Search for "Paris" or "Colosseum"
Book online or call: (888) 651-9785

Jerusalem and the Dead Sea from Tel Aviv

Badge of ExcellenceTel Aviv, Israel
Likely to Sell Out

From $133.00

Select Date and Travelers

Reserve Now & Pay Later
Secure your spot while staying flexible
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 10 hours (approx.)
  • Hotel pickup offered
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English

Overview

Visit ancient Jerusalem and the extraordinary Dead Sea on this action-packed day trip from Tel Aviv. Traveling by air-conditioned coach, venture to holy Jerusalem to see its most revered religious sites. Enter the Old City to view the Western Wall (Wailing Wall) and Via Dolorosa. Then, drive to the sparkling Dead Sea for free time to luxuriate in the salt-rich waters, sunbathe and take a therapeutic mud bath. Ideal for first-time visitors to Israel and anyone short on time.
  • Jerusalem and Dead Sea day trip from Tel Aviv
  • Explore the Old City of Jerusalem and see historic holy sights such as the Western Wall
  • Float on the salt-rich Dead Sea and experience the therapeutic qualities of the mud
  • Transport by air-conditioned coach
  • Relax with hotel pickup and drop-off included
Operated by:

What's Included

  • Hotel pickup and drop off
  • Professional guide
  • Air-conditioned vehicle
  • Entrance fees
  • Food and drinks
  • Gratuities

Meeting And Pickup

Pickup points

Select a pickup point

Start time

06:40 AM

Pickup details

Please note that our pickup/drop-off is available from a few central hotels only. Please select the hotel closest to your address from the drop-down menu on the tour page. If you are not sure which of the listed hotels is a good fit, please choose the option “I don’t see my pickup location” and insert enter your accommodation address. After the booking is approved by the local tour operator, a confirmation email from Bein Harim will be sent to you mentioning the final pickup point closest to your address. Please read the email with the attached booking confirmation carefully to make sure you are waiting for the pickup at the correct location. Please make sure to wait for the pickup at the hotel entrance.

What To Expect

Depart your central Tel Aviv hotel by air-conditioned coach and journey toward Jerusalem to begin your full-day trip. As you travel, listen as your guide explains Jerusalem’s ancient past, and how the city is a hub of the Jewish, Christian and Muslim faiths.

Enter the city walls into the atmospheric Old City to see the Western Wall, effectively an open-air synagogue for thousands of worshippers. Walk along part of the Via Dolorosa pilgrimage route and see some of the 14 Stations of the Cross that mark different stages of Jesus’ route to his crucifixion site, where the Church of the Holy Sepulchre stands.

Back aboard your coach, take the scenic drive to the Dead Sea, the salt lake located at the lowest point on Earth — around 1,312 feet (400 meters) below sea level.

On arrival, enjoy approximately two hours to bathe and laze on the mineral beach as you wish. Experience a ‘swim’ in the salt-rich waters, admire the gorgeous desert setting, and if you wish, enjoy a mud bath in the world's richest source of natural salts.

Later, drive past the historical city of Jericho on your way back to Tel Aviv, where a hotel drop-off ends your trip.

Mount Scopus National Botanical Garden

Get a panoramic view of Jerusalem from Mount Scopus

30 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Dome of the Rock (Pass By)

View Dome of the Rock and Temple Mount

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • A moderate dress code is required to enter places of worship and selected museums. Please refrain from wearing shorts. Knees and shoulders must be covered for both men and women. You may risk refused entry if you fail to comply with these dress requirements
  • The tour includes a reasonable amount of walking; comfortable walking shoes are recommended
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Most travelers can participate
  • We recommend that you bring hats, bathing suits, towels and sun protection for your visit to the Dead Sea
  • Please note this tour is not suitable for children under the age of 4
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 40 travelers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

about cancellations.

