San Juan
Book online or call: (888) 651-9785

Old San Juan Sunset Walk & Taste Food Tour

San Juan, Puerto Rico
Likely to Sell Out

From $149.00

Select Date and Travelers

Non-refundable
You will not receive a refund if you cancel.
  • 3 hours (approx.)
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English

Overview

Stroll through San Juan's evening twilight in the company of a guide, stopping to taste traditional Puerto Rican dishes, on this 3-hour food tour. Make five stops focused on family-run establishments and local ingredients, tasting at each one. Your guide will show you hidden gems that you might not ordinarily find on your own and orient you to the culinary culture and history of San Juan.
  • Immerse yourself in the history and culture of Old San Juan
  • Seven tastings add up to a full meal
  • Two alcoholic beverages included throughout the tour
  • Guide to answer any culinary questions
Operated by:

What's Included

  • All taxes, fees and handling charges
  • Walking history & culture tour
  • 4-5 stops and up to 7 tastings
  • Local multilingual guide
  • Alcoholic Beverages
  • Food and drinks, unless specified
  • Gratuities
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
  • Transportation to/from attractions

Meeting And Pickup

Meeting point

  • Plaza de Armas
    Plaza de Armas, San Juan, 00916, Puerto Rico

    Your guide will be by the fountain in Plaza de Armas with a blue umbrella. Please plan accordingly and arrive 10 minutes prior to start time. Tour starts promptly! Once the guide has left the meeting location, guests may no longer join the tour. Please note we are on Atlantic Standard Time (AST).

Start time

04:00 PM

End point

  • Plaza de Armas
    Plaza de Armas, San Juan, 00916, Puerto Rico

    The ending point varies but it will be walking distance from the meeting point.

What To Expect

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Minimum drinking age is 18 years
  • Puerto Rico is hot! Wear light clothing and remember to hydrate!
  • **Allergies, Dietary Restrictions, & Dietary Preferences** Please understand that the tasting menus developed with our partners are pre-fixed and thus, all changes must be provided well in advance. Please ensure to advise of any allergies, dietary restrictions, and, or, dietary preferences at least 48hours in advance of your experience. We are only able to make substitutions with prior notice. Some examples include: dairy free, gluten free, vegan, vegetarian, pescatarian, no alcohol, no pork, no beef, shellfish allergy, nut allergy etc.) Please send us a message.
  • Tour runs rain or shine!
  • This is a walking tour through Old San Juan.
  • Transporation is not included; we recommend UBer to acccess the old city.
  • The meeting point is Plaza de Armas by the fountain. (Near Catalá Jewelry Store, Departamento del Estado and City Hall). Look for the blue umbrella!
  • In compliance with the recent Executive Order, OE-2022-019, mandated by the Puerto Rican Government, we will no longer be requiring Spoon guests to present proof of vaccination cards or negative COVID-19 test results in order to participate in our experiences. The use of masks throughout the experience (while outside) will be up to the discretion of each guest and guide, however, many establishments are still requiring that masks be worn until seated. Please bring a mask with you. Thank you for your understanding as we continue to operate in and navigate these COVID-19 times!
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 12 travelers

Cancellation Policy

This experience is non-refundable and cannot be changed for any reason. If you cancel or ask for an amendment, the amount you paid will not be refunded.

  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

    about cancellations.

