Search for "Paris" or "Colosseum"
Book online or call: (888) 651-9785

East Zion Resort Horse Trail Riding Tour

Orderville, United States
  • 1 hour 30 minutes (approx.)
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


Enjoy an active excursion in scenic southern Utah—and immerse yourself in the landscape—on this horseback riding excursion. Make your own way to the East Zion Resort—just 20 minutes east of Zion National Park—and get acquainted with your horse before hitting the trail. On this gentle, 1.5-mile (2.4-kilometer) loop, you’ll discover rolling hills and wooded mountainsides, will learn about the region’s highlights and history, and more.
  • This horseback ride is suited to both beginners and experienced riders
  • Enjoy a unique way to explore the rugged scenery of southern Utah
  • A brief training session before your ride is included for your comfort
  • This hands-on, small-group tour is capped at just eight participants

What's Included

  • All Horseback riding equipment is provided, including a helmet

    Departure & Return

    Departure Point

    • 708 Red Rock Dr, 708 Red Rock Dr, Orderville, UT 84758, USA

      Look for the EAST ZION RESORT sign off Hwy 89. Follow the dirt road for 100 yds until you see the parking sign on the right, just passed the horse corrals. Park your vehicle, and then make your way to the horse corrals to meet your wrangler.

    Return Details

    This activity will end right where it started.

    What To Expect

    Additional Info

    • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
    • Not wheelchair accessible
    • Not recommended for travelers with back problems
    • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
    • Most travelers can participate
    • The minimum age foe this activity is 10 years old
    • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 8 travelers
    Operated by East Zion Resort

    Cancellation Policy

    You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

    • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
    • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
    • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
    • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
    • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
    • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

    about cancellations

    Frequently Asked Questions

    The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.

    Q:What is the policy on sanitization during East Zion Resort Horse Trail Riding Tour?

    A:The policies on sanitization are:
    • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
    • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
    • Gear/equipment sanitized between use

    Q:What is the social distancing policy during East Zion Resort Horse Trail Riding Tour?

    A:The policy on social distancing is:
    • Contactless payments for gratuities and add-ons

    Q:What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during East Zion Resort Horse Trail Riding Tour?

    A:The policy on staff health & safety is:
    • Guides required to regularly wash hands

