tours a better experience for all and hope you will visit us again soon.
    Good
    Jenie_P, Jun 2021
    My kids enjoyed the ghost story that the tour guide Liz mentioned. Liz was pleasant! We liked the donuts that they gave us also.
    Response from Host, Aug 2021
    Wonderful having you along. Thank you for sharing!
    Tourist in your hometown
    Donya_K, May 2021
    This was so much fun and really interesting. Liz made the walk fun and we had a great time. I’m a San Diego native and am becoming more of a tourist in my own home and it’s fantastic. The weather was perfect. Rediscovery of Coronado and the history behind it was great fun and our guide, Liz was outstanding. I’ve been so many times and some of the sites Liz took us to I hadn’t seen/noticed. Very knowledgeable and the donuts at the end were just the perfect end to our tour. Thanks!!
    Response from Host, Aug 2021
    Thank you so much Donya! We loved having you here!
    1 traveler found this review helpful

    Questions?

    Product code: 291917P1