    Traveler Photos

    See more

    Traveler Tips


    If you need a city tour, this is a fantastic option.
    I strongly recommend this tour if you are interested in picking up some history of this amazing place such as info on its establishment, the architecture, the forts etc.
    Reviews
    5.0
    240 reviews
    Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    Reviews by Viator travelers.
    Showing 1-10 of 240 reviews
    Lorna leads an incredible tour
    Margaret_R, Feb 2023
    Lorna was an excellent guide! An endless font of interesting knowledge and trivia, she was good-humored and did a great job leading our tour and wrangling the different personalities. The food was all delicious and the cocktails were STRONG! Would absolutely recommend to anyone looking for a tasty intro to Old San Juan.
    Response from Host, Feb 2023
    ¡Hola Margaret! We enjoyed reading your review very much! Lorna will be ecstatic about it! We're so happy that you had an amazing time, and that you savored every bite and drink! Hope to see you again soon! ¡Hasta pronto!
    Perfect
    Terrie_C, Jan 2023
    An amazing time. Great experience! I love history, and my friend is a foodie, so it was perfect! We actually came on the wrong day, and Pablo was able to get us in!
    Response from Host, Jan 2023
    ¡Hola! We're so happy that you enjoyed your time with Pablo and our delicious food and drinks! Thank you for the review and for choosing us!¡Hasta la próxima!
    Definitely do this!
    Laura_C, Dec 2022
    I enjoyed myself thoroughly. I am traveling solo, but very quickly I felt part of the group. We had an excellent tour guide who provided interesting commentary, and the food was delicious! I would highly recommend!
    Response from Host, Dec 2022
    ¡Hola Laura! Thank you for this nice review! We're so happy that you felt part of the group and enjoyed our history, food and drinks! Hope to see you soon! ¡Hasta pronto! & Happy Holidays!😀
    A wonderful evening!
    Diane_M, Dec 2022
    Cristina, our guide, could not have been nicer, knowledgeable and helpful. The drinks and food were delicious. Great tour.
    Response from Host, Dec 2022
    ¡Hola Diane! We're so happy that you had a great time with Cristina. Thank you so much for choosing us and we hope to see you again! See you soon and Happy Holidays!😀
    Yummy
    Elisabeth_B, Dec 2022
    Pablo was amazing! He was knowledgeable and passionate about the tour. The food and drinks were so good. Looking forward to visiting those again. Highly recommend!
    Response from Host, Dec 2022
    ¡Hola Elisabeth! Thank you so much for your lovely review! We're so happy that you had an amazing time with Pablo (we call him WikiPablo) and enjoyed our food and drinks! Hope to see you again soon! ¡Hasta pronto! Happy Holidays!🤩
    Never happened (of course, they are emphatic about no refund)
    Lori_N, Nov 2022
    We got an Uber yo Plaza de Armas and arrived about 15 minutes before 4:00. We walked around the fountain continuously, searching for our guide with the blue umbrella. Concerned we were in the wrong spot, we asked both a paramedic and a police officer if that was the fountain at Plaza de Armas and they confirmed it was. After 20 or so minutes, we gave up. And there went $300. I've also contacted our tour guide with the explanation and received no response. I'm very disappointed as this was the only event we my son and I were doing here in San Juan.
    Response from Host, Jan 2023
    Dear Lori, We at Spoon strive to deliver the best experience possible, pride ourselves on excellent customer service and stand by the value our experiences represent. That being said, I am sorry to hear you were not able to join our experience and that you felt compelled to leave a damaging one star review. Even though we have a strict late arrivals policy, your guide waited an extra 10 minutes in the plaza before starting the tour. A no point at or around 4pm did you reach out letting us know you would be late or that you had trouble finding the location. We checked our call logs and did not receive any calls from you. Its wasn’t until 4:44pm that you sent us a note- about 1 hour after the time we ask everyone to meet. If you could not find us why did you not message us at 4pm? Even though you missed the tour, those spots were saved for you which means others couldn't book them AND we had to incur in the costs for all your tastings. We even refunded you for one ticket which you fail to mention in your review. I am so saddened by this review - we did absolutely nothing wrong. It's so easy to give someone a 1 star but takes months to rebuild the ranking. My team and I have worked so hard for the last 10 years to get where we are. I personally sent you several messages through Viator and received no response. Best regards, Paulina
    2 travelers found this review helpful
    Very Satisfied
    Sabrina_R, Nov 2022
    Best food tour I've ever been on. I was so full at the end, I could barely walk. Guide was informative and engaging. She knew all her history and really made this a wonderful experience. Oh the coffee sip had us up until 5am...haha
    Response from Host, Nov 2022
    ¡Hola Sabrina! Thank you so much for considering us the best food tour you've ever been on! We're so happy that you had a great time with us and enjoyed our food to the fullest! And yes, Puerto Rican ☕️ is strong, we loooveee coffee🤩. Hope you visit the Island in the near future and join us again. ¡Hasta pronto! Happy Holidays!
    Must do!!!
    Gisselle_M, Oct 2022
    I must say, out of all the tours this one was the absolute best! Elliot was our guide and he was amazing! My group of friends and I learned a lot about Old San Juan and we were able to try multiple dishes as well as alcoholic beverages. I must say, the watermelon mojito stole my heart. I recommend this tour to anyone who is new and want to explore this area. It is definitely worth the price for everything you get.
    Response from Host, Oct 2022
    ¡Hola Gisselle! We're elated to know that you had an awesome time with Elliot and that you enjoyed all of our food and drinks (specially the watermelon mojito ;-) Thank you for this lovely review and for recommending our experiences! We hope to see you in the near future! ¡Hasta la próxima!
    1 traveler found this review helpful
    buen brovecho!
    Blake_A, Oct 2022
    Wow! The food, cocktails and our guide Pablo were amazing! I learned so many interesting things about the city and local culture, which was an added bonus to the incredible food. Highly recommended if you're in or around Old San Juan.