Traveler Photos

See more

Traveler Tips


Jerusalem and the Dead Sea are very hot during summer (90+ F) so be prepared.
I would suggest staying close to your guide because it is very easy to get mixed up with other things going on and miss something.
Excellent choice of tour if you don't have much time to visit the country.
Reviews
4.5
345 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
0
0
0
0
0
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 345 reviews
Udi our tour guide was...
Jessica_M, Jan 2023
Udi our tour guide was great. Very knowledgeable and had a great sense of humor which made the experience even better. The pickup process was easy and on time. The bus was air condition and included Wi-Fi and ports to charge your phone. The tour was amazing we visited many sites that I’ve read about in the Bible. It gave me a feeling that I couldn’t explain to walk through the areas that Jesus once walked. My favorite part of the trip was the Holy Sepulchre and the Dead Sea.
Response from Host, Jan 2023
We are most appreciative of you sharing this rave review of your guide Udi and the tour he managed so skillfully. It is always very gratifying when reading travelers have come away with a memorable tour experience
Best tour for Jerusalem and the Dead Sea in 1 day
Ral_T, Jan 2023
Great tour, I would recommend it to anyone visiting Tel Aviv with only 1 day to spare. They pick you up and drop you off at your hotel: nice touch! Our guide (Itamar) was very knowledgeable, experienced herding international groups of tourists, and just a super nice guy all around. The only downside is that it actually felt too short - please dedicate at least 1 full day (or more) to Jerusalem if you can.
Response from Host, Jan 2023
Thanks so much for sharing your satisfaction with our tour, Itamar, and his skilled guidance. Indeed it is a lot to do in a day, but as you say Itamar is most skilled to do this in group management expertise.
Elvis and the Dead Sea
Shrona_S, Dec 2022
The highlight of this tour was the visit to the Dead Sea — an amazing natural wonder of such spiritual significance. The visit was rushed with less than an hour to wade in the water. The tour guide crudely ensured that the first stop at the Dead Sea was to the souvenir shop. The commerce theme was established at the outset as our very first stop of the day was to an Elvis-themed breakfast cafe. Unbelievably offensive — to think that before we set foot in the Holy Land we were subjected to such a tacky establishment. In addition, our tour guide seemed bored and lackluster for much of the day — clearly knowledgeable she could easily answer questions, but was simply not very thorough.
Response from Host, Dec 2022
We are most regretful that this was the nature of your experience. Unfortunately, due to time schedule logistics, there is sometimes a stop at this Elvis cafe. (so as not to wait in Jerusalem for others to embark) We can hardly be called tacky! hundreds of travelers! daily have 5* experiences with us as the previous and after your reviews so clearly state! We are sorry that you felt the guide was not up to standard. The review after yours states how thrilled they were to get the Dead Sea cosmetics at this location and factory. so it is a matter of taste and expectation. However hard we try we cannot satisfy all our travelers but will check with the guide who needs to be accountable when there is such a report back.
Savor the time in Jerusalem. Dont rush.
Trina_V, Nov 2022
Our tour guides Javi and Yosef were very fun, helpful and practical about the tour. Yosef showed us around Jerusalem while telling us about its historical background and meaning. Definitely worth your money and I could have gotten a 2-day trip to really see Jerusalem because it was huge and there was not enough time to see and savour everything. Tip: Get the guided tour for 2 days. 😊
Birthday Dream Come True!
DrLaShondra_K, Nov 2022
Wow! Jerusalem was beautiful with stunning views from above the city and from the sea. From the Jewish Quarter to the Tomb to the Dead Sea, it was all spiritually magnificent!!! Alona was an amazing tour guide and I requested her again on another tour the next day so we had her twice. Both times she was super professional and extremely informative about the history with also adding her personal stories. It was just perfect! I will definitely book another tour with Bein Harim ans I highly recommend Alona!
Response from Host, Nov 2022
Thqnks SO much for this special mention for our guide Alona.Deservobg of your praise for her efforts,pleasant manner and informative commentary. Glad you had great tour experiences to cherish always.
Good trip for a lot in one day
Michelle_P, Sep 2022