    Traveler Photos

    See more
    55 reviews
    Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
    Reviews by Viator travelers
    Showing 1-10 of 55 reviews
    Good riding experience
    Christopher_L, Apr 2022
    Our guide Ivan is very friendly and experience enough to take us into the mountain trail. The horses are well trained, it is almost feel like ride a Tesla. The view is dramatic and oversee the valley of that mountain
    Lots of fun
    Lorakate_S, Apr 2022
    The friendly, accommodating staff! It was a pleasant ride, good horses. Wranglers paid attention to the requests of riders.
    A Fun Safe Ride !!!
    Kathie_W, Apr 2022
    Pricilla and Carley were great guides that care about your safety and enjoyment; they made it a fun safe ride. The horses were gentle and well behaved. We enjoyed all the beautiful views too!
    Wonderful family experience
    Daniel_W, Nov 2021
    Pricilla our guide was very kind and entertaining. She is very knowledgeable and a joyfull person to be around. Our children had such a great time they were constantly saying how much fun they were having. Thanks again for the great experience.
    Great horse ride
    Jerry_B, Oct 2021
    Very nice ride. Our guide, Harold, was excellent in giving instructions and was respectful. Thanks! It was fun.
    Danielle_L, Sep 2021
    Unorganized customer service, inconsistent information (we got different info from each person we asked questions/talked with), and overall a disappointing experience. The staff try their best but the people "in charge" are terrible and its pretty clear they take advantage of tourists. Which is really sad because you would think that with Covid and everything, people would want to encourage experiences in the hospitality business. I would not recommend East Zion Resort Horse Trail Riding Tour under any circumstances for any reason. There are other places where you can do horseback riding and really other places that you can do pretty much everything else.
    Response from Host, Sep 2021
    Hi Danielle— Thank you for sharing your feedback. After generously honoring your tour change request only 10.5 hours prior to your initial scheduled tour with no questions asked and then making every reasonable effort to accommodate your further requests in a kind, friendly, professional manner, despite your unfortunate unprofessional language and attitude toward our wonderful team, we feel terrible that we were unable to turn this in to the unbelievable experience that hundreds of others have had, as portrayed by our hundreds of 5 star reviews. We aim to Wow! each and every guest with the highest quality lodging, experiences, and guest service in the industry, so we are devastated that our pain staking efforts in your behalf just weren’t enough. As we never even got to take you on the actual tour (because you never showed up), we hope that you will one day return to let us Wow! you with our wonderful wranglers, our terrific horses, and our unbelievably unique trail. It is truly majestic. Again, we appreciate your feedback, and we apologize that our unparalleled efforts to create an incredible experience weren’t enough in your perspective. Happy adventuring!
    Magnificent View
    Lisa_C, Sep 2021
    Great experience, beautiful scenery and our guide was outstanding!! We would do it again if we ever come back to Zion.
    Fun but short.
    Brieann_C, Sep 2021
    The tour guide and horses were very awesome and the trail was very nice, but it was advertised as being an hour and a half long and it was barely 40 minutes.
    1 traveler found this review helpful
    Emily_O, Sep 2021
    Such a fun time! Beautiful views. Our tour guide, Priscilla was amazing. The horses were so sweet. Definitely coming back.
    1 traveler found this review helpful
    Not what we expected
    Kathryn_A, Sep 2021
    We were unexpectedly delayed for our morning appointment, which the guide graciously changed to the afternoon. The accommodation was appreciated since the delay was due to a road closure that we knew nothing about. This ride was not a scenic adventure into Zion, which is what we were led to believe was the package. The entire trip was nothing more than dusty switchback trails with no spectacular scenery. The young tour guide attempted to engage my husband in a discussion as to the the "rights" of Americans to choose whether or not to be vaccinated. She then proceeded to tell us she was NOT vaccinated and that she had not decided whether or not she would accept the vaccine. There was a wrong assumption on our part that all trail guides were vaccinated for COVID-19. We are extremely concerned about this, since we take precautions to be safe. The information that was provided to us indicated that helmets would be provided -- they were not. Having experienced rides in the Yukon, the back country of Yellowstone, and ruins in Peru, this was a real disappointment. Perhaps for the true novice this would be sufficient, but for the well traveled, not worth the time or money.
    Response from Host, Oct 2021
    Thank you so much for this feedback. We are devastated that you weren’t in awe of the views on our horse trail ride. As the trail takes you high above the valley floor with 360° views of the absolutely stunning Southern Utah landscape, we are very surprised that you weren’t jaw-droppingly in awe. It’s an amazing experience. We apologize for the confusion with respect to the terrain not being directly into Zion National Park. We have reviewed the description of this activity, and we can’t find any indication or hint that the trail would wind through Zion National Park directly (Zion actually doesn’t allow horse rides directly in the park). We will continue to monitor and review the description of this activity to avoid any confusion in the future, and we apologize again for any confusion in your case. On the other hand, we are located just 15-20 minutes from Zion National Park with scenery very close to as stunning and quite similar to Zion itself. It is simply gorgeous. As for the poor choice of discussion topics by our wrangler, we are very sorry. The health and safety of our guests is our top priority, especially with respect to COVID-19 at this time. While we allow our guides to choose for themselves with respect to the vaccine, this controversial topic is certainly not a preferred discussion topic on a horse trail adventure 😬. We apologize that it wasn’t handled better during your tour. However, whether vaccinated or not, our guides are instructed to wear masks at all times when social distancing can not be maintained. What’s more, all equipment and high traffic surfaces are sanitized thoroughly after each tour, including all helmets, which are available to all guests (helmets required for all guests under age 18 and optional for all guests over age 18). Again, we appreciate your feedback and will use it to continue to improve this wonderful tour. Happy adventures!!
    1 traveler found this review helpful


    Product code: 310623P4