Recent Searches
Clear
icon_solid_phone
Book online or call: (888) 651-9785(888) 651-9785

Are you interested in?

City Tours
16 Tours & Activities
Wellington Museum Tours
6 Tours & Activities
Tours, Sightseeing & Cruises
147 Tours & Activities

Learn more about our Covid-19 response.

Read More
Reserve Now & Pay Later

Wellington City Sights and Coastline Guided Tour

star-4.5
|
Wellington, New Zealand
icon_solid_phone
Book online or call: (888) 651-9785(888) 651-9785

Learn more about our Covid-19 response.

Read More

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults
Reserve Now & Pay Later
Secure your spot while staying flexible
Free Cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance
Loading available options...


icon3 hours  (Approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 4 more

Overview

Discover the capital city of New Zealand on a 3 hour coach tour of Wellington. Your driver-guide points out the highlights, including historic landmarks and iconic buildings such as the Beehive and Old St Paul’s Cathedral. You’ll stroll through the Wellington Botanic Garden, drive through the suburbs of Seatoun and Oriental Bay, appreciate the vista over Wellington Harbour and the South Coast from Mt Victoria, and have the option to take a ride on the Wellington Cable Car.
  • Get great photo ops of Wellington's architectural landmarks, rolling hills and rugged coastline
  • See the iconic Beehive and other Parliament buildings
  • Stroll around heritage-listed Old St Paul's Cathedral
  • Take in 360-degree views of Wellington from Mt Victoria
Saved to wishlist!
Driver/guide
Air-conditioned vehicle
Food and drinks, unless specified
Cable car
Hotel pickup and drop-off

Departure Point

i-SITE Bus Pickup Point, 145 Wakefield Street, Te Aro, Wellington 6011, New Zealand

Return Details

Returns to original departure point
Get an overview of Wellington, New Zealand’s dynamic capital, on this 3 hour sightseeing tour — a great introduction for those short on time. Meet your driver-guide at a central location and get settled aboard the comfortable coach, then listen to informative commentary on Wellington’s history and landmarks.

Pass by the neoclassical Parliament House and learn about the unusual architectural design of the Beehive (aka Executive Wing). You’ll make a stop at the heritage-listed Old St Paul’s Church to walk around and admire its timber construction.

Meander the paths of the 62-acre (25-hectare) Wellington Botanic Garden, following your guide to the Begonia House and Lady Norwood Rose Garden. Opt for a scenic 5-minute ride from here to the city center on the Wellington Cable Car (own expense).

