Search for "Paris" or "Colosseum"
Book online or call: (888) 651-9785

Evening Rainforest & Glow Worm Experience - Small Group Tour

Surfers Paradise, Australia

From $69.64

Select Date and Travelers

Reserve Now & Pay Later
Secure your spot while staying flexible
Free cancellation
Up to 3 days in advance.
  • 4 hours (approx.)
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English
  • Good for avoiding crowds


Experience the nighttime enchantment of Mt Tamborine National Park on this unique 4WD rain forest walk and glowworm tour. At the mountain summit, stop for a light supper of cakes and hot chocolate, and soak up views of the twinkling Gold Coast from a lookout. Then, observe nocturnal wildlife by torchlight with a guided bushwalk through the rain forest, where you’ll come across an ethereal waterfall illuminated by glowworms.
  • Glow-worm tour through Mt Tamborine National Park by 4WD
  • Take a guided rainforest walk to a waterfall lit by glow worms
  • See nocturnal wildlife in their natural habitat
  • Enjoy supper of cakes and a hot drink
  • Local guide and live commentary
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off

What's Included

  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
  • Local guide
  • Live commentary
  • Dessert at mountain restaurant (cake with tea/coffee/hot chocolate)
  • Guided rainforest walk
  • Umbrellas
  • Insect repellant
  • Torch / Flashlight
  • Gratuities

Meeting And Pickup

Meeting point

  • Aquaduck Gold Coast
    Shop 34 Circle On Cavill, Cavill Ave, Surfers Paradise QLD 4217, Australia

    Please meet at Aquaduck office at 6:00pm to check in for your tour. Pick ups from selected hotels available. Please contact us directly at least 24hrs prior to your tour to arrange hotel pickup. Phone +61 7 5655 0716.

Start time

06:00 PM

End point

This activity ends back at the meeting point.

What To Expect

Escape the crowds of the Gold Coast and journey inland on this serene evening adventure. After pickup at your Gold Coast hotel in a luxury 4WD vehicle, wind your way up to the summit of Mt Tamborine. Along the way, stop at a lookout for spectacular views of the coastline and ocean awash in the colors of sunset.

Get a taste of Mt Tamborine’s summit scene with a light supper at a local café. Snack on homemade cakes and biscuits served with your choice of tea, cappuccino or steaming hot chocolate.

As light fades from the sky, follow your guide on a nighttime bushwalk through the surrounding subtropical rain forest. Equipped with a low-wattage torch, experience the magic as nocturnal creatures emerge from the darkened forest. Your guide will lead the way with a high-powered LED torch for a better view of native flora and fauna. Veer off a secret path that leads to an enchanting waterfall illuminated by the light of a glowworm colony. Enjoy the silence and serenity of the forest as you admire this natural phenomenon.

After walking back to the 4WD vehicle, relax on the return ride to the Gold Coast, where your tour concludes in the late evening.

Mount Tamborine

Visit Mount Tamborine on this evening rainforest, wildlife and glow worm tour.

2 hours Admission Ticket Free

Tamborine Mountain

Explore Tamborine at night in Gold Coast's only evening Rainforest, Waterfall and Glowworm Tour. Enjoy a delicious dessert of coffee and cake at a local mountain top restuarant and stargazing on a clear night.

2 hours Admission Ticket Included

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Please wear comfortable walking shoes and a jacket for cooler evenings
  • Due to the nature of the tour weather conditions may change itinerary and wildlife spotting
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Infant seats available
  • Most travelers can participate
  • *IMPORTANT - Pick Up Starts 30minutes Prior To Tour Start Time. Please call to confirm your pickup time.
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 15 travelers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 3 days in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 3 full days before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 2 full days before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 2 full days before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

about cancellations.

Frequently Asked Questions

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.

Q:What is the policy on sanitization during Evening Rainforest & Glow Worm Experience - Small Group Tour?

A:The policies on sanitization are:
  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized

Q:What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Evening Rainforest & Glow Worm Experience - Small Group Tour?