A great trip with a lot packed into one day. Beware of the gift shop they take you to. It’s definitely an overpriced trap but the tour guide discourages shopping on the tour and will leave if your not on time at places where you got 10-15 minutes to explore.
Response from Host, Oct 2022
Thanks for this feedback. Shop stops also offer clean bathrooms in the Old CIty. Noone is forced to buy anything!!
enjoyed the tour
Maria_F, Sep 2022
wish we had spent more time at Holy Sepulcher. felt very rushed. I think they could have skip the shopping. also feel if others wander off they should not wait for 20-30 min for those few and delay the entire group. but over all a wonderful day.
Response from Host, Sep 2022
Thanks for sharing.We certainly try to limit free roaming as this does cause delay and wanton waiting for others.pleased to read you were satisfied with our toyr.
Good tour - but keep in mind some gotchas
Shekhar_S, Sep 2022
Overall - I think if you are a solo traveller or a couple, the cost-benefit for this tour is positive and you should do it. If you are a family, I think you may do well booking a private tour because while the tour guide is excellent, there are a couple of traps in this tour in the way its currently designed. Detailed review below: Tour was scheduled to start at 630 and it started reasonably on time. We ended at 730 pm so it is a long day and you should be prepared for it. The tour guide we had - Abraham - was excellent. He really knew his subject matter and answered all questions our group had. He was also able to guide us through all the points of interest in Jerusalem without any issues - he stopped frequently to tell us about the history and answer questions. I think he was a key reason why the tour got 4 stars from me. Old City is fantastic and a must-see for anyone that has not done it before. The ways the multiple quarters come together and the energy is truly something to be experienced. The tour includes the Western Wall, walking through the Jewish quarter, Muslim quarter and the Christian quarter - as well as the Church of the Holy Sepulchre; Dead sea is incredible and a once in a lifetime experience. The bus was comfortable and never felt overly crowded Now to the parts I think you should watch out for and frankly can be improved upon: 1. We got picked up at 630 am and we were stopped at a coffee place for an hour in Jerusalem. this is clearly an agreement the tour operator had since only their buses were there and quite frankly it didnt need an hour break. We entered old city at around 930 am and could have done it sooner 2. Before entering the Church of the Holy Sepulchre - we visited a souvenier store in the guise of buying items for the church where we waited another hour. All of us were standing outside for the last 25 mins and we could have finished sooner. The problem was not the souvenier shop itself, but as a result of the hour spent there, we were given only 45 mins in the Church, which you need atleast an hour if not 1.5 hours to see fully. The line to enter the main attraction moves very slowly. 3. Lunch was average at best but I think its passable. They had three options to cover various dietary needs including Vegan/Vegetarian but they could do better. Overall - I think this is the most efficient way to see Jerusalem and Dead Sea in one day; I will recommend it as long as you keep the caveats above in mind
Response from Host, Sep 2022
Dear Shekhar_S, we are most pleased to learn that your guide was knowledgeable and friendly, this is something we take pride of. The stop in Jerusalem is made for logistics reasons - this is a meeting point for all travelers, and also a coffee and bathroom break after the early drive. also the shop - this shop is also meant for refreshing, bathroom and an opportunity for travelers who wish to buy souvenirs. If the time spent in the church is enough or not is subjective. 45 minutes is a respectable amount of time to see church and get guidance about it. The line inside to enter the tomb is always long. and we do not guarantee that travelers will enter the tomb.
Great
Raghu_j, Sep 2022
Very good trip. Enjoyed every bit. I recommend to take if you are visiting. Great guide and service. Lunch was good, enjoyed Dead Sea.
Response from Host, Sep 2022
Thanks for sharing your satisfaction with our tour service.Glad you had such a good time
Good experience
Suresh_D, Sep 2022
Avi was a great guide combining facts with humor. Tour was well organized with clear details for pick up and itinerary.
1 traveler found this review helpful
Great way to see lots in a short amount of time
Dau_D, Aug 2022
