Recent Searches
Clear
icon_solid_phone
Book online or call: (888) 651-9785(888) 651-9785
chat-bubbles

Are you interested in?

Ports of Call Tours
6 Tours & Activities
Nature and Wildlife Tours
2 Tours & Activities
Catamaran Cruises
0 Tours & Activities
Why you are seeing these recommendations
Sitka Shore Excursion: Whale-Watching and Marine Life Tour

Sitka Shore Excursion: Whale-Watching and Marine Life Tour

|
Sitka, United States
icon_solid_phone
Book online or call: (888) 651-9785(888) 651-9785
chat-bubbles
Safety measures
icon2 hours  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English
Good for avoiding crowds
Safety measures
icon2 hours  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English
Good for avoiding crowds
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon2 hours  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English
Good for avoiding crowds

Operators have paid Viator more to have their experiences featured here

Overview

Soak up gorgeous landscapes aboard a smooth-sailing 26-foot Glacier Bay catamaran on this whale-watching shore excursion from Sitka. For two hours, a seasoned captain takes a small group limited to just six passengers to prime spots to watch for humpbacks, gray whales, porpoises, seals and an array of birds. Learn about the marine life you see, and return to your ship with memorable shots of wildlife in action.
  • 2-hour whale-watching tour from Sitka
  • Spot whales and other marine life on a tour from one of Alaska's most picturesque and historic communities
  • Travel in a comfortable catamaran specially designed to navigate these waters and view the wildlife from indoor and outdoor viewing decks
  • Look for humpback and gray whales, sea lions, seals, porpoises, sea otters and more than 280 bird species
  • Learn from your expert local captain about the abundant marine life in the Pacific Ocean surrounding Sitka
  • Enjoy a customized tour in a small group with a maximum of six people
  • Covered by Viator’s worry-free policy: guaranteed on-time return to your ship
Why you are seeing these recommendations
Saved to wishlist!
2-hour whale-watching and marine life tour by catamaran
18 years experience amazing visitors!
Live commentary on board
Custom, small-group tour
Snacks & bottled water
Local guide/captain
Worry-free Shore Excursion Guarantee
Gratuities
Harrigan Centennial Hall , 330 Harbor Dr, Sitka, AK 99835, USA

330 Harbor Drive

This activity will end right where it started.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Confirmation within 48 hours of booking, subject to availability
  • Dress in layers and wear comfortable shoes as the weather in Sitka is always different. The boat is heated for your comfort, but you will want to get out and enjoy the fresh air.
  • ALL tours start at Harrigan Centennial Hall 330 Harbor Drive Sitka Alaska 99835.
  • A maximum of 6 people (children and babies included) per booking
  • Please note: Wildlife sightings are very likely but are not guaranteed
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Not recommended for travelers with back problems
  • Guests must be able to step on/off boat and depending on the tide, navigate a steep wooden gangway that leads to the dock. The boat is not wheelchair accessible. Due to seat availability, as well as guest safety and comfort, passengers weighing 250 pounds (113 kilograms or 18 stone) will have to purchase an additional seat to reserve adequate space onboard the ship
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • Please take the free down town shuttles to meet us for your tour! We will be at the drop off point with yellow trimmed signs and blue jackets.
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 6 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Sitka Wildlife Tours
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Sitka Shore Excursion: Whale-Watching and Marine Life Tour?
A:The policy on face masks and attendee health is:

  • Temperature checks for travelers upon arrival
See all safety measures taken by Sitka Shore Excursion: Whale-Watching and Marine Life Tour.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Sitka Shore Excursion: Whale-Watching and Marine Life Tour?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Sitka Shore Excursion: Whale-Watching and Marine Life Tour.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Sitka Shore Excursion: Whale-Watching and Marine Life Tour?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
See all safety measures taken by Sitka Shore Excursion: Whale-Watching and Marine Life Tour.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Reviews