A:The policies on staff health & safety are:
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms

Traveler Photos

See more

Traveler Tips

If you are interested in discovering these creatures in their natural habitat outside of the confines of a zoo and understanding their ecosystem, this is a wonderful tour!
137 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 137 reviews
Dress appropriately
Arun, Jul 2022
Had a great time with Marc. Very knowledgeable and eco friendly guide and encouraged. The ride was a little rough. Don't wear shorts, it gets cold there so dress appropriately for warmth (ar least in July).
Response from Host, Jul 2022
Thank you Arun for your review and feedback! Definitely good advice to dress warm! :)
Very good tour
Amanda_F, Jul 2022
Lovely friendly tour guide, Steve. Amazing rainforest experience with the glow worms & waterfall being better than expected. Just disappointed that they couldn’t pick us up from our hotel, which was actually on the pickup route and not out of the way. Not a hard thing to do & would make it a more professional service.
Response from Host, Jul 2022
Thanks for the review and feedback Amanda :)
Great evening fun
lovewombats, Jul 2022
Really great way to spend an evening. Marc was very knowledgeable and highlighting what is happening to Australian flora and fauna.
Response from Host, Jul 2022
Thank you so so much! :)
Marc our guide was very...
Terry_S, Jul 2022
Marc our guide was very knowledgeable and good fun. International tourists would find it a great short tour. From Melbourne we were astonished at the different wildlife
Response from Host, Jul 2022
Thank you Terry , We are pleased you enjoyed your trip with us and had such a great experience :)
Great tour!
Jan, Jun 2022
Eddie did a terrific job informing us of the plants, trees, and animals of that rainforest. Cake at the Manor House was amazing!
Response from Host, Jun 2022
Thanks so much for the 5 stars Jan! Sounds like you had a fab night out :)
Super fun with Kids !
Vikram_R, Jun 2022
Great experience! These guys know their stuff and are so passionate about what they do . Loved every moment of this spectacular trip. Thanks team !
Response from Host, Jun 2022
Thank you so much Vikram! We are so pleased you enjoyed your tour :)
Amber_A, Jun 2022
Nice desserts along the way, first experience seeing glow worms, special :). Not sure where else in the world can we see glow worms?!
Response from Host, Jun 2022
Thanks Amber! Very happy to hear this
Not The Best Experience
Elizabeth_K, Jun 2022
We were very dissatisfied with our experience. The tour guide not only ran more than 15 minutes late without communication, he then rushed everyone through cake/coffee. While the tour boasts a different view of the Gold Coast at night from atop Tamborine Mountain, there was no such stop. Instead, the tour guide pointed it hot very quickly on the drive and stated, “That’s it!” Not only this, but the tour advertises 12 people maximum on this “small group tour”, but there were 15 people on our tour, without any prior communication, which crammed us into a van. If we were told it would be 12 people maximum when we booked, we should have been told it would be 15 people after we had already booked and paid. The tour itself was not as intimate because of the size of the group, and the tour guide only spoke to the first few people behind him. We missed quite a bit of the commentary because of this. At the end, the tour guide did not speak with anyone on the van except the person in the passenger seat. Furthermore, the tour guide was sick and continued to cough the entire ride and did not wear a mask. Because of this experience, I would recommend other tours if you’d like to see the glow worms.
Response from Host, Jun 2022
Hi Elizabeth_K, Thank you for taking the time to write to us about your experience on our tour. The guide at times can run late due to other passengers not being on time for their pickups and traffic within the city, but apologies that this was not relayed to you on the night. We have a permit to take 15 passengers on our Glow Worm Tour and have to disagree that an extra 3 people would have spoilt the tour for you, as you were travelling in a 16 seater bus which can take 16 passengers comfortably. The guide has been reminded about wearing a mask when has a cough for everyones safety. I will be sure to pass on your feedback to management to see how we can implement your suggestions to make our tours the best they can be. Thanks again.
Tour was okay
Jonathan_P, Jun 2022
The good: Marc (our guide) is very passionate and informative and the tour did show us glow worms The bad: - Basic information (tailored towards kids) - Lack of wildlife - Not worth the price Final thoughts: - The tour was basic and lasted about 1 hour if it weren’t for the transportation or the tea and cake. The hike to the glow worms was easy (except they should double check the flash lights for battery life before hand). Based on my assessment, I would not recommend this tour to adults for the asking price. Our tour guide, Marc, was excellent and shared a lot of his research and did the best he could. The content was just not enough.
