Recent Searches
Clear
icon_solid_phone
Book online or call: (888) 651-9785(888) 651-9785
chat-bubbles

Are you interested in?

Private Sightseeing Tours
64 Tours & Activities
Tours, Sightseeing & Cruises
97 Tours & Activities
Day Trips
81 Tours & Activities
Reserve Now & Pay Later

Private North Day Tour: Botanical Garden, Sugar Museum, Rum Tasting, Port Louis

|
Belle Mare, Mauritius
icon_solid_phone
Book online or call: (888) 651-9785(888) 651-9785
chat-bubbles
Private North Day Tour: Botanical Garden, Sugar Museum, Rum Tasting, Port Louis

From $133.59 per group (up to 4)

Lowest Price Guarantee

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 traveler2 travelers3 travelers4 travelers5 travelers6 travelers7 travelers8 travelers9 travelers10 travelers11 travelers12 travelers13 travelers14 travelers15 travelers
Reserve Now & Pay Later
Secure your spot while staying flexible
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon8 hours  (Approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 1 more
Good for avoiding crowds

Overview

Get a taste for both the sweet and bitter history of Mauritius during this 8-hour private tour of the island’s sugar industry, slave trade and lush tropical gardens. Join your private driver for a customized exploration at your own pace, stopping to visit sights like Sir Seewoosagur Ramgoolam Botanical Garden, sample local rum and explore Château de Labourdonnais, a 19th-century colonial mansion. You’ll also learn about the history of the island’s sugar industry at L’Aventure du Sucre and tour Port Louis, the island’s historic capital city. This flexible private tour also includes private vehicle transport.
  • Take a private sightseeing trip in Mauritius, including Port Louis, the Botanical Garden, sugar museum and a rum tasting
  • Explore the palm trees, spices and medicinal plants at the Sir Seewoosagur Ramgoolam Botanical Garden
  • Check out the 19th-century colonial mansion of Château de Labourdonnais
  • Discover the bustling bazaar and modern shopping streets of Port Louis, the island's capital
  • Learn about the history of the sugar industry and the slave trade on the island at L’Aventure du Sucre
  • Flexibility to customize itinerary to suit your own preferences
  • Private driver and vehicle ensures personalized attention and service
Saved to wishlist!
Professional guide
Transport by private vehicle
Entrance fees to Pamplemousses Garden are Rs. 200 (4 Euros) per person
Entrance fees to L’Aventure du Sucre are Rs. 525 (10.5 Euros) per person
Entrance fees to Château de Labourdonnais are Rs. 400 (8 Euros) per person
Lunch or snacks

Hmm...we can’t seem to find this place. Please check the spelling, or choose another location.

9:00 AM

After booking, the operator will contact you about pickup time.

We pick up at all hotels, B&Bs, apartments on the island. Please let us know which hotel, B&B or apartment you're staying at. Note that the driver will pick you up at 9am.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Infant seats available
  • Transportation is wheelchair accessible
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This is a private tour/activity. Only your group will participate
  • OPERATED BY Bonjour Mauritius
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Private North Day Tour: Botanical Garden, Sugar Museum, Rum Tasting, Port Louis?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Private North Day Tour: Botanical Garden, Sugar Museum, Rum Tasting, Port Louis.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Private North Day Tour: Botanical Garden, Sugar Museum, Rum Tasting, Port Louis?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Private North Day Tour: Botanical Garden, Sugar Museum, Rum Tasting, Port Louis.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Reviews