5.0
star-5
30 Reviews
2 stars
0
1 star
0

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 30 reviews
star-3
Boat was fun but tour started wildly late
Bryan_W
, May 2022
In short: the tour was fine. Didn’t see any whales but did see other wildlife. Tour started late and kept waiting for missing guests thus delaying everyone else and making it so there wasn’t enough time to explore the rest of the area before having to head back to the cruise ship. I’ll start by saying the boat ride was enjoyable and the captain was cool and personable even though we didn’t see any whales. Our biggest problem was scheduling related issues. We booked a tour that started shortly after our cruise ship arrived in port so that we could still have time to explore the rest of the area. When we arrived at check-in we were told the tour was delayed 30 minutes because the prior tour was running late. Disappointing but it is what it is. We walked around and explored the nearby area and when we came back for the new departure time, we were told again that we were still waiting for 2 additional guests. We ended up waiting and waiting and left almost an hour after our original tour time. If we were delayed 30 minutes why should we have waited any longer for other guests to show up? They already had an extra 30 minutes to get to the check in area.. Once we finally got out on the water we had a good time. We saw lots of otters, seals, and eagles. Unfortunately we didn’t see any whales. We should have booked a different tour that would have offered money back if we didn’t see any whales as there was no money back offer on this tour. The staff was helpful and accommodating due to the tour being late and were willing to drive us to the raptor center since that was one of the things we wanted to see before we left. Unfortunately by the time we got back into port we didn’t feel that we would have enough time there and would be rushed making the experience not as enjoyable. We appreciate the offer but would have preferred more to have the schedule run on time. We felt that it was largely a waste of a day. Didn’t see whales and didn’t really get to explore much of the town because the tour was late.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Hi Bryan, Thank you for your feed back we really appreciate hearing from you. That was a tough day for everyone, we did our best to handle the challenges the ships had with getting visitors to town on time that day. We are sad it affected you negatively we tried so hard to make sure no-one missed their tour despite the challenges. As for the Whales, no matter how much we try to train them they just don't always listen, but we will keep trying. I pray the rest of your trip went better and hope you visit Alaska again sometime.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
A perfect excursion
Elizabeth_C
, Sep 2022
Sonny made our whole experience phenomenal! What a day- so many whales! Adorable otters! Fresh air and great times!
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Our captain, Sonny was...
Tasha_B
, Jul 2022
Our captain, Sonny was great. I really enjoyed the small group experience. We saw a lot of wildlife up close.
HelpfulHelpful
star-3
Eagles and whales
Daniel_C
, Jul 2022
It was a pleasant day on the water, even if the whales and eagles were not overly active. Sonny was a knowledgeable and entertaining guide. Covered boat, and comfortable for the five guest.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Thank you for letting us be part of your Alaska Cruise! We try to get the whales to entertain our clients with amazing shows every day but they just won't sign a contract for an every day performance.Some days they are amazing and some days they are just to lazy to do anything.Take care!
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Sunny can make the Adventure of Finding dozens of Whales VERY SPECIAL!!
Suz_M
, Jul 2021
We saw so many whales! Our boat driver, Sunny was FANTASTIC!! He helped make our day exciting. He was very personable. He also knew where the Eagle’s nests were and sea lions hang out.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed yourself with Sonny! We sure are blessed to have him as our very own Captain. He is a gem for sure! Thank you for taking time out and leaving an amazing review for us while your still on your Alaska cruise! Hope you enjoy the rest of your cruise! Safe travels home!
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Amazing excursion!!
Rhonda_N
, Jul 2022
Sonny was amazing!!! Knowledgeable great all around guy! We had a blast seeing so many whales 10+, sea otters, sea lions. Eagles beautiful scenery! Definitely go - you won’t be disappointed it was our best excursion all trip.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Wonderful tour. Best of...
Barbara_H
, Sep 2022
Wonderful tour. Best of our entire cruise. We were blown away with the knowledge and professionalism that our captain displayed. We will be back!
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Captain Sonny
Kathy_R
, Jul 2022
Captain Sonny made the trip a very memorable experience! Very funny and knowledgeable! Found the whale!
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Aloha in Alaska Whale Trip!