    Response from Host, Oct 2022
    ¡Hola Blake! We're so happy to know that you had an amazing time tasting our delicious food and learning about our culture with Pablo, or as we call him: WikiPablo :-) Thank you so much for this lovely review and for recommending us! Hope to see you again! ¡Hasta pronto!
    She was knowledgeable and...
    Katrea_L, Aug 2022
    She was knowledgeable and personable. She was really helpful when my friend was late and whe assiste us in finding parking. I loved it!! Plus the food was really good
    Response from Host, Aug 2022
    ¡Hola Katrea! We're so happy that we had the opportunity to host you and that you loved it! Thank you so much for a great review and for choosing us! ¡Hasta Luego!
    Thank you Cristina!
    Jackson_M, Aug 2022
    The food was good, the drinks were even better. Viejo San Juan is beautiful. What really made this tour great was our guide, Cristina, she was very sweet and engaging and full of information about Puerto Rican culture and food. She is awesome.
    Response from Host, Aug 2022
    ¡Hola! It's so nice to hear from you! Thank you so much for your feedback, Cristina will be so excited that you had a great time! It was a pleasure hosting you! Keep enjoying your summer and we're hoping to see you on your next visit to Puerto Rico!
    Our tour guide Christiana...
    Cassie_B, Jul 2022
    Our tour guide Christiana was the best!!! She was patient and sweet and knowledgeable! However, please arrive on time because they will start without you and you will loose money.
    Response from Host, Aug 2022
    Hi Cassie, We're so glad you enjoyed your tour and loved Cristina! Yes, we try our best to provide all guests with the best experience! Starting on time is respectful for everybody involved in each experience: our guests, guides and partners. Everything is planned ahead of time so everything runs smoothly for you! Although you received a confirmation and reminder email, you messaged us a few minutes prior to tour start time, asking when we would be picking you up. As clearly stated in all communications, the meeting point was in Old San Juan. Your lack of planning and attention to detail, caused a major delay (you arrived to the tour 1 hour late) and disrupted the experience more than once. We made several exceptions to have you join late, which is outside of our protocols. We provided you the information of the first stop, so you could meet up with the rest of the group, but at 5pm (keep in mind tour started at 4pm) - when the guide was leaving the first stop, you still weren't there to meet her. We spoke on the phone numerous times; we even spoke with locals walking next to you in the Old City so they could point you in the right direction. At this point, the tour was well on its way and we could no longer keep interrupting the guide who was focused on providing the best experience to the guests on the tour. We are glad that you finally found Cristina and were able to experience our tour. Going forward whenever you book an experience (anywhere!) we highly suggest you familiarize yourself with confirmation emails and ask any questions ahead of time! That way, the overall experience will be smooth for all. Thanks again for touring with us and for visiting Puerto Rico!
    Great food paired with history
    Ellandrea_M, Jul 2022
    Our amazing tour guide Christina gave us a bit of history and backstory with every delicious item we tried. Everything was a generous portion and worth the money. This was a great way to see and taste the flavors of Old San Juan.
    Response from Host, Jul 2022
    Hi Ellandrea, so happy that you had a great time with us! Cristina will be so excited to hear about your review! It was our pleasure to host you!
    See & Eat Puerto Rico Tour
    Samuel_J, Jul 2022
    Pablo, our tour guide, was very informative and knowledgeable while entertaining. The food is excellent and good portions so you don't want to eat too much before the tour. Highly recommended!
    Response from Host, Jul 2022
    Thank you so much for a wonderful review! We call Pablo, WikiPablo, he knows about everything! And he's going to be so happy that you had fun! Hope to host you again and fill you up with delicious food and drinks!
    Tour and taste Old San Juan!!!
    Maria_O, Jun 2022
    This trip was great from start to finish! If you think you won’t get enough to eat, think again!! You will end up with a full belly and a full understanding of each stop that you make! Monica (the tour guide) was great!!! Very personable, knowledgeable and funny!!! Would recommend this tour to everyone!!!
    Response from Host, Jun 2022
    Thank you for the stellar recommendation Maria! We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed the tour, tastings and found your guide Monica to be a great host. Thanks again for choosing to experience Puerto Rico with us and for supporting small businesses!
    Elliot was the best!!!
    Chantelle_T, Jun 2022
    We love the tour. Elliot was very knowledgeable and showed his excitement and passion for what he did. He made the tour a lot of fun and told us a lot about the history of San Juan. He made our first day in San Juan very memorable. The food was delicious also and so were the drinks. He takes great pride in his culture.
    Taste Of Puerto Rico! A must do!
    Patricia_G, Jun 2022
    Lorna did an excellent job managing our group and coordinating with the different restaurants so that we were seated and served quickly. The food choices were very tasty and Lorna's knowledge of Puerto Rican history was very interesting!
    1 traveler found this review helpful
    Great activity!!
    Ulissa_S, May 2022
    Desi was our tour guide and she was very nice and informative. She knew her facts and history…the tastings are a good portion as well as the drinks my husband and i enjoyed ourselves i would deff recommend doing this if you want to taste authentic Puertorican food
    Great way to enjoy a little of Old San Juan!
    Keri_R, May 2022
    Great food, great drinks and great info on the history of Puerto Rico. Would recommend when visiting. Our tour guide Lorna was very informative and we had a great time meeting new people.
    Fabulous and fun. Best food tour ever!
    Bebe_G, Apr 2022
    I would give this 10 stars if I could. The food and drink choices were delicious - terrific value for the price. Having a fun guide to fill in the food history and ensure the group of strangers had a fun time was a big plus. Do not hesitate - take this tour!
    ...

    Questions?

    Product code: 7051P4