Our guide Frank explained clearly what we were seeing and was very accomodating to most of our needs. I missed the pick up point by 10 min and the guys on the phone line helped by sending me the location of the bus to catch it. Great experience overall. Recommend.
Fantastic tour
Kelly_D, Jul 2022
Daniel and Havi were fantastic Daniel our tour guide was so well versed in history and truly so kind. I originally was going to tour without a guide but I'm so glad I booked this ...worth every single penny. CANNOT WAIT TO COME BACK AND DO IT ALL AGAIN
Best Experience
Esther_Z, Jun 2022
Amazing trip. The tour guid is super funny and knows a lot. You get chance to see the whole history and all the stories from Bible.
Response from Host, Jun 2022
thanks Ester for this rave review of your tour and guide. We are so happy to read you have come away with a memorable tour experience to cherish.
Perfect day trip for Israel first-timer
Qifeng_H, Jun 2022
When we didn't show up at the appointed pick-up point, we weren't proactively contacted. There was no lunch time listed on the itinerary but there was time set aside for lunch later, so I wish that were conveyed beforehand.
Response from Host, Jun 2022
Dear Quifeng, Thanks for acknowledging that the tour and guidance were of good quality. The non showing up at listed pickup point is an issue daily especially if you have an international cell phone with limited reception. There is an obligatory lunch stop on every tour. For restrooms and guide's time out on a 12-hour day schedule. Sincerely, Bein Harim team
I have done a tour of...
Douglas_S, Jun 2022
I have done a tour of Jerusalem before and sadly that one was much better than this. Overall poorly organised, executed and showed very little of what the city has to offer. The operators picked us up about 25 mins late and we were then taken to a park to get on another bus which would take us to Jerusalem. We drove around the Jerusalem for a long time once we got there. On arrival to Mount Scopus there was already another event there so we were then taken to a mall for coffee and most if not all of us missed out on those iconic panoramic Jerusalem pictures. The tour was very busy so getting everyone out and back to the bus wasted further time. We didn't enter the Old City till about 1020 having been picked up over 3 hours earlier. We didn't see the garden of gethsemane just drove past it (blink and you miss it). In the old city we saw very little as well but did do the western wall and church of the holy sep. My partner and I, along with another couple, broke away from the group as there was so much standing around going on. We were told to be back at jaffa gate by 1145, and then 1215 but the tour operator didn't show up till about 1320. Although we saw more stuff than we otherwise would have done, and those who stayed on the tour said we did the right thing by leaving, we could have seen even more had we been given the correct time. Asked the operator for a partial refund and they refused, just saying situations are beyond our control and as we decided to leave the group for a while any disappointment is down to us not them! The dead sea part was fine.
Response from Host, Jun 2022
Dear Douglas, We are most regrettable that this was the nature of your tour experience. We can firstly say that moving a group around, however skilled the guide is, needs a certain understanding by the traveler who has joined a group tour. Yes, there are delays. You chose on your own responsibility to separate from the tour. The guide cannot be held accountable for an exact schedule in order to meet a deadline he set for in this instance. No doubt it s an approximate meet-up time. He has a group to move along and a time framework. Not nice to mention that others thought you did the right thing. They made their choice. You got to the Dead Sea and enjoyed it meaning you took part in the services the tour offered, so on what grounds is a refund owed..? (It cannot be a choice-based operation) Surely one cannot be given refunds for matters one doesn't like as part of the whole day package. Simply not possible. We try our very best daily wit hour hundreds of travelers and however hard it is understood not everyone is satisfied. Reviews before and after yours indicate we offer high-quality services and memorable tour experiences all round. Sincerely, Bein Harim team
Rushed but very good
Bryan_M, Jun 2022