4.0
star-4
27 Reviews
1 star
0

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-7 of 27 reviews
star-3
Tour guide recommended
Esma_S
, Nov 2021
We had a average day on this tour. I had impression that I hired a taxi only. We have been driven from place to place and left on our own. If I didn’t go for another tour I would this it’s ok but I have realised that the knowledge of the tour guide makes such a difference. We didn't see much of Port Louis, which was very upsetting. I would recommend the tour but with a tour guide. We had a just a driver. Little things makes a big difference.
icon Response from Host , Nov 2021
Hi Esma, thanks for your feedback. We'll follow up with the driver, as drivers typically provide background information on the various sites, and advice on what to see in Port Louis. Thanks again for letting us know, and we'll make sure to address this. We hope you enjoy the rest of your trip in Mauritius!
HelpfulHelpful
star-4
Would recommend.
SACHIN_N
, Oct 2021
I arrived at Port Louis and it was uncharacteristically raining cat and dogs. The flight arrived late, baggage not loaded on time and I was also stopped by the customs for a 'routine check' on the way out. I exited the airport to find my driver/guide Nadhil waiting patiently to pick me up and thus started my day. There was a bit of trepidation in my mind that the scheduled tour might be called off but it went ahead with small changes. Our scheduled walk through Port Louis areas was called off with hints galore that more changes to the itinerary was in the offing. Thankfully, the sun came out in the afternon and we went through the remaining tour without a hitch. Nadhil was kind enough to make a stop for my PCR test appointment and even supported by visit to a retail market for general shopping. The tour went ahead as advertised. He was very engaging and I never felt bored in our conversations about the various topics we discussed. The only con I have to say (if at all) is the price tag of this tour, specially since it doesn't not support attraction tickets or lunch costs. The service is essentially a taxi with driver to take you to spot for you to visit on your own and then return to the car to go to the next location. Discussion with the taxi company indicated that a direct booking with them would have cost only a fraction. Also, the driver/guide's knowledge would vary from person to person and you might end up being disappointed if you are looking for an in-depth discussion on the places you visit. I enjoyed this tour as it was my first trip to Mauritius and the tour took me to places in the North that I was interested in. This tour addresses mainly the north western region and not the true North (Cape Malhereux, etc..). I would recommend this tour if you have the time and money for a jaunt.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
Thanks for the nice comments and your feedback! We're glad you enjoyed the tour, and that the sun ended up coming out. You're right - October is typically a dry month, and the heavy rain we experienced was unusual. We hope you enjoyed/are enjoying your stay in Mauritius!
HelpfulHelpful
star-4
Good trip
Asif_R
, Oct 2019
Driver was informative and punctual. He answered any questions we had, showed us all the sites. We were given an infant car as well for our little one!
icon Response from Host , Oct 2019
Hi, we're glad you enjoyed the tour and found our driver helpful. We wish you a great continuation of your stay in Mauritius!
HelpfulHelpful
star-2
Trip to expensive for what you get!
Els C
, Oct 2019
There was no shopping in Port Louis. We just stay there for one hour at least, see the market on 15 min. The meat and chivkenmarket on 10 min. And go back to the car. I guess they park for free the first hour. Sugar museum not good (to boring ), botanical garden and Chateau Labourdenais was oke. Very expensive lunch in a restaurant how wasn't word the name "La poule D'Or", give the main back (so bad it was), had to pay the full price 😨. In a few words? This whole trip is too expensive gor what he is worth !!
icon Response from Host , Oct 2019
Hi Els, thanks for your feedback. I'm sorry you didn't like Sugar Museum/rum tasting. As mentioned to you via email we're following up with both the driver and restaurant regarding lunch. We hope you enjoy the rest of your time in Mauritius!
HelpfulHelpful
star-2
Private North Day Tour
Shirley_C
, Sep 2019
Very disappointing Day Trip. The driver had little English so communication was not good at all. Yet, he was able to tell me of his plans to buy his own taxi one day in very good English. Also, he followed me through the Colonial House and took his own pictures on his mobile. He'd told me that he hadn't visited the place before. We either sat in silence as he drove me around places or I had to repeat my questions over and over again. Even then, the driver would obviously give me a wrong answer. He had trouble understanding English too.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2019
Hi Shirley, thanks for your feedback. We're sorry that you didn't find the driver helpful, but we hope you enjoyed the sites themselves. While our drivers speak English, they have a Mauritian accent, which may have caused the confusion. We will follow up with this particular driver regarding your tour. We hope you enjoy the rest of your time in Mauritius!
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Please take tour with helpful and...
Suzane T
, Mar 2018
Please take tour with helpful and courteous driver with great information bank.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
excellent. enjoyed the day very much...
John W
, May 2016
excellent. enjoyed the day very much. helpful driver. we do recommend this tour
HelpfulHelpful

Reserve Now & Pay Later
Secure your must-do activities without being locked in
Product code: 9433P1

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Private North Day Tour: Botanical Garden, Sugar Museum, Rum Tasting, Port Louis
Private North Day Tour: Botanical Garden, Sugar Museum, Rum Tasting, Port Louis

star-427

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$133.59

star-55

7 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$109.54

star-51

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$181.03

star-00

2 hours 55 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$92.24

star-00

1 hour 52 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$80.71

star-00

5 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$92.24

star-00

4 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$109.54

star-00

5 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$101.78

Explore Similar Things to Do