Recent Searches
Clear
icon_solid_phone
Book online or call: (888) 651-9785(888) 651-9785

Travel update: We’re doing our best to help keep you safe and your plans flexible. Learn more.

Read More
Reserve Now & Pay Later

Jiufen Village (Chiufen) and Northeast Coast Half-Day Tour from Taipei

|
Zhongshan District, Taiwan
icon_solid_phone
Book online or call: (888) 651-9785(888) 651-9785

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults
Reserve Now & Pay Later
Secure your spot while staying flexible
Free Cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance
Loading available options...


icon4 hours  (Approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 3 more

Keeping you safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
Face masks required for travelers in public areas
Face masks required for guides in public areas
Face masks provided for travelers
Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
Social distancing enforced throughout experience
Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Gear/equipment sanitized between use
Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
Guides required to regularly wash hands
Regular temperature checks for staff
Temperature checks for travelers upon arrival
More questions?
(888) 651-9785
Chat now

Overview

Drive along the Northeast Coast National Scenic Area of northeastern Taiwan and stroll through charming Jiufen on this guided half-day tour from Taipei. Marvel at the unique rock formations at the Nanya coastline and see Pitou Cape. Pass fishing villages and pastoral farmlands before enjoying the charming teahouse-lined streets of Jiufen, also known as Chiufen. Hotel pickup and drop-off are included.
  • Guided tour of the northeast coast of Taiwan
  • Visit the quaint little village of Chiufen (Jiufen), once a gold mining center and now filled with unique teahouses
  • Amazing coastal rock formations of Nanya
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off from Taipei City included
Air-conditioned vehicle
Professional tour guide
Admission fee and entrance ticket included in the itinerary
Insurance
Hotel pick-up and drop-off (Taipei City downtown only)
Food and drinks
Gratuities

Departure Point

Traveler pickup is offered
We pick up from hotels in Taipei City Center. If the hotel lobby is located on an upper level, please meet the tour guide on the ground level of the hotel building. Exact pick-up time will be provided by local operator upon confirmation.

Departure Time

1:00 PM
Board your comfortable coach upon hotel pickup in Taipei city in the afternoon, and relax during the scenic drive along Taiwan’s northeast coast. This National Scenic Area, noted for its numerous capes and bays backed by green mountains, is a common swimming spot for the locals and a popular destination for visitors to Taipei.

Your guide passes by Chinkuashin Village and visits the emerald-colored Bitou Cape, where you can view sea-eroded landforms on the cape's hanging cliffs. 

Continue your half-day tour to the Nanya coastline along a coral shore filled with whimsical rock formations formed by weathering sandstone. Your guide explains how the striped pattern in the rock is created by oxidized iron ore. Then enjoy more postcard views at the Yin-Yang Sea (Bay of Two Colors). 

On arrival at the former gold mining village of Jiufen, be enchanted by a picturesque setting of old homes clinging to steep mountainsides. Meander past the cozy teahouses of Jiufen Old Street, a narrow, cobbled street that offers a glimpses into the past. You’ll appreciate the atmosphere that inspired the sets featured in the Oscar-winning animation Spirited Away.

Your tour ends with return transport to your Taipei hotel in the evening.
Itinerary
Stop At:  
Nanya Rock Area
Meet with your tour guide and driver in the afternoon, then take a scenic ride to the northeast part of Taipei and discover the remnants of the gold rush past. Before you reach the town of Jiufen, you will stop by Nanya, which is known for the unique rock formations eroded by sea water, lying along the coastline.
Duration: 10 minutes
Admission Ticket Free
Pass By:  
Yin Yang Sea (陰陽海)
Then you will past by Bay of Two Colors, literally a bay where the sea is split into two colors – yellow and blue. The Chinese name “Ying Yang Sea” is given because the contrasting colors are associated with the Chinese Yin and Yang symbol.
Stop At:  
Jinguashi 13 Ruins
Next, you will stop by Jinguashi Remains of the 13 Levels. Established in the 1940s, this copper and gold refining plant was shut down in the 1980s due to the exhausting of mine ore. From far away, this building looks like an abandoned palace, and becomes a popular shooting spot for music video and TV commercials.
Duration: 10 minutes
Admission Ticket Free
Stop At:  
Chiufen (Jiufen Old Street)
Finally, the last stop and also the highlight of this tour – Jiufen. Flourished in the 1940s due to the gold mining industry, even though the golden age has long gone, this small town still has lots of stories to tell. The movie “A City of Sadness” directed by award winning director Hou Hsiao-hsien, made Jiufen once again brought to people’s attention and become the most popular tourist spot in Northern Taiwan. You may take a sit in one of these unique tea shops, and enjoy a picturesque view of the town. Or stroll along the street, where you may enjoy a little shopping for the local snacks and souvenirs. If you have a sweet tooth, don’t miss opportunity to try the famous local snack “Taro Balls”! Your tour ends with return transport to your Taipei hotel in the late afternoon.
Duration: 1 hour 20 minutes
Admission Ticket Free
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking, unless booked within 15 hours of travel. In this case confirmation will be received as soon as possible, subject to availability
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Not recommended for travelers with back problems
  • Not recommended for pregnant travelers
  • Times and sequences are subject to change according to the weather and traffic condition.
  • Not recommended for travelers with knee problems.
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 35 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Edison Travel Service

For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Jiufen Village (Chiufen) and Northeast Coast Half-Day Tour from Taipei?
A:
The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Face masks provided for travelers
  • Temperature checks for travelers upon arrival
See all safety measures taken by Jiufen Village (Chiufen) and Northeast Coast Half-Day Tour from Taipei.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Jiufen Village (Chiufen) and Northeast Coast Half-Day Tour from Taipei?
A:
The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Jiufen Village (Chiufen) and Northeast Coast Half-Day Tour from Taipei.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Jiufen Village (Chiufen) and Northeast Coast Half-Day Tour from Taipei?
A:
The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Jiufen Village (Chiufen) and Northeast Coast Half-Day Tour from Taipei.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Jiufen Village (Chiufen) and Northeast Coast Half-Day Tour from Taipei?
A:
The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
See all safety measures taken by Jiufen Village (Chiufen) and Northeast Coast Half-Day Tour from Taipei.
Q:
What is the maximum group size during Jiufen Village (Chiufen) and Northeast Coast Half-Day Tour from Taipei?
A:
This activity will have a maximum of 35 travelers.

See all safety measures taken by Jiufen Village (Chiufen) and Northeast Coast Half-Day Tour from Taipei.

Traveler Photos

Traveler Tips


  • "very interesting streets, lots of stairs so not suitable for elderly" See review
  • "If you want a 1/2 day tour, this is a good one." See review
  • "A good half day getaway to see the Jiufen Village market, and the Coastline, great food and shopping market at Jiufen!" See review

Reviews

4.0
star-4
227 Reviews
5 stars
88
4 stars
86
3 stars
25
2 stars
17
1 star
11
Reviews by Viator travelers
Showing 1-10 of 227 reviews
star-5
One of the best tours I have ever had
solcravero
, Jan 2020
So much fun! Tour Guide was so nice and funny, always making sure that we learn about the places, rather than only driving us there to take some photos. A fantastic experience. Thanks!
icon Response from Host , Jan 2020
Thank you for sharing a review about this tour. We are happy to learn that you were satisfied with our tour guide's service and also fully enjoyed this tour. We look forward to see you again in the near future. :)
star-1
Worst Tour Ever
jacat14
, Dec 2019
A visit to Jiufen is to experience total chaos! Tour buses are not allowed to Jiufen so we were dropped off at a bus depot to be transferred to bigger tourist buses. Except some of these buses are not tourist buses but buses similar to what's being used at airports so seating was limited. Some tourists ended up standing on an uphill trip to Juifen. Not ideal for middle aged or older tourist. I don't know why they do not provide everyone with proper tourist bus since I am sure we all paid the same fare for the trip. Once you reach Juifen, its difficult to appreciate the village as it's foggy and raining. I believe it rains in Juifen 200 days in a year so I dont understand why no effort is made to ensure the whole alley where all the shops are located are covered. Some stores have awning but others don't so navigating the alley that is crowded with a lot of tourists while trying to hold an umbrella is not ideal and certainly far from an enjoyable experience. The worst part came when we were to depart Juifen. We were ready to leave a little past 5 so we went to the bus stop to board the tourist buses again except that apparently, the last bus that we opted not to take since it did not have seating for everybody in the tour group was the last bus from Juifen. There is no sign anywhere about the times that these buses run and our tour guide didnt seem to know as well and not being able to understand chinese, we couldn't catch the conversations between our tour guide and the "operators" of the tourist buses. There are still a lot of tourists at Juifen so we were really confused about the whole situation. The meeting time was decided by our tour guide . If we had known about the schedule of the buses, so we could have left a few minutes earlier. We eventually reached the bus depot but not without significant delay. Overall, this is definitely not worth the trip.
icon Response from Host , Jan 2020
Dear Sir/ Madame, We are very sorry about the poor service that you experienced during this tour. Due to the holiday traffic control, private buses were not allowed to access the main street in Jiufen, therefore visitors had to take the shuttle bus from the bus stop near the parking. Regarding the holiday timetable of the shuffle bus, we will speak with the tour guide and investigate the problem very soon. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience during this tour.
star-4
Jiufen tour
veenats2019
, Dec 2019
I was with 7 other members of the same group. the trip was interesting and we could have spent more time at the village. Overall a very well organised trip.
star-4
Well organized and easy going
Olivier C
, Dec 2019
The van for 8 persons was brand new and well equipped. Sites of interest were visited and our guide was really willing to take care and please the group
star-5
Jiufen 1/2 day tour
debldean54
, Nov 2019
If you want a 1/2 day tour, this is a good one. We got out to see the gorgeous coastline of Taiwan. And though it was crowded, we enjoyed the narrow street market we walked through in Jiufen. Our tour guide, Jenny, was terrific: information, friendly, and cheerful. If you take this tour, you will be glad you did.
star-4
Swamped by Tourists, But in Scenic Location and Interesting History
davestan12016
, Nov 2019
Driving the East China Sea coast was very good experience with attractive coastal features. Jiufen Village itself was overcrowded and any charm eroded by the tourist hoard and the surly store keepers especially the woman in the fancier tea shop. It only gets 2 stars. You wonder if the place can sustain this level of visitors. The views from the village were spectacular though. The guide was good and related the history well. Overall tour 4 stars.
star-5
Amazing place but a quick trip
sahar i
, Oct 2019
The Jiufen village and Northeast coast were both beautiful places with amazing views and scenery. The tour guide was friendly and supportive, kept giving us information about the places. But I would have liked more time at each of those places and was disappointed with getting only 10 minutes at Northeast coast and 1.5 hour at the Jiufen village.
star-3
Too short tour that would benefit by some changes
Fearless139930
, Sep 2019
The tour is short and would benefit by reducing the time spent at a market (more than hour) and adding a visit to other site; for instance to a temple as some nice ones were seen in the area. Some are named gold temples because gold miners attended to pray for them as gold mining is a risky work. The guide was a nice man who spoke English well.
star-3
Good but could of been a bit better
danielmencis78
, Aug 2019
The overall tour was good, however the guides English was not great she tried hard but as she was trying to find the right words she made it boring.....
star-2
Lovely views, but Jiufen is overcrowded
steffen151
, Aug 2019
Wanted to get out of Taipei to see something else. Was picked up at hotel in a comfortable car, by a charming guide who told interesting stories about the destination on the way there. Beautiful nature, but Jiufen was horrific. An overcrowded "tourist-trap", comparable to the bazaar in Marrakesh. If you enjoy crowded, narrow streets full of street vendors, this is for you. If you like quaint, relaxed villages. find something else. I prefer the latter.

Reserve Now & Pay Later
Secure your must-do activities without being locked in
Product code: 3071HG

Explore Similar Things to Do