Next, your coach motors up to the Mt Victoria lookout, which boasts sweeping views over Wellington, before returning to the coast. You’ll pass through Oriental Parade, Seatoun and Thorndon, and soak up the bustling atmosphere of the Wellington waterfront, before your tour ends.
Itinerary
Stop At:  
Hammonds Wellington Tours
Throughout your tour, your guide provides informative commentary on the history and sights of Wellington. You can also get great tips on dining and local hot spots. You’ll see so much in a short time on this tour of New Zealand’s dynamic capital, making it a great introduction to this beautiful city.
Duration: 5 minutes
Admission Ticket Free
Stop At:  
Wellington i-SITE Visitor Information Centre
Pick up any additional passengers if required.
Duration: 5 minutes
Admission Ticket Free
Stop At:  
Wellington Cable Car
The cable car is one of Wellington's most popular tourist attractions. At the top you will gain some of the most beautiful views of the harbour and city. If you would like to do the iconic Cable Car journey you can purchase a ticket for $5 upon arrival.
Duration: 20 minutes
Admission Ticket Not Included
Pass By:  
Cable Car Museum
Once you arrive at the top of the Cable Car, call in to the Cable Car Museum if time permits and take your photo on top of the old Cable Car.
Stop At:  
Wellington Botanic Garden
Disembark at the Wellington Botanic Garden, which features both native and non-native species on a gorgeous 62-acre (25 hectare) property.
Duration: 10 minutes
Admission Ticket Free
Stop At:  
Lady Norwood Rose Garden
Wander the Begonia House and Lady Norwood Rose Garden where formal gardens showcase more than 3,000 roses. Keep your eye out for the silver fern. A feature of the gardens are the major seasonal floral displays.
Duration: 10 minutes
Admission Ticket Free
Stop At:  
New Zealand Parliament
Admire the architecture of New Zealand’s Parliament buildings, including the unusual design of the Beehive (aka Executive Wing) and the neoclassical Parliament House. It has four floors below ground and also has tunnels linking the Beehive with parliamentary offices across the street in Bowen House. You will have a chance to stop and take photos outside The Beehive.
Duration: 5 minutes
Admission Ticket Free
Pass By:  
Wellington Cenotaph
This is the memorial where citizens of New Zealand and Australia commemorate the ANZACs (those who fought in World War 1 and World War 2).
Pass By:  
Wellington Cathedral of St. Paul
Passby the Wellington Cathedral of St Pauls the mother church of the diocese of Wellington.
Stop At:  
Old St Paul's
Note: This attraction is currently closed for earthquake strengthening and is expected to reopen in January 2020 (TBC). Wellington's famous St Pauls constructed entirely of native timbers is one of New Zealand's great heritage places. Hop off the bus here to have a look inside with your guide.
Duration: 20 minutes
Admission Ticket Free
Pass By:  
Wellington Railway Station
You will drive by the architecturally significant Wellington Railway Station which stands at 23.5m tall and 105.5m long.
Stop At:  
Wellington Museum
The Wellington Museum is currently replacing the Old St Pauls Church stop while the church is earthquake strengthened. You will have time to briefly explore the exhibits of the Museum.
Duration: 20 minutes
Admission Ticket Free
Pass By:  
Wellington Waterfront
You will drive past the Wellington Waterfront which includes some key attractions including the Wellington Museum and New Zealand's National Museum Te Papa. Walk down the waterfront after your tour and enjoy lunch lunch or a drink at one of the many bars, restaurants or cafes.
Pass By:  
Oriental Bay
This popular and scenic area is home to some of the best real estate in the city as well as some funky cafes and gorgeous restaurants. Come back here after your tour for a walk along the beach or a photo at the boatsheds. As you head back to the coast and pass through picturesque suburbs such as Oriental Parade, Seatoun and Thorndon, hear stories about historic shipwrecks off the South Coast and take in the vibrant atmosphere of the Wellington waterfront.
Pass By:  
Carter Fountain
You will passby the Carter Fountain which is located 150m out into Wellington Harbour along Oriental Bay. It was named after its benefactor Hugh Carter who tragically drowned 4 days after its inauguration.
Stop At:  
Breaker Bay
You will drive through Breaker Bay where you will briefly stop to hear the story of the Wahine disaster.
Duration: 5 minutes
Admission Ticket Free
Stop At:  
Tarakena Bay
Stop to take photos of the rugged coastline at Moa Point
Duration: 10 minutes
Admission Ticket Free
Stop At:  
Lyall Bay
This is a popular surfing beach for the locals but don't be fooled as the water is coming straight from the Antarctic. You will have a couple of photo stops in Lyall Bay and will be able to take in the rugged coastline.
Duration: 15 minutes
Admission Ticket Free
Stop At:  
Mount Victoria
Soak in the scenery as your coach climbs to the summit of Mt Victoria. From the lookout, enjoy panoramic city views and a bird’s-eye perspective of the rolling hills and rugged bays that surround Wellington.
Duration: 15 minutes
Admission Ticket Free
Pass By:  
Museum of New Zealand Te Papa Tongarewa
Travelers can make a request to be dropped off at Te Papa the Museum of New Zealand at the end of the tour.
Pass By:  
Embassy Theatre
Passby the historic Embassy Theatre originally built in 1924 and is a place recognised with historic and cultural significance which also hosted the world premier of The Lord of The Rings.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 19 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Hammonds Wellington Tours

For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the maximum group size during Wellington City Sights and Coastline Guided Tour?
A:
This activity will have a maximum of 19 travelers.

See all safety measures taken by Wellington City Sights and Coastline Guided Tour.

Traveler Photos

Traveler Tips


  • "The time that the tour takes is 2 hours ideally, but she does not mind even if the tour goes on for half an hour more." See review
  • "Includes a trip on the cable car which is well worthwhile." See review
  • "Short tour but well worth it, providing a terrific overview and much interesting information on the capital city of New Zealand." See review