Response from Host, Jun 2022
Hi Jonathan, Thanks for your review and the feedback you have provided.
Great tour, even in the rain!
Lesley_C, May 2022
The glow worms and waterfall are well worth seeing and the guides were fun and super knowledgeable. Highly recommend this tour.
Response from Host, May 2022
Thanks a bunch Lesley :)
Do it
Katie_E, May 2022
Duff was a great guide spotting all shots of wildlife for us to see - spiders, lizards, crayfish etc. The walk was nice and easy for all ages and the cafe stop was a nice idea too
Response from Host, May 2022
Thanks Katie, great to hear you had a fantastic time :)
Nice experience, poor guide
Claire_R, May 2022
The tour guide/driver was very disorganised. We drove in circles around Surfers Paradise for 30mins without explanation. When we finally got on the way, the guide made so many wrong turns - seemed like he had no real idea where we were going. When we got to the glow worms, he didn't have much knowledge about the surrounding area or the flora and fauna. The stop at the Manor was lovely, and the glow worms themselves were good to see, but the guide really let the experience down.
Response from Host, May 2022
Hi Claire, Thank you for your feedback and review. So glad to hear you enjoyed the dessert at The Manor and also seeing the glow worms! Thanks for bringing this to our attention, the staff member in question had just finished his training, but we will revisit his hotel training again to ensure this doesn't happen. Kind Regards, SCT
Prince Edward Rules
Terry_B, Apr 2022
Edward looked after the children so we’ll and found/shared some wonderful creatures on the walk as well as the glow worms
Response from Host, May 2022
Thank you for the 5 stars!
Friendly staff: underwhelming tour.
Hannah_G, Apr 2022
Incredibly friendly staff but a very underwhelming tour. After attending a different glow worm tour in Sydney, I had high expectations for this one, but the local fauna and flora knowledge was limited. It was my partner’s first time seeing the glow worms and he was disappointed. I would recommend hiring a car and heading up for a self tour.
Response from Host, May 2022
Hi Hannah, Thank you for your review. Our sincerest apologies we have been significantly short staffed and training new staff has been very difficult due to COVID. We have now made changes to our training to ensure we are improving our standards. Kind Regards, SCT
AMAZING! highly recommend
Aleksandra_S, Mar 2022
The tour guy was amazing! Enjoyed every part of it, was an incredible experience and for sure would recommend this activity for people that want to explore the Gold Coast & nature
Response from Host, Mar 2022
Thank you so much! We hope to see you again soon :)
The Tour guide was...
Nicolle_W, Mar 2022
The Tour guide was entertaining and very knowledgeable. Highly recommend for something different whilst on the Gold coast
Response from Host, Mar 2022
Thank you Nicolle!
Great experience
Demet_W, Mar 2022
Our tour guide was amazing he was funny and entertaining knew exactly what what he was talking about and where to find creatures and animals. The stop for cake and tea at the restaurant was delicious.
Response from Host, Mar 2022
Sounds like a fantastic night Demet! Thank you so much for the 5 stars!
Beautiful nature filled evening
Jess_C, Feb 2022
What a beautiful way to spend an evening, the tour was brought to life by Eddys passion for the area and his expertise. Would highly recommend this tour to families and couples
Response from Host, Feb 2022
Hi Jess_C, Thank you for your 5 stars and kind words We hope to see you again for another adventure! Kind Regards, Southern Cross Tours
Glow worm
Ashritha_D, Jan 2022
The tour guide was amazing. Saw some amazing animals and the glow worms at night were incredible. Easy hike They offered pick up at Helensvale station which was super helpful for me. They understood I was travelling alone and made sure they dropped me back on time at the station to catch a train back home.
Response from Host, Jan 2022
Hello Ashritha_D! Thank you very much for the 5 star review! That's so awesome to hear you had such a great night out with Tour guide Harry and we hope to see you again for more rainforest adventures in the future! Kind Regards, SC Tours
Excellent experience
Kristen_D, Dec 2021
The tour guide, Harry (?), was incredibly informative and passionate about the Gold Coast, and the rainforest ecosystem. He was very engaging and knowledgeable. My 13 year old son loved hearing his science knowledge.
Response from Host, Dec 2021
Gday, Thank you so much Kristen! We are so happy to hear that and that your son had such a great time! We hope to welcome you back on tour in the future :) Kind regards, SC Tours


Product code: 2338GW01