Our guide, Omri, was excellent - very knowledgeable and eager to share. Jerusalem is a beautiful, historic city, and Omri provided useful background information at the outset which put into context to all the wonderful sites we were about to see. The only negative is that the tour felt incredibly rushed and the group size of about 40 was way too large and unmanageable. As a result, there was hardly any time to stop for a photo, read information placards, or buy snacks or drinks along the route as we were always in a hurry to walk to the next point of interest. Also, the Dead Sea portion was quite disappointing. In retrospect, we wish we had spent the entire time in Jerusalem so we could explore the Old City at a more leisurely pace.
Response from Host, Jun 2022
Dear Bryan, We thank you for this review and compliments for Omri. Large groups are mainly due to the busy season since the resumption of operations after the Covid lockdown and our need to provide services as logistically smooth as possible. Sorry that you felt rushed, but there is an itinerary and schedule, and then we can get complaints if we don't stop as listed. Will pass this info on for the guides to be more attentive to a pace and stopping for refreshements. Sincerely, Bein Harim team
Eyal was an amazing tour guide
Mary_S, Jun 2022
This tour was amazing! We were picked up right at 6:40am from the hotel and there was no traffic heading out to Jerusalem. In other reviews people complained about the Elvis Diner stop, but it was only 20 minutes and was nice to be able to get a quick pastry, coffee, and use the restroom. It was definitely a welcome stop for our group. Eyal was our tour guide and was so great. It was a very hot day and he did a great job of keeping us in the shade as much as possible while also giving us an incredible amount of historical information about everything we were seeing. He even got us all in line to see the cave/tomb within the Church of the Holy Sepulcher and then told us all about the church while the line moved along. The trip out to the Dead Sea was a nice break from being on our feet in the sun and when we got there, we had a little over an hour and a half to soak and relax, which was plenty. The drive back to Tel Aviv was fast and we were back in the city by 6pm.
1 traveler found this review helpful
Unmissable excursion!
Pascal_T, Jun 2022
Fantastic excursion and insight thanks to our sympathetic very qualified tour guide Harim! We booked very last minute and are not usually into guided tour, but this was unmissable and we enjoyed thoroughly our day trip to Jerusalem and the Dead Sea learning about history, religious facts, geopolitics but also about the geology and geography! It was a great balance of learning, visiting and rest. Thanks Harim, you made our day and definitely a highlight from our visit to Israel!
Response from Host, Jun 2022
Thanks very much for this rave review of your tour with our guide.Clearly they preformed to the high standard we strive for. We are so glad you came away with an enlightening tour experience and hope to see you again.
1 traveler found this review helpful
Good day trip
Regina_C, May 2022
The tour of Jerusalem was great, very informative and interesting and we saw the Jewish, Muslim, and Christian quarters. The two hour time limit at the dead sea was enough to enjoy the beach. I was disappointed we didn't get any free time in Jerusalem and were taken to a specific tourist shop for 15 min that the tour company has an arrangement with. I also did not appreciate being taken to a specific restaurant at the dead sea that was an extremely over priced buffet. Having some free time for a quick lunch in Jerusalem would have been better, no one in the group wanted a huge $23 lunch at the dead sea, we just wanted a quick lunch and to spend the time in the water.
Response from Host, May 2022
Regina thanks for this detailed feedback and your satisfacition with our guide for the locations visited. Free time to roam off is a huge issue and mis expectation.especially when doing a group tour and 2 distanced locations in one day.Very easily people get lost in the old city, causing delays to schedule and make others wait! We have tired this many times. An arranged stop for lunch is at a location that caters for a whole group- volumes of travelers. It is totally acceptable practise for tour groups. Places to stop at the Dead Sea are very few(many didnot survive covid 2 year shutdown) we need to use what is available. We are happy that the swimmng in the Dead Sea wa a great experience for you.
1 traveler found this review helpful
Perfect Tour
Diana_F, May 2022
Really nice tour. Udi was a very nice guide. Loved everything. Just wished We had a bit more time in the dead sea.
Response from Host, May 2022
Thanks for this 5* review of your tour guided by Udi.He is worthy of your sincere words. Yes the tour schedule and the distances covered take time.There are constraints. Come back again for a whole day there at the Dead Sea,!
...

Questions?

Product code: 5209ISRAEL