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
150 Reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers
Showing 1-10 of 150 reviews
star-5
Great guide
jlprice
, Feb 2020
Our guide was informative and amusing. Lots of stories and stops for photos. Good way to quickly see the city.
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
Kia ora Thank you for your review. Our guides try and make the experience worthwhile, fun and informative. Glad to hear you had a good time. Thank you for touring with us, Nga mihi Janet
HelpfulHelpful
star-4
Pleasant tour
susanjanewatson2607
, Feb 2020
We enjoyed our tour with Craig in Wellington! Weather was perfect and the tour interesting and factual.
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
Kia ora Thank you for your review. Craig enjoys showing people Wellington and giving you an informative experience. Good to see the weather was nice! Thank you, Nga mihi Janet
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
The best of Wellington
mjoseph39
, Jan 2020
Wonderful day tour of the sights of Wellington, the Botanical Gardens, Mount Victoria and so much more. The driver/guide give us so much history of the beautiful city and the surrounding area. We would really recommend it.
icon Response from Host , Jan 2020
Kia ora Thank you for taking the time to review our tour. It sounds like you had a good time. Our guides take pride in their city and enjoy sharing the rich history Wellington has to offer. Thank you Nga mihi Janet
HelpfulHelpful
star-3
Average. Saw a lot in 3 hours our of the bus window, but also kind of boaring.
Inspiration598678
, Dec 2019
Average. Saw a lot in 3 hours of driving by sites, but also kind of boaring. We didn't really stop and get out much except to take the tram. We were due to stop by Old St Paul's church but it is closed for renovation. Its good for a quick drive-by to get a feel for the city.
icon Response from Host , Dec 2019
Kia ora Thank you for taking the time to write your review. The tour is designed for people to get an overview of the city, showing the local hot spots and points of interest, so that you may return at another time (if you wish). Nga mihi Janet
HelpfulHelpful
star-3
STARTED OUT AS A DISORGANISED DEBARCLE BUT SLOWLY IMPROVED
KimF859
, Nov 2019
The blonde woman organising the tour from the port was vague and disorganised. People didn't know where to go or where to be and were very confused. We had to approach her as she didn't make herself known to anyone. It was pouring with rain and we had an 87 year old lady with a walker with us and we were eventually shuffled along to a full size bus and after a very difficult effort to load her on to the bus we found we all had to be separated as there were no seats together. The last straw was when we realised there was no seat for my husband and were told that we weren't changing buses and that he would be standing for 3 HOURS! It was at this point I told them we would be getting off their tour as that was dangerous & ridiculous as everyone was squashed in like sardines. After getting off the bus they hustled us back to the waiting shed again with our limping elderly mother on her walker having to do the walk again. They said they would need to call for another bus, which I said should have been done to start with as they knew exactly how many people were booked on their tour! Eventually another bus arrived where 13 of us got on board, while the other poor people in the other bus had been unnecessarily crammed into their bus. We were then told we had to drive into town to pick up 4 more people. On arrival the blonde woman looked confused again and wandered off and after waiting 25 mins the driver had to phone her and ask her whether she had found the people? She came back to the bus and vaguely said she didn't know where they were and after more waiting we eventually left her and continued on our tour FINALLY! The weather had settled and our driver was a very knowledgeable nice man who gave us a good tour and took us to all the highlights of Wellington. The driver and the sightseeing was quite good but the organisation and the blonde woman in charge of organising people getting on to the tour at port was abysmal. I would maybe pick another tour group to use next time.
icon Response from Host , Nov 2019
Kia ora and thank you for taking the time to share you thoughts with us. I am sorry that the loading on this day was far from ideal and appreciate how frustrating it must have been, to be moved around with limited mobility. We understand on this day there were significant delays in getting the buses and we are sorry that this was not communicated to you. We have amended our boarding procedures and trust that this will not happen again. We are glad to see that you enjoyed the tour itself and the weather improved. Again thank you for your comments. If you wish to talk about this further please contact us. Nga mihi Janet and the Hammonds Team
HelpfulHelpful
star-4
Didn't expect a 48 passenger bus
Marg M
, Nov 2019
All our other tours had a maximum of 16 people and being on a 48 passenger bus was the one thing we had tried to avoid so this was a disappointment. Otherwise it was a good tour.
icon Response from Host , Nov 2019
Kia ora Thank you for your review. Sorry to hear things didn't go as expected for you with the bus. We are glad you enjoyed the City tour nonetheless. Thank you for taking time to respond, Nga mihi Janet
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Wonderful
aksato
, Oct 2019
Our guide, Lorraine, was extremely friendly, well informed, excellent driver. I would have no hesitation in recommending this tour if all the drivers are equal to Lorraine.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Coach Tour
mpjohns
, Sep 2019
Good tour took in many sights. Bus driver knowledgeable and helpful. My only criticism was the Windows were dirty so unable to take photos. The driver stopped at various places but not able to do so in the city, if the windows were clean photos could have been taken from the bus.
HelpfulHelpful
star-4
even though 2.5 hours short but worth sight seeing
kenjinootou3
, Aug 2019
As the weater was fine we could see the mountaines coverd with snow in the southern island. that was really wonderful ! I recommend this tour for the travellers to grasp the outline of Wellington. after the tour you could go to the places where you are interested.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2019
Kia ora and thank you for your review. I m glad you got to see our beautiful city on such a nice day. We enjoy showing people around. Travel safe, Nga mihi Janet
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
A nice quick trip around the essential sights of Wellington
Venture18390485704
, Jun 2019
Took this tour in June 2019. Our driver/tour guide, Jack, was friendly and knew the sights in Wellington. He was accommodating and patient. The tour itself gives you a nice “overview” of Wellington. The 2.5 hours were sufficient for such kind of tour - it wasn’t too tiring or hectic as well. Although the short time meant that the tour would be tight. We didn’t have much time to go around the Wellington Museum. It’s all good though as the drive around the city was nice and relaxing. Will definitely recommend this particular tour.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2019
Hello, thanks for doing the tour with us. Jack loves showing off the city to newcomers and so we're glad you enjoyed it. Nga mihi Janet
HelpfulHelpful

Reserve Now & Pay Later
Secure your must-do activities without being locked in
Product code: 2472CITY

Explore Similar Things to Do