Ashley_D
, Sep 2021
We made last minute reservations & so stoked we did! Bruce & Rhonda were welcoming and helpful. Sonny our captain was just delightful, informative & playful. He showed us eagle nests, we saw probably 20 whales, and the scenery was absolutely stunning… even with rain on and off. We see many whales where we live on Maui, and it was great to see where they feed & call home. Awesome that the boat only seats six, very comfortable. Mahalo a nui loa, thank you for the aloha in Alaska!
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Great Adventure
KATHRYN_B
, Jun 2022
The guide was great. He took us to see seals, otters, eagles and cormorants, and multiple sightings of a gray whale. He was very knowlegible about the area we were hunting wildlife in and about the animals and sea life of the area.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Wonderful tour
Darla_S
, Aug 2021
Sonny was wonderful! We saw lots and lots of whales, eagles and their nests. It was definitely a highlight of our trip!
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Being with Capt Sonny was...
Jonelle_H
, Sep 2021
Being with Capt Sonny was a great experience. As we found out through his introduction, our small group had a unique chance to be guided by a Tlingit native who knows these waters and respects these amazing mammals. His sense of humor and knowledge of the whales, eagle nesting sites and Sitka sound made this a complete joy. In his safety briefing, he asked us to help him "bring back the onboard safety vests in their unopened, unused packaging" and with his skills we safely did just that! The boat was modern, clean and comfortable. (Twin Yamaha outboards gave it plenty of get up and go when out in open water.) The tour coordinator at Centennial Hall was very well organized and checked to ensure she had us all ready to go when the boat and Capt did it was time. We definitely got our money's worth and Capt Sonny helped us all get our memory shots by telling us about the whale dive cycles so we knew when to be ready with our cameras. The fun part was trading shots with others on board! It was a great outing and we so appreciate Captain Sonny making it a great day!
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Stunning
Peter_D
, Sep 2021
Stunning. Our guide perfectly positioned us to be in the course of a pod of a half dozen humpbacks. They were spouting, breathing in, breaching, feeding and tailing on every side of the boat. Close enough to smell their fish breath, have their sounds resonate in your chest and gain an appreciation of the grace of these giants. The tour also included nesting bald eagles, otters frolicking on their backs and sea lions. Totally pleased by the skill and knowledge of our guide and the results.
HelpfulHelpful1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Great Tour, Great Tour Guide.
Tex_A
, Aug 2021
Sam was very knowledgeable and was kind and very professional. Sam took us to the whales, many whales plus eagles.
HelpfulHelpful1 traveler found this review helpful
star-4
The trip was awesome and our guide...
Eddie K
, May 2017
The trip was awesome and our guide was very knowledgeable though we saw no whales on our day......
HelpfulHelpful1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Whales, seals and eagles!
Michele_B
, Jul 2022
We loved the small 6 person group and our Captain, Sonny. He was very knowledgeable and we got close to seals, eagles and whales. Sonny was very patient and the whale swam towards us and then away splashing his beautiful tail as you can see in the picture. Heart touching to say the least to be that close to such an amazing creature.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Captain Patrick was...
Blenda_P
, May 2022
Captain Patrick was filling in and provided a wonderful experience. Seasoned and friendly—we thoroughly enjoyed our time on the water viewing whales and sea otters.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Amazing!!!!
Pari_P
, Aug 2022
The captain and Rhonda were amazing!!! We saw so many whales and he made sure we saw the sea otters and bald eagles. He was very nice and patient until we were able to see the whales. saw some amazing humpback whales! I highly recommended the tour
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Great trip!
Lee_B
, Aug 2021
We were very comfortable in his enclosed cabin. He was funny! He has a rough job! He found whales, eagles and the cutest sea otter! I’d love to go again!
HelpfulHelpful1 traveler found this review helpful

Reserve Now & Pay Later
Secure your must-do activities without being locked in
Product code: 6226SHXWHALE

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Sitka Shore Excursion: Whale-Watching and Marine Life Tour
Sitka Shore Excursion: Whale-Watching and Marine Life Tour

star-530

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$0.00

star-4.546

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$149.00

star-4.59

2 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$127.19

star-00

2 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$144.50

star-56

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$790.59
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations