Recent Searches
Clear
icon_solid_phone
Book online or call: (888) 651-9785(888) 651-9785

We’re committed to helping you feel confident as you get back out there. Check out our flexible cancellation policies and learn what steps operators are taking to keep you safe. As conditions evolve, check local regulations for the latest information.

Read More
Reserve Now & Pay Later

Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

star-4.5
|
Taormina, Italy
icon_solid_phone
Book online or call: (888) 651-9785(888) 651-9785

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults
Reserve Now & Pay Later
Secure your spot while staying flexible
Free Cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance
Loading available options...


icon8 hours  (Approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 2 more
Good for avoiding crowds

Overview

Explore Europe’s largest active volcano this day trip to Mt Etna from Taormina. Relax with transportation to the base station of Rifugio Sapienza and then take off through the foothills for some time to spend hiking at your leisure. Alternatively, upgrade your ticket for a trip up to the upper craters and a guided walking tour through the volcanic craters. Soak up scenic views from the UNESCO-listed spot before concluding with transportation back to Taormina.
  • Travel to Etna’s base station at Rifugio Sapienza
  • Enjoy time at leisure to trek around the foothills of Mount Etna
  • See the famous Monti Silvestri Craters near Rifugio Sapienza
  • Optional upgrade to visit Mount Etna up to 3000 meters height with an Alpine guide
Hop aboard your coach in central Taormina and travel one hour inland to Mount Etna. Set in the middle of a national park, the notoriously active volcano dominates the surrounding landscape.

Step out at Rifugio Sapienza, the volcano’s base station. Your host will point you in the direction of the impressive Monti Silvestri Craters before you take off exploring the foothills at your own speed. Discover the myriad hiking trails along the way and soak up incredible views from all over the national park. When you’ve worked up an appetite, head to Rifugio Sapienza’s restaurant (own expense), located conveniently nearby.

Alternatively, upgrade your experience with a guided trip to the volcano’s upper crater. Travel up by cable car and then by jeep to the crater zones at roughly 9,800 feet (3,000 meters). Led by licensed guides from the Italian Alpine Club, admire the craters and take in panoramic views.

Your tour will conclude with transportation back to Taormina.
Itinerary
Pass By:  
Giardini Naxos
Pick up point only on request.
Pass By:  
Taormina
Pick up point only on request.
Pass By:  
Letojanni
Pick up only on request.
Stop At:  
Mount Etna
Visit Sicily’s famously fiery volcano, the magnificent Mount Etna, on a day trip from Taormina.
Duration: 2 hours 
Admission Ticket Free
Stop At:  
Craters Silvestri of Mount Etna
Reach Rifugio Sapienza 1900 meters
Duration: 2 hours 
Admission Ticket Included

Traveler Photos

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
150 Reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star
Reviews by Viator travelers
star-4
Etna
susiecottonsock
, Nov 2019
Didn't realise how commercialised etna was. Nice courier, big coach, view was fantastic from the top, we were lucky, no clouds. Enjoyable trip.
icon Response from Host , Dec 2019
Hello, it is quite normal that the highest volcano in Europe is considered an important destination for tours and activities. At least you were lucky with the weather and the visibility was fine. We send you our best. Guest Relations Manager SAT Group
star-1
Worst travel experience ever
c0linfletcher
, Oct 2019
Was no more than a very expensive return bus trip. Poorly organised, long queues, all very rushed and chaotic.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2019
Dear Customer, we are surprised to read your very short review that describes without giving further details on the organization, in order to better understand your points. We are sorry if the tour did not meet your expectations. Regarding the queues, it would have been better for you to choose the Etna Sunset Tour with small numbers and no chaos at all. Maybe next time you can experience a different mood on Mount Etna. Greetings from Taormina, Guest Relations Manager SAT Group
star-4
Great attraction badly organised
Catherine D
, Sep 2019
The trip up Mount Etna is well worth it. Amazing views and if you go the extra to 3000 meters you are almost at the top of the mountain. The only thing which let our tour down was the lack of organization. The ticket booth and cable car entry is quite narrow and chaotic. Out tour guide told us to wait for her and then at the top rushed off with half the group to pick up the guide leaving the rest of us behind to sort out our own tour of the craters. I think it actually worked out better for us so my tip is to go round by yourself.
star-1
Over crowded - more transit than volcano
Fran_Power_Maurer
, Sep 2019
We paid for the full tour of the cable car and 4x4. We were collected late at 9am then spent almost 2 hours driving to the volcano - we had to wait to get on the cable car and when we got to the top we had to wait over an hour for the 4x4 to get to the top of the volcano. We spent so much time waiting that when we got to the top we had to come straight back down to get the bus by 2:15 or be left behind. Not enough time to even walk around at the top. Not to mention the rudeness of the lady hosting our group. I had taken two children and she had a crack at my parenting for bringing two young children on the tour without proper clothing. When I was trying to ask and determine if I could hire clothes or not she just kept having a go at me as a parent. I ended in tears. I would never put my kids at risk and I just wanted to have a conversation with her without her being rude and disrespectful to me. Complete waste of money and time , so disorganised and way too crowded. In all my travels I’ve never seen a natural attraction so crowded: better off just going yourself and taking your time so you can see everything at your pace and if you have to wait (because it is nature and you don’t know) then you can wait and still experience the sight without being rushed back.
icon Response from Host , Jan 2020
Dear Fran_P, Etna is always very crowded unless is visited during the vening time during our Etna Sunset Tour. It can also happen that the coach can be a bit late during the peak season, in any case you are mentioning a normal delay. Regarding our guide, we are sorry to read that you felt uneasy. It is quite strange that you felt judged, our guides always stress the necessity of cover children and kids at the best, since it can be very cold and windy at the top of Etna and that was the case. We are sorry if our guide seemed tough to you. In any case we were at your disposal at our agency at any time to hear your comments. We are sorry you did not call us and you did not show up. We hope we can have a second chance! Warm regards, Guest Relations Manager SAT Group
star-5
Valley of Temples and Villa Romana del Casale
Roving13418712930
, Aug 2019
Very informative and well led tour with a caring staff. For those without an automobile, the tour is a very good value since both sites can be visited within a day tour. The only negative is that more time is required to see Villa Romana del Casale than was provided.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2019
Hello Roving...it is true in Sicily you need days longer than 24 hours to see all the treasures with time and relax. We thank you for sharing your important feedback. All the best, Guest Relations Manager SAT Group
star-4
Mt Etna from Taormina
Sightsee569277
, Aug 2019
We stayed a couple of nights in Taormina and this was well worth it. A wonderful old town and we went to the opera one evening in the old Greek Amphitheatre. The Etna trip was well organized and was good value. Unfortunately the mountain had erupted a couple of days before we got there so there was no trip to the actual crater, for safety reasons. The guides took us as high as they were permitted. We enjoyed the trip.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2019
Hi Sightse... this is a good oppportunity to come back and enjoy the ascent to the highest active volcano in Europe. We wait for you! See you soon, Guest Relations Manager SAT Group
star-5
Great trip
Palmtree405
, Jul 2019
We went on the upper craters trip which was a great experience. It obviously costs more but I’m not sure the trip is worth doing if you just go to the base station. If you do that, you will basically be left in a coach park surrounded by souvenir shops and food outlets, and left to wander around the lower slopes for an hour. You can walk further up but that would be hard work given conditions underfoot and under the Sicilian sun. The upper trip involves going up the cable car and then being driven further up in rough terrain vehicles. Once near the top, you then get a guided tour around the upper craters (note the tour does not go to the very top crater, too risky - you are about 350 metres below the very top). Amazing views, fascinating landscape. Only hitch was our coach was a little late at the start of the trip (20 minutes) due to traffic, but other than that it was extremely well organised with very clear instructions provided in Italian and English.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2019
Hello Palmtre...thank you for your detailed review that explains exactly our schedule on Mount Etna for our Basic Tour. Regarding delay, trafic at 8.30 am can be sometimes a real problem, as you underline, not easy to follow the schedule, but we give our best to make it! Warm regards form Taormina. Guest Relations Manager SAT Group
star-4
Mt. Etna
D707AEclaudiat
, May 2019
This was a great day excursion. Our guide, Aleksandra, was very pleasant, informative and knowledgable. Unfortunately, the weather was not good. I wish they would have given us the option to decide if we still wanted to go all the way to the top knowing that we couldn't see 2 feet in front of us. I probably would have chosen to go to the 2 lower craters( one of which is a 25 minute walk up). Really nothing to see at the top. If I were to do this again, I would not book in advance and decide upon arrival if I wanted to spend the extra money to go up. No need to do this if there's nothing to see.
star-1
Failed to provide tour as booked with Viator
Peter S
, Oct 2018
We had booked a tour to visit the upper crater but Viator failed to deliver the tour and put us on a foothills tour. Viator failed to offer a refund. Overall spoilt the trip and would recommend not booking the upper crater tour as waste of money.
icon Response from Host , Jan 2020
Hello, that's very strange since you can upgrade the tour to the upper craters at any time, even at the last second. We hope for a next chance. Geetings from Taormina. Guest Relations Manager SAT Group
star-3
Upper Crater Tour of Etna
Tara031088
, Oct 2018
Check the weather forecast before booking - visibility was about 20m as the cloud cover was so low The trip itself was well organised with a guide Litter/fly tipping everywhere

Reserve Now & Pay Later
Secure your must-do activities without being locked in
Product code: 6099ETNA

Explore Similar Things to Do